La Prep Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment and great food and drinks
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 November 2018
A classical coffee restaurant focus on healthy and fresh theme
Pleased working environment and very nice customers
Staffs work in high efficiency with great customer services
Hardest part would be not enough staffs to provide the best services for customer, too narrow working hour for employee
High quality customers
Pros
free lunch
Cons
shortage help in rush hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working with La prep
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 October 2018
work culture was awesome got to learn many things. The owners was so helpful and knowledgeable about the CSM. Team taught me everything in a proper manner; that's what they learn from the owner too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Staff (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2018
It gets busy during breakfast and lunch so everything should be ready before rush hour. It's exhausting because you have to do a lot of task but I enjoyed my stay since I worked with nice people. Plus I like meeting different kinds of customers so that what really what I love about this.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Pay is not that high
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great, just OK.
Cashier, Barista (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 July 2018
I worked here part-time for 6 months before I quit. Should be paying at least $15-$16/H. They trained me at first but then held me back and stopped training me further, eventually prevented me from doing any kind of food handling/service at all. Very small kitchen space and questionable food handling and health/sanitation practices. Their online pay system is also terrible, they mainly only hire woman.
Pros
$5 - $10 in tips a week, 50% off, free coffee
Cons
No teamwork, Low Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid investing in this company
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2018
in the last year(s) location profitability was consistently eroded in favour of increasing revenue to corporate. Very limited resources available to grow the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced food place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 September 2017
Was very slow paced and got bad hours (8 hours per week)
Only one employee booked in at a time and had a max of 5 hours
Was not trained properly to serve hot drinks
Was left out of the loop and changes made to the company
Pros
50% off
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay for full-time students
Server (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 July 2017
Slow business toward exam season if your branch is located on-campus. Managers are understanding about schedule flexibility. Ideal for students. One free sandwich after 1 completed shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in a Franchise
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2017
The boss of the franchise was very picky. He often wanted all the people in store to change. However, it was not for customer, but for saving money. If he felt there was not that much people coming, he would layoff some of the employers. He even asked the staff to weigh the meat before putting in the sandwiches. Actually, not all the sandwiches could be sold, so we tried to make the amount that wouldn't be wasted too much. But the boss wanted to have plenty display all-day, that caused more left-over next day. So, not every sandwich you buy in-store is daily fresh.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pay, early shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Sous chef (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 January 2017
I enjoyed my job at la prep but the hours weren't compatible with mine. Miscommunication between my manager and I was an issue and it did not benefit either of us so we mutually terminated my position.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
shortage of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Manager
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 September 2016
I worked at Women's college hospital location and it was the worst experience. DON'T WORK HERE. Manager has favourites and if those favoured don't like you then they can pretty much get you fired. The customers are nice, lots of doctors, and elderly people,but what happens behind the scenes is not. If you don't know everything in a week of working you will get fired.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Very prejudice. possible racism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of the operations, pay roll, schedule, balance depots, training the staff
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec20 September 2015
There was a lot of variety in what i did each day, dealing with coustomers and be sure that their experience in the restaurant was pleasent at most
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amiente de trabajo muy bueno
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 August 2015
Los propietarios de la franquicia te hacían sentir como parte de la familia.
Pros
Buen ambiente de trabajo
Cons
Mala organización en los horarios.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was in a food court
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2013
got to learn to work with fast pace of customers and preparing various types of sandwithes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more La Prep reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at La Prep. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 16 reviews
51
44
36
22
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.4Salary/Benefits
2.0Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.8Culture