Manulife Securities Employee Reviews

Found 31 reviews matching the search See all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new skills
Client Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 November 2018
Great place to learn and advance in career. You are always learning something new on the job. I would go back and work for the company if the job was available in my town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full service investment advisory
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON10 December 2018
Full service investment advisory. Offers the full range of products and services available in the financial planning industry. Customer focused and competitive in their offerings.
Pros
Independent Advisory service. Not obligated or pressured to sell any products at all.
Cons
No organize method of attracting or getting new clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 July 2018
There is lots of opportunity to move around, but they've been cutting jobs the last few years. People used to stay there long term, but job security is low now.
Pros
Big company
Cons
job cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible
Executive (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC25 January 2019
Dorval’s two branch managers (siblings) are terrible. The office layout is hazardous. Manulife is a good company, but avoid this branch at all costs. There is zero training or guidance provided. Awful place to work.
Pros
None
Cons
Branch manager, environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible managment
Financial Advisor Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 December 2017
No benefits. Contract was not followed by employer. No work/life balance. No HR dept. Office too small. No accountability.

I would not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON9 August 2017
Majority of your day goes to marketing your services by way of cold calling.
I learned a lot about the investment industry.
Management was nice.
Workplace culture seemed like a big family.
The most enjoyable part of the job was having friendly competitions within our branch.
Pros
A lot of training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, teamwork, skill and knowledge accumulation
Investment Advisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 March 2016
Manulife Securities provided a positive, competitive and highly conducive work environment. Great coworkers made working in a team very enjoyable. I was trained in complex and advanced wealth management strategies that provided me with a significant competitive advantage over others in the industry. The office was very well managed and was a pleasure to work at. A typical day would involve making several contacts with potential clients, working on proposals and client/prospective client files with coworkers and leading client/prospective client meetings in order to acquire new business. The most enjoyable part of the position was being part of such an ambitious team and the hardest part of the job was probably the long hours.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work !
Investment Representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 August 2016
Great place, great colleagues and managers! very good benefits. ability to work from home. ongoing training and support from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Big
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2018
The company is too big. Slow to change. Commision grid kept changing for the worse. Other than that it was ok to work there.The process of doing business was hindered by the mountain of paperwork that was required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manulife
Financial Advisor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 October 2016
is a great place to work - apart from your day-to-day tasks you can engage in different groups and projects. It never gets boring. The work you do is rewarding - not only because " but also because management supports you and your career goals and there is also a bonus program in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun workplace
JANITOR (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC23 February 2018
It was fun babysitting her daughter and I enjoyed the work, I did basic cleaning and meal preparing, plus I had to entertain her kid and would work for two to three hours once or twice a week.
Pros
I got to hang out with a really cool kid
Cons
There were non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very interesting position. Meet interesting people all day.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON19 October 2015
Manulife Securities is a very large company that is an exciting place to work. I have learned quite a variety of new and interesting things.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manulife is a great place to work.
Advisor Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 November 2015
I really enjoyed working at Manulife, its a great place to work with fantastic leadership that provided excellent feedback and support.

A great team environment that was helpful and fun at the same time.
Pros
Benefits package was excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON8 November 2017
Great place to work. My job however was outsourced and that is why I am job hunting.

The staff were wonderful, compassionate, hard working. I worked directly for the CFO who was also terminated in May. High staff turnover at the Oakville location. It was a great job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Internal Communications and Branch Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2015
 Responsible for the creation and distribution of branch communications
 Coordination of branch presentations and meetings
 Responsible for ensuring the understanding of new corporate promotions
 Creating accurate monthly performance results
 Build and maintain relationships with investment representatives and other institutions
 Prepared and distributed promotional ad-mail
 Organized and coordinated internal client seminars
 Responsible for creating and implementing crisis communications plans
 Monitor and assist in securing private documents for clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great team
Business Development Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON30 July 2016
co-workers were amazing. regular 9-5 job
awesome people and definitely a cute office
Very busy environment
had 1 hour lunch
working under my boss to make cold calls and inform people on the latest investment strategy
Pros
great office
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company - but no benefits
Associate Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 May 2016
Great Company - but no benefits. Being a single mother, having health/dental is important to me but it is not something they offer for a discounted fee. They gave me a quote of over $400/month for myself and my daughter!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing learning abilities for entry level employees
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 January 2014
I was new to this industry so this entry level position gave me the opportunity to learn new things and advance my skills as a administrative professional. Although this is a great starting position this branch does not have any room for growth as an individual with the business.
Pros
Always learning something new everyday.
Cons
No room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work to build up own book of business
Investment Adviser Associate (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON27 July 2017
Monday to Friday work from 9am-9pm
Building strong relationships through the utilization of a holistic needs-based sales approach, assisting clients in achieving and understanding their evolving financial goals. Provide banking and financial solutions to meet the needs of customers.
• Prospect for new clients using the following methods: cold calls, warm calls, breakfast seminars, dinner events, professional networking events, referrals, lunch & learns, flyers. • Actively manage the team member that ensure successful events planning. • Follow up with internal/external department ensure documentation prepared/completed is accurate and properly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Support to New IA's and office support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta18 March 2014
Small office. Good people to work with and a good environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Manulife Securities. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 32 reviews
516
49
35
20
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture