Magellan Aerospace Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 120 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company for long-term employment
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 October 2018
Magellan Aerospace is a very fast-paced and at times stressful environment, however co-workers are extremely supportive of each other and there is a real feeling of teamwork and belonging. It is a great place to settle down for long-term employment, where you will form very close working relationships and be exposed to opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Fantastic benefits, flexibility, on-site wellness centre & parking, opportunities for advancement, and much more.
Cons
Communication between different departments could use improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitment Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario2 October 2018
Pros: Secure Employment, Great benefits package, Awesome people to work with, - Flexible hours and great work/life balance, Developmental environment with lots of room to grow career-wise.

Cons: On-boarding process was tedious, Contract work.

Advice to Management: Be more open to cultural change and organizational streamlining processes.





Advice to Management

- Be more open to cultural change and organizational streamlining processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
FULL TIME ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 September 2018
I have enjoyed my 10 years of service and challenges of my work performed at Magellan. Many times, I would miss the coffee breaks just to solve a problem because of the dedication and passion I possess. I worked well with fellow employees and enjoyed passing on my knowledge to them. We all make mistakes and it is important to help employees learn from their mistakes. Over the years, I have experienced the transition of computer accounting programs. I am so grateful for the many experiences I have learnt at Magellan.
Pros
Social & Welfare Club
Cons
Air conditioning
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing archive and filing projects
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 July 2018
Most work was repetitive with filing shop orders however expectations weren't too high with being a summer student. Nice colleagues that gave other projects for me to work on which were more interesting.
Pros
Summer employee BBQ, Softball
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are new employee you are first to go during layoff
Production Worker/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Stony Mountain, MB3 June 2018
Most of employee here where worked 20 yrs above so they were protected by lowsy union if yoy where just started even if you work hard you will be kick out when tge order is slow or the company has ni order
Pros
Good salaries and benifits
Cons
No place for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Old-Fashioned Aerospace Manufacturer!
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 May 2018
This is a company with solid traditions in the Canadian aerospace manufacturing business. Many, many employees are staying for 20-25 years and this says it all.
Pros
Traditions, structures, processes ...
Cons
Slower than average pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magellan Aerospace
Business/Digital Transformation Program Director (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 May 2018
Good company to work. Senior Management is very traditional and stuck in the 80's. very difficult to move up in the organization, unless you are from the UK.
Pros
Great oppotunity to learn and drive continuous improvements
Cons
Executives set in their ways, culture is resistant to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place
Engineer Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 March 2018
Very reputable and enjoyed working there. I worked there for 4 months and I think i gained a really valuable experience. Moreover I think this is a good place as this was my first engineering job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dire
Storesman (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 March 2018
The wages are fair but alas the company looks to be going under. All mfg work is being done in India or Poland, people waiting for the ax to fall so a grim but short future.
Pros
wage
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive/hardworking
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 March 2018
work in production,folllow companies manual to produce quality product ,can work as group and as individual.they have a wonderful management as they giving trainings for newly hired people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Job Culture
Systems Lead (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 March 2018
Overall, this company is given a poor rating because the employment experience suffered from the following:
Management having unrealistic expectations of employee output,
Workplace peers that cannot be relied on to do their jobs properly,
Lack of a training program for new employees,
The unstated expectation that employees work unpaid overtime.
Pros
Interesting Technical work
Cons
Undue pressure to meet unrealistic project schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial workplace
Visual Inspector (Former Employee) –  Haley Station, ON13 February 2018
While this was a good paying job the workplace was dirty and loud. There were many available jobs but most we shift work so hard to do with small children.
Pros
good pay
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, challenging work
CNC Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON17 December 2017
In my typical day at work I had to set up and operate different CNC machines.

I have learned how to set up and operate. different type of CNC machines.

Heavy lifting involved

Interesting job
Pros
High tech company
Cons
Low job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Rockwood, MB14 November 2017
great job with amazing co workers, lots of new experiences in the aerospace industry to be learned from a staff with a wealth of knowledge and commitment to advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional environment
EGSE Technical Lead (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 November 2017
professional environment, strict quality control, good management, operates in very competitive field, overall very positive experience, lots to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work...
Stores Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 November 2017
Magellan is a great place to work in. You learn a lot about the history of the aerospace industry in Canada. Only downside is that the management needs a lot of work, and because of a present workers union, there are way too many workers that need to go! But because of the union, they are protected by seniority. Which means, the harder working younger people are the first to go!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Employee (Current Employee) –  Haley Station, ON27 October 2017
Great work/life balance, eight hour shifts with optional overtime
Little to no opportunity for advancement
Few to no educational opportunities
Work procedures are clearly laid out, expectations are communicated clearly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very progressive management team with a lot of knowledge and integrity.
Quality Clinic Engineer (Former Employee) –  Haley Station, ON26 August 2017
Magellan Aerospace has a very interesting work environment where the knowledge of all is valued by management to drive continuous improvement. They have a very collaborative method of problem solving and this was underlined through the Quality Clinic that I had the opportunity to work in.

Management was open procuring new equipment to eliminate some of the more mundane and dangerous jobs that are currently completed by people.

Training of personnel is undertaken as needed and is very inclusive.

Management open and honest with information.
Pros
Opportunity to learn many different skills and to work with people who want to learn, management is open to change
Cons
Aerospace is a highly regulated with many manual operations that can be dangerous for personnel
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
special process
Operator (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 August 2017
long, hard, physical days.itv involves a lot of walking and lifting of heavy plane parts and dealing with extremely harsh chemicals. it is an olderwork force with very few females.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 May 2017
I was a summer student there, so I didnt have much responsibility but the employee that I was working beside made me feel welcomed and always had something for me to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Magellan Aerospace. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 121 reviews
520
437
331
212
121

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture