Laura Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 March 2018
Poor management and moral. They apply a lot of un nessary rules to your day to day work challenges. Gives you the feeling of being watched and controlled at all times. You are made to compete with your co workers for low costumer base. It is mandatory to wear their expensive clothing but salary doesn't match up to the amount considered to purchase.
Pros
None
Cons
Boring hours, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laura is a great company that bailed itself out of trouble themselves.
Head of Visual (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC1 March 2018
I like Laura as it is a great company. I have learned a lot and gained great experience. I believe that with upper management there is a lot lost in communication between them. I myself am told three different directions and all are supposed to be right. Except the one I go with.
Pros
I am a manager and a leader of two very hard working women.
Cons
The Health insurance is way too expensive. I had to cancel it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conditions de travail très tendues
COORDONNATRICE CONSTRUCTION ET ENTRETIEN (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC27 February 2018
Journée de travail très tendue
Employés agités
Les choses ont peut être changées depuis.
Pros
expérience intéressante tout de même, on apprend toujours
Cons
Condition et environnement de travail non intéressant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Coordonnatrice (Current Employee) –  Brossard, QC10 February 2018
Excellente entreprise mais je veux travailler plus dans mon domaine.
Pros
Proche de ma résidence
Cons
pas d'avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON5 January 2018
Everyday I learned something new about:

Fashionable women clothing.
How to approach a customer
How to offer and highlight new arrivals
Let them know about promotions and sales

It was always fun and exciting getting up to go to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 November 2017
Team work very important. Very busy but rewarding and individuality is recognized. Team management and planning is crucial for all aspects of running the store to increase sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worh ethics
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON21 November 2017
Working at Laura was a professional and great opportunity. Customer service was number one priority. Dealing with customers was a challenge at times, but bottom line is our customer satisfactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating work but for little pay
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 October 2017
Management team is exceptional and extremely hardworking. The work is quite demanding but stimulating and exciting. The company is not very generous in compensation. There is definitely the opportunity for advancement as I, myself, have been promoted to Assistant Manager within 15 months of being with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales associte (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON13 September 2017
Working at Laura's was somewhat different than what I am used to doing. Assisting women in ladies apparel is challenging as it requires more one on one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
monotonous and redundant
Merchandising Coordinator (Current Employee) –  BC13 September 2017
initially you might enjoy your work but after a few months it becomes very redundant and monotonous. the management is always keeping an eye on you. doing something right is not appreciated but when you make a mistake its never forgotten. HIghly stressful environment.
Cons
just use of manpower not talent !
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast passed
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC21 August 2017
Some days are busier then others.
Organized daily tasks in order to complete them (s.p.h or visual presentation.) Management team do daily coaching and support staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managmanet of midle age to older women in womens clothing
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON16 July 2017
It was a pleasure to manage and work with older women to whom I could call my grandma.

They where all lovely hard working women that had been working at Laura's for many years some over 10 years.

The pay was just average for the sales staff, they are very thrifty with pay and raises. Women working there for over 10 years only got like 10 cent raises and would complain to me all the time about other women stealing sales, all their woes and problems but they where generally nice older women.

There was never any room to really grow even though as appart of management you where always being trained to do managers job and did it on a regular basis.

Not my cup of tea for a forever job, but if you are just a happy go lucky gal that likes to get out interact with the public and loves fashion this is a good part time job for you.

note: there is alot of heavy lifting and cleaning especially during busy seasons and holidays.
Pros
Ingteracting with people
Cons
Dealing with the clean up
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a lot of fun helping ladies picking up their outfits.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta, Canada27 June 2017
Being a honest person and having amazing skills dealing with people, helped me create a long list of customers that will come back to the store every season.
Pros
Schedule accommodate
Cons
Very low commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2017
The clientele and target demographic were not who i was used to working with. I enjoyed my time there very much and I hope they can get back on a profitable track as a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RIen
Conseillère à la vente (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 June 2017
J'aide les clientes à choisir les vêtements qui leur faut.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise familiale
Traducteur (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC15 June 2017
Le changement de direction et d'optique de l'entreprise, ainsi qu'être passé près de la faillite, a grandement changé l'atmosphère et la vision de l'entreprise.
Pros
excellente atmosphère, ambiance amicale
Cons
inquiétude sur l'avenir de la cie vers la fin
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2017
Lots of pressure. Low payment. Financial instability. Stores closing. Overall the internal growth is limited. Not much opportunity to learn. The environment is okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 June 2017
Laura Canada. This Fashion store makes you more close to customer and know what they really want from the store. Good management. Some customer are difficult but they are manageable.

flexible shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle équipe de travail
Designer graphique (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC13 May 2017
Très belle équipe de travail mais je n'ai pas d'avantages sociaux et de sécurité d'emploi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high stress, long hours
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2017
Management is great at helping move forward when I was working there but has since gone down hill. They do not work with your schedule, and are not helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Laura Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 94 reviews
518
441
330
25
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture