M30 Retail Services Inc.
Happiness score is 64 out of 100
3.4 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

M30 Retail Services Inc. Employee Reviews for Merchandiser

Review this company
Job Title
Merchandiser23 reviews
Location
Canada23 reviews

Ratings by category

3.7Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 23 reviews matching the searchSee all 71 reviews

Really depends on the location!

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
While you work for M30, they contract out to different stores. They Sobeys location I was in went through four managers in the seven months I worked of the company. All of whom wanted to make changes to when and how we worked. When I took the job with M30 I was hired for specific hours, which made it work as a second job. The changes that kept being made caused me more and more conflicts and stress. So I had to leave.

Pros

Great for night owls or insomniacs.

Cons

Irregular hours week to week. No stability.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

29 November 2021
Thanks for taking valuable time to provide this review. The project for which you were hired was incredibly challenging from all aspects, and it sounds like it added to your work/life stress for which I apologize on behalf of M30. We strive to provide a clear understanding of the work requirements, including schedules, but as you experienced, the schedule can change based on client needs.Best of luck in your future,Tiffany/Employee Services

Great place to work

I have been working with M30 for just over a year. It's been a great experience so far. I've had great support from management, and always feel positive going into a day's work.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into M30 Retail Services Inc.

Based on 15 survey responses
What people like
  • Fair pay for job
  • Supportive environment
  • Clear sense of purpose
Areas for improvement
  • Inclusive work environment
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager

Just awful.

Don't think about getting sick during covid. They will fire you without a second thought. No moral. No acknowledgement. Just work you to death and kick you to the curb.

Pros

None

Cons

Too many to list
Was this review helpful?

Fast paced environment for the most part

Great company to work for. Can see doing this as a careerMerchandise product Read mod sheets/planograms Some times have to tear down and rebuild counters/shelving units

Pros

Great pay great people great environment

Cons

Have to be a night person (if doing night shift), the sleep schedule can be difficult to get used too.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

16 February 2022
Thank you for your glowing review, I'm so glad your work experience with us in St. Catharines has been a positive one. The graveyard shift is a tough one to adjust, you are very right on that point.Keep up the great work!Tiffany / Employee Services

Over promised and under delivered

-Extremely disorganized company.-They said they would provide training and didn't (other teams had someone with them on their first day, but I only received a YouTube video on how to fill out their paperwork...which there's an excessive amount of that repeats the same questions multiple times)-Always had last minute changes-Work hours were not as advertised and constantly changing, a part time 8hrs 2-3 days a week job turned into 12hr shifts 4-5 days a week-Supervisors were not helpful- had different answers depending on who you spoke to and changed without warning or reason.-Was constantly contacted outside of work hours (including after 10pm while away for a funeral).-Changed from an overnight shift to a 5AM start less than a week before the job began - A harrassing coworker was not a concern regardless of their verbal abuse and multiple displays of physical acts of rage that endangered my own safety multiple times, infact, I ended up being penalized by the company for complaining about them.

Pros

Paid above minimum wage (still not worth it though)

Cons

More disorganized and subject to chaos than any job I've ever had.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

20 December 2021
Thanks for taking valuable time to provide this review. The project for which you were hired was incredibly challenging from all aspects, and it sounds like it added to your work/life stress for which I apologize on behalf of M30. We strive to provide a clear understanding of the work requirements, including schedules, but as you experienced, the schedule can change based on client needs.Best of luck in your future,Tiffany/Employee Services

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Most of the group didn't follow protocols

Mandatory dress code not followed by some.Favoritism was definitely noticed.If you are new, don't expect OT.Phones not allowed but used by some.

Pros

Breaks every 2 hours

Cons

It's who you know, not what you know
Was this review helpful?

M30 Over promised the job

Not sure if I would recommend this company to anyone, they overpromised the job or that if you worked hard and showed up on time you'll be offered other jobs or projects. They offer NO job security at all, if your looking for permanent employment, I would look else, if your looking for temporary employment or contract work (2 weeks) then this is it. Also, there's a lot of miscommunication as to what needs to be done or clear direction of the job that needs to be done either for Merchandiser or Builder. The pay is good, but overtime pay is not there, the project manager says there was overtime, but when I checked my paystub I don't see it, if they asked say no. The 2 weeks project (Walmart reset/renovations) I was told that if I showed up (attendance and work hard) I would be given other jobs or projects, well I did worked very hard and was on-site half hour before the crew showed up, the team lead or project manager asked me to unload the trucks, which I did and done all the tasks that needed to be done, I done it. I was hired as a merchandiser but was more interested in the building side of things, had some experience but wanted to learn.

Pros

Hourly Pay

Cons

Long hours, Over promised things, don't pay overtime
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

15 November 2021
Hi and thanks for your comment;We do have a number of short term projects across the country, and sounds like you might be in Fort Frances where we had only that one project. We love to rehire but sometimes, as you are aware, we just don't have future work. I'm sorry that you were led to believe this was different. Best of luck in your future employment,Tiffany / Employee Services

mostly worked alone or with an assistant whom I worked well with.

The contract with Sobeys ended when Covid hit. I would go back with this company in an instant if they had placements in Newfoundland. The staff were patient and full of helpful tips and insight.

Pros

help readily available day or night.

Cons

not full time 40hrs per week
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our company - the loss of a big contract combined with a global pandemic meant M30 had to restructure, and unfortunately we do not have the same type of work that we had prior. Thank you for your dedication and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the job.Best wishes,Tiffany/Employee Services

Flexible work schedule

Work load varies but allows for flexibility in scheduling. Must be a self starter as you work alone or on a team of 2. Planogram experience definitely an asset.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

23 October 2020
Hey and thank you so much for your honest 5* review. You have nailed this job in 3 short sentences, that's amazing! This job can work perfectly for some, if you can exist with a varying schedule and are a self-starter. I love it, we might incorporate some of this into our hiring materials.Thanks again,Tiffany / Employee Services

Fun and Challenging

Only downside is the hours however after my contract is up I would definitely go back again. I've only been working with them for a week but it's honestly one of the best environments in my opinion. Plus midnight starts and no weekend? Amazing!

Pros

Relaxed

Cons

No hours secured
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

23 October 2020
Thanks for your 5* review, and I'm thrilled that you are enjoying this job. We agree that the hours are one of our biggest challenges.Happy to have you on the team,Tiffany / Employee Services

Disorganized and Variable Hours

I worked based out of Invermere for a few months in 2019 and found that they lead you on in the regards to how many hours you’re going to get. Cannot depend on this for money as they just change your hours last minute without telling you. They would call me out of nowhere and yell at me for not doing things that I had already done. Ended up debating endlessly with management and basically got fired for being a problem
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hello and thank you for your review -We are aware that our hours are variable and can be as low as 0 and as high as 24 - I know this is communicated during the interview process because we do not want to lead anyone on about the weekly hours - we need this job to be a good fit from both sides. I'm sorry this position did not work out for you,Best of luckTiffany/Employee Services

Hostile Work Environment

I was fired when I complained of harassment from grocery store managers and staff. Then I was shortchanged on my severance pay. MSI has changed its name but I doubt that they have changed their tactics.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hello and thank you for your review -Sounds like you worked for our company quite a few years back - since then we have implemented new training measures. We also have an open door policy and Employee Services is always available to field your questions or concerns. It's too bad you waited so long to let us know about your concerns regarding your pay discrepancy - we take these matters very seriously and work with multiple departments to get a resolution.Regards,Tiffany/Employee Services

Ok Place to Work

Good place to work. Could use a little more hands on from management. Liked the work for the most part. It was a bit challenging, as sometimes you had to improvise to make product fit.
Was this review helpful?

productive workplace and fast pace

work days varied from week to week with reset work. special projects involved varied resets from jewellery to hardware. management were always a phone call away to answer questions.

Pros

planning your own schedule

Cons

many weeks were too short on hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hello and thank you for your review -It sounds like you worked on our Walmart projects and I"m sorry that you experienced weeks with less hours than you were hoping. We know this is a concern and typically there are multiple factors that cause the reduction of hours - from supply chain to sub-contractor work to hardware challenges.Thanks again, best of luckTiffany/Employee Services

Excellent work experience, people and environment

I worked with M30 as a Merchandiser from January 2018 for a few month project, as and honestly, looking back, I had such an excellent time working there, I would do it again if the opportunity came, and if I was available too. My bosses, the team leads, my M30 team, construction crew, to store staff I worked with were so wonderful, helpful and great hard working people to work with. I was surprised and amazed and really lucky that I was surrounded with a lot of great people to work with, and I mean EVERYONE! I miss them all. Besides them being so awesome, they were very good to work with and were all hard working, and we all got along great. My team leads were very good to me. They made me feel so comfortable in the workplace, especially when I ran into any difficulties, and were always so helpful and patient when I needed them. They also acknowledged the good work I have done which always made feel good, but also gave me tips and advice on how to improve better too. Working there gave me so much more experience in working with teams. I also learned so much about reading planograms better, and more in-depth stuff about merchandising I didn't know before, and I've been doing merchandising positions on and off for 5 years. It's all thanks to the team leads and my team mates. Overall, I was very proud of being a part of the team the company and the Leduc Rona project, and I am glad I found this job at the right time, and I am so thankful and greatful to the management at M30 who gave me the opportunity and chance. I am also happy with M30 that they gave me - 

Pros

The people I worked with and the work and learning experience

Cons

wish they had another project they could call me to work on now
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

17 June 2019
Hello and wow! thanks for such awesome feedback -We post all jobs to the company jobsite, so please do check in as often as you can remember to do so! Also, contact your PM to let him know you are still interested in anything coming up.Best of luckTiffanyEmployee Services

Had fun with work assiciates while geetting lots of work completed

Learned a lot as on job training , had great time while working. Staff and manager very supportive and the schedule was posted ahead of time so you can plan your week.

Pros

great atmosphere

Cons

was temporary
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

17 September 2019
Thanks for the review, and glad you had fun!Best of luck in the futureTiffany / Employee Services

Easy work, with detailed expectations

Work was easy to do, but the hourly time expectations were hard to meet. As well, I did not receive much training. Simple learn on the go. Special projects are available, if you live in the right areas.

Pros

flexible schedule

Cons

low wages
Was this review helpful?

Efficiently Managed Workplace

Extremely thorough training and management from M30. Every shift was enjoyable and face paced, making it easy to work. New skills were learned through training of planograms, management styles and computer operating. Workplace culture was good. The hardest part of the job was interacting with Lowes employees, where there was a difference in opinion (usually higher management). Overall, it was an enjoyable work experience.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

20 February 2020
Hi -Our Lowe's store setups were fun! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and you are right - fast paced, lots of on-the-job training and learning. We had some super employees in Nanaimo too!Best of luck,Tiffany/Employee Services

Basic Job

Pretty simple job. Was doing merchandise relines in a grocery store. Read and executed Planograms. Unfortunately there is a lack of hours involved with some weeks having no work at all. But overall a good job and good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

20 February 2020
Hi there -Thanks for giving us 4 stars! We are hyper aware of the challenges around the hours for our reset department. Unfortunately, we have very limited control of this aspect of the work, and do our best (now) to communicate this limitation to all candidates at the initial interview stage.Best of luckTiffany/Employee Services

Great company to work for.

A typical day at work: Meet with team lead to obtain instructions for days goals. I've learned that Plan-o-grams are not always correct so I've had to improvise, adjust and re-adjust to make things fit. Management: Team lead is always available if you have questions or problems. Workplace Culture:Great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

5 October 2017
Hello and thank you for such positive feedback. We are so glad to hear that your work experience was positive and I hope you had fun on this job. Good luck wherever your career takes you next.

energetic and fun

The salary is reliable. the supervisor and nice and friendly. the job has a very flexible time shift. they preferred workers that are more reliable and hardworking
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

1 June 2017
Thanks for writing to tell us you had a positive work experience with us. I hope you will consider future positions if they arise!Employee ServicesCalgary AB

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at M30 Retail Services Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 71 reviews

Ratings by category

3.7 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.5 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.2 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare M30 Retail Services Inc. with

  • Companies
  • M30 Retail Services Inc.
  • Employee reviews
  • Merchandiser