Liquor Barn Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 65 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 July 2018
great place to work, upper management is very easy to get ahold of and offer an extensive amount of backup when required. you get out of it what you put into it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Excellent
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2018
Area and District Management not helpful always negative and store security lacking for employee safety. Hours given are small and pay raises sometimes never happen
Pros
Discount
Cons
Upper Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB7 May 2018
Multiple work and life skills to learn on the job. Quality leaders that are willing to help you learn and grow as a valuable part of the company. Excellent job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fun environment but poor management
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 February 2018
I enjoy working at liquor barn, I like the staff and the customer base in which I’ve built. Although the management is lacking and doesn’t support their staff nor help them with regards to their needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be enjoyable place staff can be awesome
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 July 2017
Stocking shelfs and coolers assisting customers receive orders , checking for identity like drivers license making sure there of legal drinking age, keeping eye out for potential thirds, assist management where needed like making displays and cleaning floors and shelfs
Pros
Paid supper break
Cons
Hours of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual atmosphere
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB24 October 2017
A basic position requiring the ability to follow direction. Often required to work alone or with one other person. Responsible for ensuring regular deposits to the safe made during shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with interesting things to learn about alcohol
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 July 2017
A typical day at work varies between being quiet and having time to complete all required tasks as needed, to being so busy you barely get a chance to leave your till.
You get to learn some interesting things about liquor production as well as how to prepare drinks.
Management varied greatly; each manager & assistant manager I've dealt with prioritises different aspects of company policy while not worrying about other policies.
Workplace culture can be good, but some employees can be trying on the nerves. Ability to shelf ones feelings and muscle through working with them almost required.
A degree of difficulty emerges when you are given a multitude of tasks to complete on the busiest days of the week, and you need to find a balance between completing your work while assisting customers.
While some employees can be trying, the majority are upstanding folks. It's easy to become friends outside of work with your coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 November 2017
it was a great place to work until i got robbed at gun point but they helped me deal with that by working with WCB to manage my stress with what happened.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Camrose, AB22 June 2017
Working at the Liquor barn, I not only gained co-workers, I gained a family. Management was fantastic and the way they ran the company was so organized. I truly miss working there, however they just couldn't provide the hours I needed.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job. Avoid if possible
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB6 March 2014
This was an aweful job. It was okay at first until they had me working till midnight by myself. (I am a very small female) When i brought up this issue they gave me the choice to change stores. In my process of doing this they fired me without my knowledge. I will never work for this company again.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Late hours by yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a career job
Assistant Manager/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 July 2017
Having to deal daily with theft is not an ideal position.
Wages never increased and the work load always did. I did not like it here. Good as a temp part time position for students.
Pros
Many locations
Cons
No bonusea or raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work little incentive
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 August 2014
start 9AM
count tills
put out stock
make displays
fill beer cooler
serve customers
receive orders
make cardboard bales
close store up set alarm

Fun team a real family like experience
Pros
learned how to sing better while working in the beer cooler
Cons
Hard work little incentive or opportunity to move forward
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stockman (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB26 January 2017
the typical day at work is stocking and organizing the liquors. everyday i am learning different things thru my co-workers and the management is great. the work place is a safety first policy. the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with co-workers.
Pros
30 minutes break
Cons
8 hour shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable,ease flowing company
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 January 2015
This company is great to get your first job if your 18years old. they give u on site training and questions are answered when asked. The people that you work with are friendly if help is needed, help is there.
Pros
hours are great, fun, on going training
Cons
???
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun and enjoyable workplace
Sales associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 January 2015
I was in stock merch, floor sales
I helped people find and purchase a wide variety of gifts or personal sales that fit them.
a lot of stocking and replenishing store from wherhouse and offsite wherehouse.
Pros
positive environmnt
Cons
little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stettler, AB4 September 2017
I enjoyed working there got along good didnt get much hours but i liked the discounts i got there, it was over all a good job! just wasnt my cup of tea
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviroment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 May 2016
I had a farily good experience working at the liquor barn good friends good staff and a fun work environment , I had created a good team when I got promoted to manager , made going to work more than just a job
Pros
discounts on items
Cons
2 am shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
were not flexible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ross Glen Medicine Hat1 October 2012
i was hired by a newly made manager who was told i have school and they wanted me to do full time and werent understanding of obligations like docters appointments
Pros
meet new people
Cons
riskt to work past 12
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work. Pays the bills.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 April 2016
They like to micro-manage a lot and quite often management with contradict what they said the day before.
It is a work environment that changes frequently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very safe or great place to work
Key Holder, Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clareview29 February 2016
the manager is very young and the situations are pretty serious and the police have to be called for theft almost everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Liquor Barn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 65 reviews
512
423
319
26
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture