MARIE'S MINI MART Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 January 2019
The owners didn't really seem to care about the employees. They would have stay open in blizzards and some holidays. We got robbed and the first thing asked was "how much was taken" instead of "are you okay?". They say they give you paid breaks but if you're working by yourself you don't have time to et if the store is busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at maries
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador21 March 2018
It was my favorite spot to work. The manager was really easy to get along with and friendly. In the night times you had someone with you and the doors were locked so we would feel more secure. Working alone wasn't bad
Pros
Friendly coworker
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maries
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL21 February 2018
It was a typical cashier job. I learned customer service. How to count cash. There was a lot of heavy lift. Stocking beer coolers. The customers were the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to long ago
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 January 2018
working at maries is too long ago to remember i dont know what to say about the place or the people all the people i worked with have either quit or went on to other jobs/school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of busy work followed by a lot of downtime, your customers definitely bring out the best of the job
Store Front Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL9 September 2017
The company itself was great, everyone from Marie herself to other employees and branch managers were all very friendly and helpful in the process of going from knowing nothing to opening and closing a branch by yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 June 2017
i loved working here.
Always given opportunities to receive more hours,
helpful staff,friendly and regular customers.
Management was always so helpful and kind.
Pros
good staff and customer base
Cons
never a place to take a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad. Could be better.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 March 2016
I did like this job. When I became a manager, I found how the owners/CEO dealt with the managers was lacking. I also found out about some people's personalities that surprised me in a bad way. Once I gave that up to be assistant manager again, it wasn't so bad. It was easier to deal with. The best part was having regular customers that you could have conversations with. That really is nice. Overall, it is decent place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and stressful environment
Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mt. Pearl, NL28 August 2015
I worked at a very busy store for 9 hrs alone. There was no breaks or lunch. With the situation and requirements of the job I did learn how to be a great multitasker, place/receive large orders, inventory, bank deposits and scheduling. We did have great benefits which was wonderful when you are on minimum wage.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
long hours, no breaks/lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun experience in a team environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 November 2014
the customers and fellow employees is what makes you want to come to work with a smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring job with no benefits/advancement opportunities
Cashier (Former Employee) –  st john's, nl14 August 2014
Maries offers no benefits or discounts to their employees. They do not allow employees to take breaks on their shifts (which I think is illegal), and offer very little flexibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far from home
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Paradise, NL6 January 2014
this was good for me at the time living in newfoundland. But it was not a secure job
Pros
meeting great people
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MARIE'S MINI MART. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 12 reviews
52
44
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture

MARIE'S MINI MART Reviews by Location