Lady York Foods Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible workplace
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2019
Do not recommend applying here.

Half the people hired are completely oblivious to what's going on half the time. Maybe a handful of people who work there are intelligent and know what they're doing.

Management is horrible. No matter what, you can do the biggest favors for them but as soon as you do something small as even calling in sick, they crucify you. Always playing the guilt trip card on you in that case.Management is also not the easiest to talk to. Also some people there should already be retired and have no people skills to even be considered managers. Completely ridiculous.

You are also busting your butt off to make peanuts. Every employee is undervalued and never appreciated.

Hardest part of the job is dealing with stupidity everyday.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work at
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2019
This store does not treat employees fairly. They turn a blind eye to their favourites and then they watch over you like a hawk and micro manage everything you do.

i do not recommend that anyone to apply to this company.


management is very disrespectful towards their employees

they tell you to bust your behind for them and then they never even take the time to say thank you or good job.

then moment you stop working for one second they ridicule you and make you feel like a worthless piece of trash.
Pros
none
Cons
poor management, terrible work environment, unfriendly, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Dufferin St - Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 September 2018
a typical day at work would be stocking shelves helping customers with stuff that they are looking for I learned alot, like to be social cause you have to when you help people also independent and doing it mostly yourself .management was okay not perfect because i have gotten bullied in there by the manger. the hardest part of the job would be looking for the product for the people because most of the time it wasn't on the shelf. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to do different stuff other than stock and face the shelf.
Pros
get paid for working longer and a longer lunch
Cons
gets mad at you if you do something wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff and flexible hours
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2018
The staff were all very fun and welcoming, but management was not the best. They were very flexible with my school schedule, though. was an overall good experience.
Pros
close to home
Cons
long weekend hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Retail Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2017
In the day of a grocery clerk, you are expected to assist any customers with their questions, stock shelves, clean up the inventory room, clear carts, etc.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
Weekend Shifts, Abusive customers, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy workplace environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2017
All workers were very friendly and willing to help with all tasks. A typical day at work had very few surprises, there was usually a set routine that each worker much follow. The hardest part of the job was assisting customers who didn't speak English very well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Italian Grocery Store
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2017
I've learned some Italian words, and I've learned a lot about different food products. The managers are really friendly and joke around, but at the same time, keep everything running really smoothly and they take their job seriously. The hardest part about the job is dealing with picky customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is encountering cheerful customers and bonding with my co-workers.
Pros
gift certificate to Yorkdale mall as a Christmas present from the owner of the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 December 2016
Management isn't the greatest, would not recommend working here. They do not treat employees with respect. No room for growth at this job. Very irate co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and safe working environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2016
The management at Lady York foods is great! They are all very respectable of school hours and other commitments. I have been employed with this company for 6 months now and I have learned communication skills, confidence and customer service skills that will benefit me in the future. The most enjoyable part of this job would be being able to meet new people everyday as well as being able to connect to frequent customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn customer service skills
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2016
I love this place, it has taught me a lot on how to properly act in a work place. This job has taught me good customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report

See more Lady York Foods reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lady York Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 12 reviews
53
45
31
20
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Lady York Foods Reviews by Location