Liberty Tax Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance and grow new skills
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC1 June 2018
Typical day at work involves making appointments, answering phone calls, scanning, entering data and consulting with clients. Workplace culture involves myself and daily tax prepares.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
communication
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 May 2018
In this field, I meet variety of people, interact with multiple cultural.
widens my horizon, about people's lives, what struggle they have, and how I may help them with my knowledge and take advantage of the tax opportunities out there that people may not even heard about.

my most enjoyable part of this job is the fact that I am helping people out and maximizing their refunds. The smiles on their faces the moment they leave the door is the biggest thrill to me.
Pros
ability to choose breaks and free drinks
Cons
may have extended hours due to busy season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Terrace, BC23 May 2018
Pretty good job overall, typical day at work would be greeting your client starting their file, getting things all ready and done before they pick up their completed taxes
Pros
Your taxes done for free
Cons
some rude and pushy clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Receptionist (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 May 2018
Management was very Co-operative. Healthy environment with positivity. Every day was a new day well spent with staff and clients. There was not such part that I have gone through.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work flexable hours
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2018
Great place to work and get experience , offer free training and flexible work hours skills that you can use for a lifetime...able to transfer skills to other provinces
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
long hours occasionally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and manageable
Mascot (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON9 May 2018
Being a mascot gives you freedom to engage with all ages of people. The staff and environment is friendly and professional. I learned how to relax and have fun while wearing the costume. The hardest part of being a s mascot is predicting the weather. In times where the weather was not desirable, I would perform some cleaning duties within the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It it a really good working environment!
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON25 April 2018
It is always team work in the office.
We were working hard and enjoying with our clients.
Also, we lovely worked with our manager and coworkers. I will miss everyone who i worked with!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Tax Preparer (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB13 April 2018
Talk to lots of customers
Data entry and reception duties
Long days busy hours
Must know your tax information
Good place to work
Good management
Helps you learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of opportunity for growth
Tax Preparation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 April 2018
Liberty Tax was a great place to work as it was family owned and the owner allowed for lots of room for growth when initiative was shown. There was also hours given outside tax season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB16 February 2018
Well it was my familys business for a period. So everything was great. I have no complaints. It was easy to learn, good hours. I liked it. But I started school so i couldn't do it anymore.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Tax Return Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 February 2018
good place to work at. helpful management. good work and life balance. the pay is decent . it gets busy in the tax season but it will slow down after
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 January 2018
As a past employee at Liberty Tax i had the opportunity to gain some great experiences as this was my first job. I also obtained new skills such as taking in clients information, filing their tax returns and calling clients if any issues occurred with their taxes that my co workers had been doing.
Pros
gained experience
Cons
can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Tax Associate & Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 December 2017
The company offers flexibility in work-life balance and the opportunity for continuous learning throughout the year. The workload increases seasonally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring but a good Job
Staff (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON14 November 2017
The Main thing I learned From this job is that it is very boring to be a mascot. people might think that being a mascot is easy but standing on your feet doing nothing for 5 hours a day is very hard to do.
Pros
A lot of breaks
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON29 August 2017
Learn to do tax preparation
good co-worker
minimum wage and seasonal job
less hour work depend on how busy it is
work in different location
not enough hour for income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Employment
Senior Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 August 2017
Very low pay for responsibility of the position.

Work environment is fast paced with little supervision.

Interesting work that is challenging and always changing

Management rushes you through training and do little to encourage or motivate staff after that
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Tax company it was very busy and productive
TAX CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2017
It was a tax company and specially in tax time we have to work like a crazy person. It was very much busy and no time to eat even. But I enjoyed the job as there were room to learn every year.
Pros
Very much cooperative and room for learning and interesting
Cons
Job pressure was very high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Canada31 July 2017
Interact with many people. Few staff members. Lots of help. No time off in tax season. Ok place to work. Not much learning. Clean environment. Need more training
Pros
Busy
Cons
No Time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable mostly if you like talking customers and want to help them.
Tax Consultant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 June 2017
*typical days was busy especially from January to April. and after that quiet for the rest of the year.
*My customers experience was improved a lot learned how to deal different kind of clients.
*Management was excellent "team work" is the priority in the office.
the hardest part of this company is seasonal no schedule during June to December.
the most enjoyable in this job is when I help my client regarding in theirs income tax problem. and once they leave the office with smile in their face that I called I enjoyed my job.
Pros
flexible
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB9 June 2017
A typical day at work by greeting clients, preparation of T1 tax returns, process payments, and bookkeeping using excel. No set lunch/break times, scheduled shifts.
Pros
Great working hours
Cons
Long distance commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Liberty Tax Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,763 reviews
51.2K
4721
3496
2156
1160

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture