MacDon Industries Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 June 2018
I volunteered for them and they treated me kind and nice and even help me with what I was supposed to do. They are also a caring company and will help you with anything
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if the work is there
General Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 March 2018
I worked at macdon and really enjoyed it
Unfortunately lots of lay offs
I would return
They are hiring now for some reason they are not accepting former employees
Im guessing because I'm not an immigrant

Word
Cons
Shift work, very very hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place for me to work
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Indian Bay, MB29 January 2018
I learn so many new things when I did job in that company. The management is very cooperative.I enjoyed alot by doing that job. The enjoyable part of the day was when I prepared food alone and also served the people.The typical day at work is Sunday .
Pros
Bonse
Cons
Long hours a
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work,
Welder (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 January 2018
If you can handle it, this place is great! If the management here doesn’t hear your name, you’ll do great! Stay quiet and just show up every day and do what is asked of you. Attendance is everything!!!
Pros
Competitive pay and great benefits
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 September 2017
- Very good place for recent grads.
- Great Benefits Package
- Overtime was almost always approved
- Flexible work hours
- Learned lots but the pay was not there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good supervisor and senior
HR Internship Student (Former Employee) –  Manitoba26 August 2017
supervisors are good
colleagues are friendly
If i can, i would consider work here.
the only problem is it is so far from where I live.
But overall, it is a good company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company has a great products in the market.
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 August 2017
I am currently working as a maintenance, base on my experience in our department, we have a really good crew. most of the job that assigned to every one of each is always done with a smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job i ever had
welding fabricator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 July 2017
Great pay with solid work.Very good charge hands and bosses.Great work enviroment safe and clean at all time.The best benefits i ever had a a welder.Lots of room to grow all kinds of job oppertunities.
Pros
Best benefits out there
Cons
sometimes 3 shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy the yearly celebration of macdon day and bonuses
Paint Line Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 June 2017
macdon is a family own business, and enjoy working with the team
for almost 2 years working at macdon i can say that the best employer in Winnipeg no company offering lots of benefits including yearly bonuses, 100% dental, 500 plus eye glasses and more
Pros
good benifits
Cons
lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift work, poor inventory management
SHIPPER, SMALL COMPO NENT ASSEMBLER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 December 2016
Long probation period. High risk of lay offs. Management is usually hired with in based on seniority depending on department. Great benefits once Full-time.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Shift Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Demand Planner (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 December 2016
Meeting - team update
Leaned - JD Edwards
Management tends to take over rather than delegate
Co-workers are definitely a plus
Hardest part of the job, is making others understand that Lead Times and that challenges of meeting project time lines inside those parameters.
Most enjoyable part of the job is getting it done.
Pros
Free Coffee, Tea
Cons
Little confidence and knowledge in computer capabilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for.
Millwright Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 November 2016
Reason for leaving Relocation. I have worked for a few companies. This one is concerned with the employees as much if not more than Profit margin. A highly skilled happy workforce is something most employers wished they had. Many people here are long term 10-40 year employees. I will miss this place.
Pros
Coporate enviornment
Cons
If your laid off, not much chance of recall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little advancement but great benefits
Welder (Former Employee) –  Manitoba31 October 2016
It can be very difficult to move up in a company of this size, but that being said for the amount of staff they have their benefits package it out of this world.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive workplace
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 July 2016
It is a fun workplace and i learned a lot in this company with various skills that i learn and contribute. different work i experience and different attitude and culture that i experienced. i also earn a lot of friends and they become like my family too. Like in almost of the company there is still racism but i overcome that by treating them nicely. the management is fair. the most enjoyable part of the job for me is the fulfilment whenever i help the department to met the required quota. the hardest part is you cannot please everyone in your workgroup there is still someone jealous with what you accomplished.
Pros
bonus and nice family day outing
Cons
layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Technical Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 July 2016
Everything about the workplace are absolute fantastic. A fun place to work with all the members who are supportive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with room of improvement and good benifits
Assembler /Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 May 2016
i work as a assember before and then transfer to other department as a forklift operator, my co worker are good and easy work with. our supervisor were supportive . and the management is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has good industrial relations and comprehensive benefit package for its employees. The work was made safe and easy due to training.
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 May 2016
Work started at 7:00 a.m. initially meeting with superior and the team members. The days was a busy one beating the target quantity and quality of finished agricultural tractors. There were amazing industrial relations and harmony at work. The management of MacDon were all supportive of its team members ( employees ). The hardest part of the job was when i was assigned in Fabrication and Welding Department doing shifting schedule, but after i had my adjustment period in shifting, everything went well. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you hit your target quantity for the day and there was no red tags. And the superiors and co-workers are all working hand in hand..that made work easier and lighter. The learnings that i have in Macdon is to value your work whatever it is ( i am a manager in my country ) and to welcome all opportunities because all work are good regardless of the job title.
Pros
comprehensive benefit package
Cons
shifting schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work placce
Current Products Student Engineer (Former Employee) –  680 Morray Street18 May 2016
It is a very nice place to work with a lot of interesting and helpful people. Overall it as a good place to gain experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 April 2016
Really well maintained work areas, very clean, fresh clean air. Work very well balanced,Great co workers to work with,best place iv ever worked.
Pros
wages
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repetitive and unfullfilling
Welder (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 March 2016
worked here for 5 years to get experience now its time to move on come home feeling drained and not satisfied with a days work due to downtime or lack of a challenge. good for a beginner welder or someone who just needs a form of income till something better comes along.
Pros
decent pay for work
Cons
shift work, adult day care
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MacDon Industries Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 38 reviews
521
410
37
20
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.5Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

MacDon Industries Ltd Reviews by Location