Marble Slab Creamery Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty great overall
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2018
honestly with the exception of one manager i had an issue with, it was a great place to work. as a high school kid at the time it offered great hours with flexibility. the scheduling was great and almost never conflicted with my appointments. the ice cream was my favourite part, tasting new flavours and helping to make it.
Pros
discounted ice cream, relaxed dress code.
Cons
one bad manager (that you can have at any location)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2018
The workplace was productive an upbeat. A lot of different people worked there adding to the diversity of Marble Slab Creamery. The management was nice. But then my location closed down.
Pros
Discount, people
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with, bad management
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC11 January 2018
I was in high school and it was a part time job and it gave me money to do the stuff i wanted to do which was nice. Overall though the management was horrible and i do not recommend working there.
Pros
free ice cream
Cons
working alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Served free ice cream.
Ice Cream Server (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC14 November 2017
Marble Slab was a great first job for me and one of the best jobs to work at. I got to have free ice cream and the manager was extremely nice and understanding. I also learned a lot about customer service and how to handle customers. Unfortunately when I was working there I realized that the hours were extremely long and I was unable to work there anymore.
Pros
Free ice cream, nice boss, fun work place
Cons
Very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Owner
Ice Cream Server (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC8 November 2017
Bad owner at the franchise I worked at. That being said it would be different depending on where you are. I worked with a lot of people my age but owner was rude and condescending.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  West Edmonton Mall, AB9 October 2017
Marble Slab usually has a generally friendly environment for everyone that works there and visits. Though that is only when it is too busy the job is taxing and more demanding then expected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun and fast paced
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2017
Productive and fun workplace with co-workers, can get free ice cream every shift you work, gets very busy around mall closing time have to be very quick and fast.
Pros
Free ice cream
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and very nice staff
Ice cream maker (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB1 September 2017
While working here I enjoyed every minute, it was fun working in the environment with such nice and fun people. And I loved putting smiles on everyone's face when they get their ice cream.
Pros
Free ice cream
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and easy, fun summer job
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC30 August 2017
I worked her for over a year and enjoyed the staff as well as the customers. It was a great job for the summer but could often get cold and boring during the winter. Would definitely recommend this company to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work on the side.
Server/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON28 August 2017
Working at marble slab is a great experience, the staff are easy to get along and work with. My training was completed properly and ive always felt very comfortable even in a fast pace environment. Overall fantastic establishment. The pay is minimum wage and i only get about 12 hours a week, but it is a good job for extra money on the side. The hardest part of the job is staying busy when there are no customer, and the best part of the job is making the customer happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2017
It was a lot of fun working in a fast paced environment. It helped me learn a lot about multi-tasking and working under pressure. The bosses were very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB2 August 2017
while working here I felt very unwanted and felt like I was being judged with everything I did. The manager was very rude and did not treat any of her employees like actual people. would not recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
free ice cream
Cons
terrible enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place, independent working
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC1 August 2017
Typical day: sign in, make cakes, serve customers, make ice cream.
I have learned to be more independent due to most shifts you are working alone
Most enjoyable part was talking to the customers.
Pros
Discounted cakes
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2017
management and co-workers both are nice
good experience
most joyful part was to making Ice Cream and Hard part was to clean the back kitchen :) but though enjoyed
Pros
Free Ice Cream
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay, fun sometimes, bad management
Ice Cream Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 June 2017
Typically it's fast paced unless it's raining or winter. Management is bad they have no respect towards employees and the majority of the time is spent cleaning with no help. The hardest part is cleaning cause you have bad supplies best part the ice cream and the friends you make
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Server (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB19 June 2017
Great Staff. So much fun, got along with everyone. Good working bunch. Fabulous bosses. Loved working at social events with the group. Cute store, decent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual and fun workplace that contains good ice cream!
supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON30 May 2017
Working at marble slab can be fun. It is a good first job that allows for experience with customers and things like cash and food prep! Marble Slab makes you adapt to high pressure situations as well since people love ice cream!
Pros
Ice cream!
Cons
Can be understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small workplace with necessary spaces
Customer Service/Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2017
I worked only three evenings per week. So, I have no information about any benefits. Management is flexible, a crew is friendly.
In warm weather, the place is crowded and closing time pushed for an hour or even longer. It is paid time but may be uncomfortable for employees.
Pros
Free ice-cream snack at work and 20% off all products
Cons
Regular payment for night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excited
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 May 2017
First day of job was a good experience as i was able to do work in a very effective manner.
good relation with manager.
happy working at job.
adjustable as team member.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job fun things to do
Team Member (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON8 May 2017
lots of stuff to do but can be fun at times. the other employees are nice and fun to work with. the hardest part is when it gets busy you get stressed out because there's so much going on and lots of stuff to do.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marble Slab Creamery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 211 reviews
569
473
342
215
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture