MAKITA CANADA INC Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get real
Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 May 2018
Unless they up the anti stay clear of this organization .The tools are expensive to buy yet they pay 17 an hour to start to fix them .Was looking for a change of pace but not working there thanks but no thanks
Pros
A job
Cons
Near minimum wage to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant working environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON5 July 2017
Managed products
Managed sportswear line
Organized trips
Shelf display
Set up trade shows
Assisted marketing manager / sales
Co-op advertising administrator
Pros
Working independently
Cons
workplace culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service is my passion and i would always find waysto better the service
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montreal-nord, QC21 June 2017
Good company, salary, benfit it just to bad they moved the order desk back to H. Q, Whitby Ont., would have retired with them, now I sersearching for a night shift preferably data entry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sort of good, but mostly bad
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON8 January 2017
A lot of things are pushed under the rug. Completely disorganised at times. The good thing about the job is getting into the groove of the work. Warehouse people are much better, but they have their own problems, aside from the procedural stuff. Most supervisors are good. Upper management is something else.

Most people have great personalities, but there are some who drag others down intentionally and it ruins the work environment.

Makita is a company that rides on the coattail of their reputation ... I wonder what will happen in 5-10 years. It's pretty disheartening how they will ask the workers for ways to improve when it's as simple as hiring people in management that are actually qualified, and not just because they are liked or because they've worked there for a long time ... they should actually know how to do their job. If they are failing, they should be given a notice of discipline, and if they continue to fail after that, they should be fired or demoted.

Their company software is also severely outdated. I've worked in offices which are much smaller but much more efficient because of their software.

Pay is sub-par. No room for growth. Stay there for `1-3 yrs, get your experience, and find something else, lest you want to be a lifer and work for a company that can't keep up and will ultimately fail you.
Pros
Customers are great. Most people you work with are easy to get along with. Very laid back.
Cons
Overall, extremely unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time to move on
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC22 November 2015
In the 16 years i have been at Makita, i have not been offered any advancement so i believe it is time to move on. This is not a bad place to work, just unfair.
Pros
good hours
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processing orders over the phone, fax and email. Providing pricing and availability. Investigate discrepancy and provide return number
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC20 November 2015
Good working environment with great support from staff and management. Lots of product knowledge with proper training
Pros
Monday to Friday
Cons
Lack of advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Shipper Reciever (Current Employee) –  Richmond BC27 July 2015
Picking orders, checking orders, helping others with their work, printing labels, making skids, product count checking.
All about warehousing.
Followed management requests.
Teaching new employees about the work we did in the warehouse, learning from my co-workers.
I like steady work the times when there was no work was boring.
The most enjoyable part of the day was learning new work. I am a very fast learner.
Pros
people
Cons
2 years been a temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Participated in a placement; was informative.
Operations/Purchasing Assistant (Placement) (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON28 September 2014
In my short time here while doing a placement, they had me involved with learning their BPCS system, warehouse control, and internal/international purchasing. The fellow employees who work there are receptive to newcomers and always willing to lend a hand when you need it. The environment is calm, quiet and productive.
Pros
punctual in/out times, clean work environment, friendly people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAKITA CANADA INC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9 reviews
53
41
34
21
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

MAKITA CANADA INC Reviews by Location