Mac's Convenience Store Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They aren't that bad, until they conspire to fire
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canada21 May 2018
they basically have no benefits at all, the management is usually just nagging their employees, there is a lot of workplace harassment taking place, not a friendly environment.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No lunch breaks long hours
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON16 May 2018
Worked for 6 years in several stores. Worked all shifts. You work 8 hr shift and not allowed to use bathroom or have a lunch break. They never provided coverage. Your alone the entire shift. Was robbed and couldn’t reach the manager since she was sleeping and turned the phone off. Managers don’t care about you or life balance at all. Don’t even think about them working around daycare. Not worth working there for minimum wage
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours no lunch/bathroom breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS16 May 2018
open & close the store
set up for the day
make sure every thing is ready to start
clean
work cash & debit
work will with others
multitask
being able to get to know people
Pros
fun to work there and boss was so great to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great corporation to work for.
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON15 May 2018
I loved working my way up to management. The management team did an excellent job at teaching me how to be an excellent manager. The best part of my job was having a team I enjoyed working with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gas station
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON14 May 2018
normal day for me would be managing the gas bar, olg machine and making sure people got their smokes.
i would do regular cleaning, stock shelves and made sure to refill the froster syrup
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 May 2018
My First job in Canada. Got lot of experience like Cash Handling, Customer Service and report making. Good start to join Canadian business and management is very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned lots of flexibility
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2018
I was too young running my own store and taught me lots management and problem solving skills, including but not limited to dealing with customers, employees and suppliers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Sales Representative/ Key holder (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON6 May 2018
i liked this because it has lot of customer interactions and you will learn how to be independent and my decision making skill were improved. management was good and it was a busy place as it was not just a convenience store but it was also a gas station which was a bit challenging task which i performed flawlessly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Asst.Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON5 May 2018
"Good benefits and work environment"

"You can get flexible hours including night shifts


Learned many things and also learned how to serve customers.
Pros
"Good benefits and work environment"
Cons
night shifts are long long long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store is no longer open
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Harrow, ON3 May 2018
great place to work.
manager taught me a lot of things about working with customers and staff.
typical day at work you would go in and make sure your stills good(meaning correct money, and number are all adding up correctly) then you tend to customers, clean store, check for expired items, restock items, brew coffee every 2 hrs, count ciggerates in showcase everynight, stock lottery tickets, handle orders if they come.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 May 2018
it was good experince but with no good salary anyway i love to work customer service and mostly prefer to my driving job. because i feel very good while i am driving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough staff and under paid
Cashier/Server (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 April 2018
There is not enough staff in the store and the employees are under paid with no bennifits. Would like to work a normal shift not random shifts throughout an 8 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not great place to work in full time position
Retail Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 April 2018
It is a franchise, My Manager is good and supportive but the company mac's is not that good to the employees. I have learn good customer service and made be to strong to have bad customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Satisfaction and Service
Sales Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 April 2018
Overall, it was a good first job for me. It consisted of me watching the store and the gas pumps together since it was a gas station. Good pay and flexible timings, perfect for me at that time.
Cons
Standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy convenience store chain
Corporate Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON16 April 2018
Employee performance guidelines strictly monitored and enforced... stores usually clean with quick attention to maintenance requirements... work schedules pretty flexible
Pros
reasonable pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Nice team members and managers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC12 April 2018
All co workers and the manager are very nice. They help each other. Management is good. I have learnt alot of things from my job like lottery operating, cash handling, resolving customer complaints, locate and deal with shoplifters
Pros
Good team, free coffee
Cons
No promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 April 2018
stuff of Macs was really good. they behave like a family that's a really good thing. mostly the owner was good. he was good person.
the management was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun and be responsible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB8 April 2018
This is my first time to work as a cashier at a convenience store you need to be responsible at all time and always polite to the customer. About the minors don’t encourage them to buy a cigarette there’s a penalty . About my employer their are so kind.
Pros
None
Cons
10-12hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place!
Cashier, Stocking (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 April 2018
My experience at Mac's Convenience Store was very enjoyable and entertaining. I learned how to manage and work under stressful conditions and balance both cleaning the store and being attentive on the counter. Overall, it was a great experience!
Pros
Free candy and food.
Cons
When the store wasn't busy!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An "ok" place to work.
FOOD SERVICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Devon, AB3 April 2018
During my tenure here I had lots of things learned. My boss is awesome. Worked with friendly and reliable staffs and co-workers. I lived close to the workplace so it was pretty convenient for me at that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mac's Convenience Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 704 reviews
5235
4234
3153
250
132

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture