M30 Retail Services Inc.
3.4 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

M30 Retail Services Inc. Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.9Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 57 reviews matching the searchSee all 58 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Really depends on the location!

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
While you work for M30, they contract out to different stores. They Sobeys location I was in went through four managers in the seven months I worked of the company. All of whom wanted to make changes to when and how we worked. When I took the job with M30 I was hired for specific hours, which made it work as a second job. The changes that kept being made caused me more and more conflicts and stress. So I had to leave.

Pros

Great for night owls or insomniacs.

Cons

Irregular hours week to week. No stability.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great team

Excellent place to work…. The Director of Retail Services is truly someone great to work for/with and definitely one of a kind. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Most of the group didn't follow protocols

Mandatory dress code not followed by some.Favoritism was definitely noticed.If you are new, don't expect OT.Phones not allowed but used by some.

Pros

Breaks every 2 hours

Cons

It's who you know, not what you know
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

M30 Over promised the job

Not sure if I would recommend this company to anyone, they overpromised the job or that if you worked hard and showed up on time you'll be offered other jobs or projects. They offer NO job security at all, if your looking for permanent employment, I would look else, if your looking for temporary employment or contract work (2 weeks) then this is it. Also, there's a lot of miscommunication as to what needs to be done or clear direction of the job that needs to be done either for Merchandiser or Builder. The pay is good, but overtime pay is not there, the project manager says there was overtime, but when I checked my paystub I don't see it, if they asked say no. The 2 weeks project (Walmart reset/renovations) I was told that if I showed up (attendance and work hard) I would be given other jobs or projects, well I did worked very hard and was on-site half hour before the crew showed up, the team lead or project manager asked me to unload the trucks, which I did and done all the tasks that needed to be done, I done it. I was hired as a merchandiser but was more interested in the building side of things, had some experience but wanted to learn.

Pros

Hourly Pay

Cons

Long hours, Over promised things, don't pay overtime
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Enjoyed my time there

I loved working with M30. I was only there a couple of months, but it was a fun, always moving, no standing still job. If you want to be lazy and slack off, then don't apply, because you will not last.I only left because I was offered an amazing job opportunity, that ended up being shut down due to Covid. I have no complaints about the company, or any of the management that I worked with.

Pros

Hours (loved the overnight shift!)

Cons

Some store staff.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Hi and thanks for your thoughtful review. It sounds like you had a very positive experience, and this position was a great fit for you. Good luck where your work takes you, and check back on our job page, we are always hiring :-)Tiffany / Employee Services

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Company is a shell of its former self

M30 was once a decent company to work for, but those days are long gone. Communication is poor, the method by which training is provided is poor, there is little work, no guaranteed hours, the stability of the company is in question, recognition and job security are nonexistent. I can think of no reason to recommend M30 to anyone interested in reliable employment.

Pros

Virtually none

Cons

Little work, no job security
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Hello and thank you for your comment. It sounds like you had a long history with our company, and have experienced the dramatic corporate restructuring that M30 went through, as a result of contractual changes and a global pandemic. I agree that this has been an incredibly challenging 20 months for M30, and while we look very different, the company is still standing which was the goal from the start. Unfortunately, I'm hearing that your experience was not very positive - please feel free to reach out if you want to talk. Tiffany / Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great company its the stores they contract to that can be a problem!

M30 is pretty great the pay was more than fair when I worked there and although my personal manager was not usually responsive or available my original trainer was always a call or text away and super friendly shes what I loved most about M30! However a certain store they contract to is not so great to be working in. The staff if friendly but management is not. It's obvious you are not wanted there, management rarely has planograms printed and ready, they regularly don't double check they've printed the correct plaograms, they usually don't have things ready for you to complete a section reset, if you need additional shelving have fun waiting for 1 of the 2 managers that are never on shift when you get there by the stores choice 8am but management doesn't show until 10am or later if at all. The staff say the langest seving manager regularly goes home early 1 day per week and the other is constantly late or no showing on shift and when you need these people to print planograms, tags, verify correct planogram to section, supply extra shelves etc it get annoying to goto work only to go home after 10 minutes due to no managers, missing shelves, reline refusals etc.

Pros

Good pay, great conpany

Cons

Undesirable store to work in, in my area
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Thanks for taking time out of your day to post a comment - we appreciate all feedback as it helps us grow and change. Working as a third party contractor has its challenges, and we often have to play peacemaker or just deal with what the situation is, to the best of our abilities, and its sounds like you had the right positive attitude to making this work.Best wishes for your future,Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

mostly worked alone or with an assistant whom I worked well with.

The contract with Sobeys ended when Covid hit. I would go back with this company in an instant if they had placements in Newfoundland. The staff were patient and full of helpful tips and insight.

Pros

help readily available day or night.

Cons

not full time 40hrs per week
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our company - the loss of a big contract combined with a global pandemic meant M30 had to restructure, and unfortunately we do not have the same type of work that we had prior. Thank you for your dedication and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the job.Best wishes,Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

Good place to work other than they l ay you off all of December and then. have. to wait to hear if there. are any jobs. available.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Thanks for your review, and your honesty. It is appreciated. Some folks loved the December layoff, some did not. And sadly, 2021 was a whole different ball game with a contract loss and a global pandemic. Good luck,Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Only contact with head office via online or telephone

great job for someone to work independently and basically set their own schedule; Sobeys is a good working environment with helpful management staff; very clean retail space

Pros

set your own work schedule

Cons

working backshift
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

12 August 2021
Hi and thanks for reviewing M30 - I would have loved to meet all the people that we hired from our Calgary head office - Canada is just too darn big - but I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed this position, and it sounds like it worked for you as an independent, self-starter. The flexibility is definitely one of the perks of the job.Best wishes,Tiffany / Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Flexible work schedule

Work load varies but allows for flexibility in scheduling. Must be a self starter as you work alone or on a team of 2. Planogram experience definitely an asset.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

23 October 2020
Hey and thank you so much for your honest 5* review. You have nailed this job in 3 short sentences, that's amazing! This job can work perfectly for some, if you can exist with a varying schedule and are a self-starter. I love it, we might incorporate some of this into our hiring materials.Thanks again,Tiffany / Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun and Challenging

Only downside is the hours however after my contract is up I would definitely go back again. I've only been working with them for a week but it's honestly one of the best environments in my opinion. Plus midnight starts and no weekend? Amazing!

Pros

Relaxed

Cons

No hours secured
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

23 October 2020
Thanks for your 5* review, and I'm thrilled that you are enjoying this job. We agree that the hours are one of our biggest challenges.Happy to have you on the team,Tiffany / Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great company to work within until they don’t need you anymore

I loved working for M30 as a team lead in my area it was great. My coworkers were fun and made this job most enjoyable all but for one privileged male Than one day the Calgary CEO who’s had the nerve to lied to me twice and pushed me out of the job I actually held for the second term of the contract. I’ve never had one complaint or warning the whole time I worked for them. I put up with harassment daily and being verbally attacked. I reported my coworker and they threw me under the bus . In fact I was told I would be top of the list because I was the team lead the last two years and would coming back . However this privileged male called in a favour and poof! I’m outta job. It’s nice to know that them good old racist boys clubs still exist. Calgary’s CEO I hope Karma finds you

Cons

Cut throat Corp
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

23 October 2020
Hi and thanks for your review.I'm sorry that this position did not work out for you, Kim. There are always solid reasons behind any business decision to not extend an employee's agreement, typically focusing almost exclusively on performance and professionalism. Our CEO would not have been involved in any decisions regarding your employee file.Wishing you best of luck in your future,Tiffany / Employee Services

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

23 October 2020
Hi and thanks for your review.I'm sorry that this position did not work out for you, Kim. There are always solid reasons behind any business decision to not extend an employee's agreement, typically focusing almost exclusively on performance and professionalism. Our CEO would not have been involved in any decisions regarding your employee file.Wishing you best of luck in your future,Tiffany / Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Mangers / supervisors

What I’ve find out during this COVID 19 is with M30 the mangers / supervisors is that some the mangers / supervisors were married. And the manger won’t do his job but his wife which is a supervisor would do his job and give certain team leaders / assistants are hard time even though that nots my supervisor for the province that I was working in.

Pros

Great pay

Cons

Manger issues
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

27 October 2020
Thank you for your review. Our management team are spread around the country and due to the size of this region, many are required to manage team members in provinces other than their own.If you would like to discuss your experience with me, I would highly recommend that you call the office.Best of luck,Tiffany / Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

great people

Wonderful company to work for. Focusing on results and the well being of their employees. There truly showed how much they care about their employees when vivid 19 shut us down. Very compassionate in their phone calls to each employee.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

9 June 2020
Hello and thank you for such a lovely review - Making the calls to follow up on all our Atlantic employees was therapeutic and really helped our head office staff through the COVID19 pandemic so it was a win-win. Stay safe and keep washing those hands.Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

Professional and always ready to help team members, we get frequent updates from management. Hours are flexible and very competitive . Would recommend competitive

Pros

Flexible hours, good salary

Cons

Number of hours not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

19 May 2020
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to complete an online review - we feel honoured to receive your 5 star review and love reading your comments. Hopefully we can resume hiring once this pandemic settles down a bit.Take care, stay safe.Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Overall pretty decent experience

The only con to working for this company would be that there was a shortage of work, which caused a lot of revolving door associates. The staff is constantly changing because lay offs from lack of work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hi and thanks for your comment -I hear and share your frustration - as we work almost exclusively with one client, their schedule becomes our schedule which is often limited for many reasons, including supply chain, vendor specials and planogram development and changes. I hope you will consider coming back when COVID-19 settles down.Thanks, Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good place to work but not enough hours of work

It is a part time job with very limited amount of work. Would be great if it was full time. No supervision which is nice to be able to be left alone to do your work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review and rate M30 Retail Services.I 100% agree with you that this would be a great full time job - if only we had that type of work available though! Our 2020 program started off slow and was *just* picking up in terms of hours/week when the COVID-19 pandemic hit and all work ground to a halt.I hope you consider joining the team when life/work returns to normal.Thanks again,Tiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not very good

Worked nights which wasn't a problem until I had a issue with my paycheck and being told I was paid when I wasn't. Wasn't enough hours and hard to communicate with the boss.

Pros

days off, independent work

Cons

pay issues, management problems
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

24 February 2020
Hello -Please call the office to discuss your issues with your paycheck - it is very important that we resolve these types of issues asap.ThanksTiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Disorganized

Disjointed company. Hours were minimal. Was expecting 32, some weeks got only four. High turnover of staff and often left to struggle alone. Never met supervisor or any of team.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hello and thank you for your review -I'm sorry that you had such a negative experience. Our 2020 reset program did start off very very slowly and we are aware of the frustration that caused our team members. I'm a bit confused by your date of review - our reset program did not kick off until the first weekend of February. Best of luckTiffany/Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

I loved working for this Company

Lots of changes happened with this job. I originally started with “MSI”, then it was M30. I loved the job. If I could go back....yes I would. I really loved to see the transformation of my tasks. I had pride in what I did.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from M30 Retail Services Inc.

2 April 2020
Hello and thank you for your positive review -I'm super happy to hear that you loved the job over the years - MSI dates back to 2016! You sound like a true merchandiser - one who takes pride and gets satisfaction from organizing things!Best of luckTiffany/Employee Services

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at M30 Retail Services Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4

Based on 58 reviews
5
21
4
11
3
9
2
5
1
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
2.4Job security/advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Compare M30 Retail Services Inc. with

  • Companies
  • M30 Retail Services Inc.
  • Employee reviews