Lowe's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Loader, Cashier, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 February 2018
Friendly and diverse work crew. Communication needs improvement between management and the different work sections as there are often confusions with customers' pick up orders. Every month, they reward their staff with a birthday cake for the birthdays in the month and food for a month's end celebration. Reasonable hours as a peak employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun seasonal work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 February 2018
Friendly staff, solid work environment, room for advancement. Company was helpful with scheduling conflicts

enjoyed customer interactions
could use better safety standards for lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Oriented
Appliance Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON31 January 2018
I would typically come to the floor and check all my orders making sure everything was ready and up to date. After that i can start helping out customers on the sales floor with any questions or inquiries they had on appliances. Then hopefully closing the sale. The most enjoyable part was closing a big sale and successfully up-selling.
Pros
lots of sales experience
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better then other places
CSA (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC30 January 2018
Lowes offers a lot more opportunity for advancement, IF, your store has openings and IF your managers like you more then other people.
It was alright place to work, my co workers are what made it worth it. Management took out their stress on staff and they paid the price later when staff quit.Its another retail job, not much different then Home Depot, other then a few more opportunities really. They were flexible with schedules which was nice, but a lot of the time it wasn't worth the stress and pain of working there. They ask too much of staff for what they pay most of them.
Pros
Flexible, pay raises
Cons
Poor management, lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Values and Opportunities.
Sales Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 January 2018
Lowe's offers good job security and career advancement options. They provide good structure and values to help their teams grow and in so provide better customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work as college/university student
Cashier/Loader (Former Employee) –  Maple, ON29 January 2018
Great summer job for students
decent salary
Hours varies from 20-40 hours a week
Standing for long hours
Nothing is really hard about the job
Management is decent
Pros
1 hour lunch, 2 15min breaks
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Lot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Stittsville, ON27 January 2018
Arrive to work, get ready, clock in and start my day. Walk outside to assist every customer i possible can with the biggest smile on my face. After thank them.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Cons
Working outside
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and staff
Flooring Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON24 January 2018
If you love to talk with and help people this is the place for you. Great and friendly staff to work with. I found it quite an enjoyable experience which made me strive to be even better.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment nice and friendly
Commercial Loader/Customer service associate (Former Employee) –  Steeles and kennedy, ON23 January 2018
Having recently migrated to Canada this was my first job and so far i can honestly say the best work environment I've been in so far. The team i worked with was awesome
Pros
nice team to work with
Cons
disrespectful customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appraisal for each and every innovative thing
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2018
The best place to work is in Lowe's West side. All the staff members are very helpful. Managers appraise every new idea anyone brings in and these ideas are implemented as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about Lowe's?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON22 January 2018
decent job, can't complain. get on the managers good side and you are set. focus on working on each task and don't get stressed out. you gain some nice skills.
Pros
flexible hours if you're not full time
Cons
disorganized store
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace with a great environment
customer service (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 January 2018
Lowes was a fun place to work. The people I worked with were for the most part kind, fun and worked hard. The management team cared deeply for their staff and did whatever they good to maintain a healthy work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place all in all.
Lumber Associate (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 January 2018
All in all a good place to work. I enjoyed my time with them. It was going very well until they started cutting hours unexpectedly. They had no explanation. This is my soul reason for leaving.
Pros
Every other Friday they supply lunch
Cons
Minimal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat place to work
Customer Service Associate/Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON17 January 2018
Best staff to work with. Upbeat friendly environment. Great support and encouragement. Fun atmosphere. Great opportunities to troubleshoot, learn and grow. Love the challenges, and feeling of accomplishment.
Pros
Pay, friendly environment, great staffing.
Cons
changing shifts too often, going from days, to afternoons to nights in the same week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON16 January 2018
Prepare daily task list for employees, making sure everything is lip to the line, selling the entire project making it feel as though you are a big part of their project. Self rewarding.
Pros
Training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Overnight Stocker (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2018
Stocking new deliveries. Cleaning the workplace and making sure everything's ready when the store opens in the morning. Operating machines to put away stocks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Supervisor/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON11 January 2018
Working at Lowe's will teach you patience and test it daily. There are many opportunities to learn about the retail industry in this big box store. Managers are often mentors to staff. You will need to work as a team often and depend heavily on communication to ensure the customers get their product and leaves the store happy.
Pros
Good starter job for students in post secondary or out of high school, You learn how to handle conflict professionally.
Cons
Understaffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work if you like retail
Product Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Lowe's Brampton7 January 2018
Not a bad place to work, people are friendly, there is room for advancement, but the pay is minimum and slightly above. There is a lot of cronyism between friends and it is difficult to get into an area that you really want.
Pros
Clean environment
Cons
Little control on shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON7 January 2018
Decent place to work the staff for the most part are supportive & friendly great people to work with. Clean and organized environment. Learned a lot about customers and how particular/difficult some can be.There is a lot of running around involved because it is such a large store.
Pros
incentive prgrams
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Lowes floor associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON5 January 2018
I loved working in the seasonal dept and being on my feet and continue talking to customers and feeling helpful. The job pace was quick and that's what I enjoyed most.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lowe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 25,164 reviews
57.5K
48.4K
36K
21.9K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture