Loblaw Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 March 2018
A good company if you would like to grow. Hard working employee are recognized. Helps with work and personal life balance. Location was close to brampton.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
MEAT CLERK- PART TIME (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2018
lots of heavy lifting, cleaning
great atmosphere and workplace
flexible hours
manager was very nice and accomodating
management was great
the store assistants were nice
Pros
hours
Cons
lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyment
cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2018
i enjoyed working and meeting new people .i love working with the public and sharing my skills with them . to please and make them happy . i enjoy also being a part of a team
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, bad management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2018
I worked as a cashier, therefore becoming familiar with the ins and outs of customer service. It was good work. The reason I only give Loblaws a 3 star rating is because the management was unorganized and ineffective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a tipical day
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 March 2018
stretch every morning
pick up a fork lift
working in a fast paced job
being careful of the load you are loading or receiving
put machine back in place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge
Quality Assurance Specialist (Produce) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 March 2018
Our Quality Assurance Department runs 24hours, and involves receiving and shipping of product to all Loblaws affiliated stores in Alberta, Yukon, North West Territories and eastern BC.
Pros
Different things to do
Cons
Night shift is tough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is generally a good place to work if you choose to ignore the nepotism and the cultural undercurrents.
Finance Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 March 2018
The work life balance does not really work for me because due to the nature of my role, the work never ends. You can never have that period where you can say that you have closed out and completed something. It just keeps coming.
So even when i do not take work home, i still worry about the work.
Then the culture of the staff is just so pretentious and off. People create different silos, according to their ethnicity. So a new comer without an excisting ethnic group would really find it difficult to fit in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed customer service
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON4 March 2018
I worked there for over a year and rode my bike to work. I lasted over a complete year pushing carts, doing price checks, and deliver-ing groceries to customer's cars. I liked working with cashiers as well, like a team. The hardest task was pushing carts in ice/snow.
Pros
discounted food
Cons
working with high school kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-operative co-workers
Grocery/Perishable Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 March 2018
Lob law is a Canada's most trusted brand from last 100 years. No doubt they stay in market such a long time due to their reliability and effective management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2018
The job itself I found to be fast-paced and high-energy. The workplace culture was fun, there was always something to do and I loved my co-workers. The only thing I disliked was the poor management, due to their lack of understanding of their employees lives outside of work, as well as belittling their employees in front of customers. The hardest part of the job was simply the amount of customers we had to serve on a day-to-day basis, where as the best part of the job the free food we got to eat every once in a while!
Pros
free food, friendly co workers, long breaks, good pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Loblaw?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2018
Good people to work with. Management is very friendly and very easy going. Quality of work environment is good and the people who work there are nice and easy going
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2018
I worked here as a cashier, the pay was minimum wage. The hours were my biggest complaint, since the more senior employees have to have equal or more hours than the more junior ones it overloads the senior employees with hours while leaving the junior ones wanting more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i lived right across the street.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON28 February 2018
i liked working here because it was so close to my home so i wouldnt have to travel far. I liked being a cashier and the hours were good. i would learn codes for fruits and veggies on my spare time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Finance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Manitoba28 February 2018
Enjoyed working,lot of learning,lots of learning, good place to work at,managers -mentors are helpful,overall good experience,amazing,enjoyed working there
Pros
no work pressure, well organized
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn a lot from the company culture
SAP Refurb specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2018
Well organized company to work. Great benefits and company is
very much in the welfare of all employees.
Since the company name is well established to easy establish
rapport with customers
Pros
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Merchant (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 February 2018
The typical day at Loblaw involved working rigorously on multiple projects at once with your team. There was not a lot of coordination with other divisions
Pros
discount lunch
Cons
lack of job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace with highly separated divisions
Strategic Initiatives Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 February 2018
The typical day at Loblaw involved working rigorously on multiple projects at once with your team. There was not a lot of coordination with other divisions
Pros
Independence and autonomy
Cons
Not a lot of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intense jobs but heavily seasonal
Electronics Clerk & Portrait studio Photographer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2018
Customers at loblaws are normally regulars as it was a small department and not many knew about it. Photography was very seasonally heavy as christmas would increase sales by a large amount. During these high seasons such as christmas the understaffed department only had two photographers and often relied on me to work overtime and do double bookings on solo shifts and get everything done which could be a difficult task for one person.
Pros
Paid breaks and union
Cons
Understaffed department
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful management
Replenishment Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL22 February 2018
Very disorganized, The back warehouse was always a mess hard to work in. did not do their job ever we were always 6 months behind on planos. they do not care about mental illness at all!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Merchandising Manager (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 February 2018
Overall great place to work for young students coming into the industry to help develop their skills. Offers a good corporate cultural experience with many different business units.
Pros
Culture and overall business
Cons
Salary and compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loblaw. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,839 reviews
5493
4623
3432
2153
1138

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture