Maple Leaf Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but that comes at a price. Safety is non exaistane and employees lack trade skill
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB3 January 2019
The maintenance management is horrible I wold recommend working here. There’s no inspection of work. Therefor the quality is the worst I’ve ever seen. I came to the plant with good intentions and sense of caring. That has since left due to the fact that anything goes there. The pay is good and the overtime is there if you want it. That’s the only thing keeping me there. I always tell myself this isn’t your forever job something better will come along. Use this as a stepping stone to find what you want in life
Pros
Good pay and over time
Cons
Maintenance supervising is horrible, No sense of pride or understanding of how things work in the trades
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Hannon, ON18 December 2018
One of the worse places to work for. Union is of no help either. A lot of back stabbing, finger pointing and butt kissing. There are some good employees there but for the most they are all out for themselves.
Pros
none
Cons
the worst place to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away if possible
Reliability (Current Employee) –  Hannon, ON6 October 2018
Everyone isn't happy there. No one like their job and also the good reviews are for sure faked.

Stay away .. your better off working anywhere else
Pros
Payed to be there
Cons
Management, organization, environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 September 2018
Force overtime and hours per day
dont make it easy to get too either have to take a shuttle or cab to the faciltiy
They cut corners when they can, and go through alot of people cause everyone hates the supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible supervisors
Butcher/Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge29 June 2018
Supervisors don't care about workers. Everyone's always so negative and grumpy. Very depressing place to work. Any complaint you make will be ignored. Only the bare minimum of things get delt with and only if enough people complain. They don't actually care about your safety or well being
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company with unfair practices
Lead hand production (Former Employee) –  Hanover, ON13 June 2018
A supervisor can tell an employee off but when an employee says it back they are escorted from the premises and fired. Upper management is all about themselves and get results through intimidation and bullying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Sanitation Crew (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK19 April 2018
best part is getting paid weekly, weekends off was just a plus. night shift was good, night premiuems was even better. learned many new skills from this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 13Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Backbone Company
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2018
No concrete management pattern. Managers have no good educational background to match the position.Instead of learning, you lost the confidence to work. Hours are not guaranteed.
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and unstable
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Hannon, ON9 January 2018
This job is incredibly boring. You honestly dont have to have a brain to work here, as its so incredibly easy. Every one will treat you like trash and there's never any advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have a brain, don't apply here
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 September 2017
I found that I couldn't work because it was SO repetitive. All you're doing is the exact same thing for 8 hours of the day. Usually just pushing meet into containers. Honestly horrible. Also, the all the people do their is talk down to you and speak to you like garbage.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am bringing my own food and coffee or tea is free.
PART TIME WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 April 2016
I have an Agency sending me to work in Mapple Leaf as part timer only. Workers in this Company are very accommodating and cooperative. I think my job in this Company is just a reliever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 20Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production and good treatment of employees.
Meat Cutter and packing (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB18 March 2016
In the duration and do not have any complaint or claim, it is a company that offers full-time opportunity to overtime, but is a routine and drudgery is a company that provides many opportunities to the people of Brandon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 21Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rendering Area
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB28 December 2015
a typical day at work is pretty hard working on the line
i learned how make heparin and separate the meat mill and tallow
the management normally i have to take my own decision
my co-worker we have a pretty good skill communication
the hardest of the job is in the fleshing machinery
the most enjoyable part of job is when i am processing the meat mill and tallow
Pros
30 minutes
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 21Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, respectful and freedom of speech
Food inspector Maple Leaf (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON5 March 2015
Maple leaf is a very cold environment workplace and very busy,that makes it a bit hard but it is an enjoyable place due to friendship ' respect and mutual assistance. I remember the very first day I started every was like asking me if I needed an help that brought more assurance in me to be at my ideal workplace.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long waiting hours of production
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 21Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maple leaf
Emballeuse (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC12 February 2015
Comme j'ai été engagée pour un contrat temporaire et que nous emballons un nouveau produit, il y a des jours où nous n'avons pas de travail...
Pros
environnement de travail agréable
Cons
pas assez d'heures de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and nice work place
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2014
my co-worker is good co-operative
i learned lot new machinery
management is good
i developed over there easy work processand reduce downtime for machine set-up
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 25Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working on Maple Leaf was realy a good job ..enjoy alot
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON4 September 2012
im a good worker . as my backgroud portuguese .
i love to work . on 2010 to 2011 i was working a part time as a cleaning. but i got lay off..now with no job ,, im looking to find one fast . as a single mom with 2 kids , to suport my family to try to provide whats the best for my kids . and the best inreterst with a job i will find it ...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 31Report

See more Maple Leaf reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maple Leaf. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 36 reviews
512
49
35
22
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture