LB Foster Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as good as they think
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire31 July 2019
On the surface lbfoster presents itself as a great employer, but you only have to scratch 1mm below this thin veneer to find the real culture of the company.

They say that you need good leaders to inspire and encourage the work force with a vision of how you want a company to be seen. I'm afraid lbfoster have employed managers,account managers and engineers with the qualities any decent human being would be appalled by.

Coming back late from lunch and declaring the reason for your lateness is due to slagging off a member of staff, is nothing short of cowardly and unprofessional, but this is just an example of what one so called manager proudly announced.

A toxic manifestation of blame has also worked its way down from management, to the shop floor. Everyone is so eager to blame another member of staff that they have not stopped to think of any solution, but as long as their not in the firing line,it doesn't matter.

I have never before worked for a company which constantly talks BS, about the company core values of being open and transparent. Lb foster and the management are about as transparent as the Mersey in a storm. Questioning procedure is met with a wall of silence. Gossip and backstabbing are the norm, (please see above for an example) and to top it all off, the lack of communication and training are a disgrace. Lb Foster have little regard for their customer which in most part is the UK tax payer, who in my opinion pay for overpriced equipment, when a trip to the local B&Q would save millions of pounds and be better in quality.

The rail business
  more... in the UK is still stuck in the Victorian age compared with the rest of the world. We should be looking at the long term future of our railway and not just at a quick and easy fix, which in the long term works out far more expensive. Japan has the Bullet train and magnetised rail track, but instead we seem to be stuck with Thomas the Tank Foster.

Be kind to yourself, you are much better than this company, life is too short to be unhappy at work, which is exactly what this company will make you.
  less
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
Where do I start.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TX18 July 2019
LB Foster Threaded Division, is small team of 20 people, Our Teamwork environment is what makes this facility successful and pleasant to work here. Secondly, Loyal Customers and our great reputation makes our jobs easy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Supervisor - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Farringdon, Greater London12 July 2019
Good company to work for enjoyed my experience and learnt some new skills .
Pros
double time on sundays
Cons
to many romanians who are lazy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really liked the job but i got laid off because the job ran out
Floor Worker (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, AL15 June 2019
It was a nice and enjoyable place to work i like the hours and the people exspeaily the hours they went from week to week and even on the weekends.As a full time worker they had much to offer paid off and 401k plans and more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, AL2 March 2019
Poor management. Dangerous place to work. Poor work culture. Poor compensation. All temporary workers. No advancement. Accidents not reported correctly to osha. Inexperienced managers.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LB fosters is a great place to work
Loader Operator/ Yard inventory (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, CO12 February 2019
LB foster is a great place for employment with diverse staff and lots of room for advancement and learning opportunities, if you are willing to grow they will offer the furtilizer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Leming, TX3 February 2019
You were expected to work long hours. Employees were rude to each other. Management does nothing about it. It makes fir a hostile work environment every day.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad management, rude employees that spread rumors about other employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling role with plenty of twists and turns
Project engineer (Current Employee) –  London31 January 2019
A very well structured company to work for with lots of ambition to acheive great things, lots of colourful characters that makes a working day move quickly!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!
Office Supervisor\Manager (Former Employee) –  Willis, TX23 January 2019
Love every aspect of my employment at LB Foster. The management team was excellent with planning and directions. The mission statement to its employees meant a great deal. The company takes pride in educating and continuous education for each employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL Field Services Driver
CDL Class B Driver (Former Employee) –  West Virginia26 October 2018
This was a bad job from the beginning. You can make a ton of overtime thanks to how amateur the management are. There is no support when you are broke down. Drivers have tons of more responsibilities then any other trucking job. This is NOT a trucking company. You are on your own when stuff breaks down. This is a very dangerous job. Its amazing no one has been killed here. Many of the office people are book smart but don't have any field experience to relate to how bad it is. There is also a lot of corruption by family members working here. You have brother/brother and father/son managers working here. A typical week here, you leave out Sunday late morning to drive to the work location. Work Monday-Friday for the railroad, then drive home in a rental car late Friday night. When they are short handed , you stay on the road for a month straight and don't get paid to sit in the hotel on the weekend. It's not uncommon to wait 1-3 weeks on the truck to be repaired when you are broke down. the company does guarantee 40 hours a week pay. The training here is only 1-2 weeks then you are on your own. They expect you to clean your truck, car show style. they have cameras in the cab to spy on you and record the audio. the company speed limit is 67 mph, none of the trucks have good seats, so expect major back problems while driving. The final point I'd like to make is, you are going to be referred to as a "Scab" by the railroad people.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
corrupt managers, no life, junk trucks, dangerous job, not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worker
Yard Hand (Former Employee) –  Midland, TX19 October 2018
Being in the oil field industry, work depends on price of cruise oil. Just expect to work over 70hrs a week sometimes or of townweeks at a time. Me unfortunately check was always short. Weeksto recieve perdiem while out of town and months to get recompensated on expenses. I even had times i had to wait 3-4weeks for a check. With shortage on laborers, expect to be everywhere at any hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working shop
Production Worker/Hydro Tester (Former Employee) –  Willis, TX4 September 2018
LB FOSTER Company manufactures skids of all sorts, and various other types of equipment for the oil and gas industry, to be shipped out in to the field to their loyal customers. You must be a hardworker and be prepared to be put to work or be prepared to be let go very quickly if you don't satisfy management with you work ethic.
Pros
Benefits, Lots of overtime
Cons
Only break is at lunch, the rest of the time is non-stop work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, TX27 February 2018
Great for advancing and many opportunities. Started as a temp and worked my way to full time in under 6 weeks. Great location and was able to take off when my wife had our daughter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated processes, Outdated management
Supply Chain Production Control Planner (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA9 February 2018
Management and processes have been outdated for too long. The consistent company answer to any issue is "we've been doing it that way for years" but when that way is incorrect, they refuse to change it. Awful training program if hired with little knowledge of the position's duties. Primarily older professionals with outdated ways of thinking, outdated strategies, etc. not to mention the rail business is a declining market overall.
Pros
Good work/life balance, benefits, time off
Cons
Awful management, training, thinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Newport, KY8 February 2018
Management was great to work for, always complimented on a job well done, very hot & dusty in summer & cold in winter, building open to elements due to nature of job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, but dont look at it as a career...
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, AL8 February 2018
LB Foster is a great company, but we all know that the pipe industry not all that stable so can't blame LB Foster when things go bad, the Birmingham location just coat pipes for ACIPCO so when ACIPCO does bad so does LB Foster...
Pros
Good Lunch & Break Times, Easy Work Environment, & Benefits
Cons
Up-n-down stability, Temp-To-Hire For All Production Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Project Manager/Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA29 December 2017
Company is great to work for, would recommend this company to anyone looking to get into a large company in a the Pittsburgh area. Benefits. Paid time off. etc..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Yard Hand Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Willis, TX21 December 2017
over work, under paid, and no type of relationships besides work and usually those were negative. the work never ended and you didnt get paid for the work well amount of work you did.
Pros
none
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my cup of Tea
Plant Foreman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, AL23 October 2017
I'm a construction guy so putting me in a factory environment where you do the same thing day in and day out just didn't work for me. The management staff does the best they can with the type of employees they get to work for them
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Factory work in general
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disregard for major Stakeholders
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA 1522021 October 2017
The company is ISO certified but does not walk the walk. Consistently enact ineffective corrective actions for customer complaints, but fail and refuse to recognize it. Does not care for the customers.
Hires temporary labor and has many layoffs to cut costs and corners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LB Foster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 47 reviews
514
412
37
27
17

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.1Culture