LA Fitness Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search See all 3,775 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and corporate can be terrible, other coworkers are a joy and make it fun to work their
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 November 2018
Typical work day is making phone calls, updating billing information, greeting members as they enter and leave
What I've learned is how to be a key holder, work with people in different situations, improve customer services skills, and be tolerable with bad managers
Most enjoyable part of the job is the great coworkers that make it worth while
Pros
Free membership, access to every club, can bring two guests
Cons
Management can be very poor, cheap company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful
Operations / Front Desk / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 October 2018
I did not like working there. I did enjoy the customers/ members. 4:50am openings, min. wage with no increase, sales staff also there which is more personality conflicts. Always gossiping going on with all the staff. Managers come in late all the time, being a poor example.
Pros
staff come and go regularly due to managers. Free membership at all LAF's.
Cons
Starting your 'calls' to customers who owe, at 8am. Only $5 commission on 3-5 hours of calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Personal Trainer/Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2019
Worst job I've ever worked for.
super high turnover so you never see the same faces almost weekly.
manangement likes to micro manage and are extremely unprofessional
work life balance? no they expect you to do nothing but work
Management beyond the people who work in the clubs are USELESS
oh and no lunch room, no microwave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous experience ended very badly
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON13 August 2018
This employer had an awful operations manger who after 6 hours of training gave extreme responsibility and then punished when you didn't do what was the standard even though they hadn't taught you. The amount of times I had to deal with extremely angry customers who had canceled their memberships and were still getting charged was incredible. There was broken equipment relating to disability access that was broken for months and never fixed, the gym was not equipped with disabled friendly doors either. this employer would schedule you shifts up to 24 hours before with no notice and take shifts from you up to 24 hours before with no notice.
Pros
gym membership
Cons
horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changed my life
MEMBERSHIP SALES (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON10 August 2018
Working at LA Fitness, it really taught me about all the different types of people, and more importantly, their stories. I would have never thought I'd hear the things I did before working for that company. Learning what really drives people and what is making them commit to a life change is inspiring. Working at LA Fitness I even got myself to lose 40 pounds. I'm not sure if this is across the board but at my particular location everyone felt like a family. The idea of prospecting was a little hard at first. However as soon as I got into the motions it became easier and easier to generate new leads.
Pros
Free Gym membership
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be a go getter
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 December 2018
Working for LA Fitness allows you to push yourself past your boundaries, it is not for people who are not willing to push past 100%. .................
Pros
builds your sales skills, negotiation skills, marketing skills
Cons
no weekends off, not good for people who are introverts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2019
You wouldn’t get adequate training and, slammed with making other employees phone calls and appointments without getting compensated. Lots of wasted time That would lead to Time theft
Pros
Sit around getting paid
Cons
Boredom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No a very god place to work
Cleaner/Janitor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 October 2018
It's not a bad company to work for but manager it sent very friendly. I have not learnt anything from the company. I got accused of stealing and not doing my job.
Pros
Ggod pay
Cons
Not a very good manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not get this job
pt (Former Employee) –  north london24 October 2018
u have to pay a huge premium to work in this gym they will charge u 1000 in rent before u walk in the door...this is a total scam do not do it. good luck in ur future
Pros
nice gym
Cons
it is impossible to make money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Rep/Personal Trainer/Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 September 2018
I like this job also but I ended up getting pregnant with my son so I had to leave due to morning sickness and ended up going back to school to get a degree
Pros
Great people
Cons
Desk I like moving around
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about LA Fitness?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
la fitness
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  East Gwillimbury, ON15 August 2018
Customer service does most of the work while the sales / membership department does nothing but hang out the janitors are over worked with poor pay, management are the only people who make money
Pros
free work out
Cons
over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great location
Fitness Director (Former Employee) –  stamford,CT14 June 2018
very demending work long hours but cast are great guest are very friendly. very high expectation to reach sales goal, as a fitness director your responsible for the trainers as well as members which can very overwhelming at times
Pros
unlimited Access to the facility
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
District Operations & Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 May 2018
Great company to work for however for operations managers the compensation for what they do is not comparable. If they sorted out the benefits and pay associated to that, they would be A+++
Pros
9-5, weekends off, free gym membership
Cons
compensation, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and cut throat
Membership Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2018
Unless you're from the area that you work in, getting leads is almost impossible. Management never helps you when people take leads and company's standards are through the roof. Minimum 50 calls per day and nearly no one picks up your calls and YOU get in trouble for making too many calls and booking no appointment. Pay structure is dumb, commission or hourly only. If you barely make over your commission you pretty much worked for minimum wage. This job expects you to have no life, 6 days a week 9 hour shifts. Horrible job.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money, ways to grow in the company
Sales and Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 June 2018
Good for sales experience, you'll meet a lot of good managers and people guiding you in a good sales driven way. For the most part the days are long, chill job overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Engaging
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON7 May 2018
Each day was full of positive individuals with a healthy attitude towards society. The fellow employees were very helpful as well as communicative allowing a positive experience when returning the following day.
Pros
Straight forward labour
Cons
High Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Customer Service/Client Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Fargo, ON22 June 2018
it was alright.....great place free membership. low salary though it was a lot of noise I worked with children and the parents took advantage of the membership perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
skip this company
Master Trainer (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON29 May 2018
decent experience for a first time personal trainer
pay is not great but a good place to make connections and find clients for the future
awful management
Pros
flexible
Cons
poorly managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace but very long hours
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2018
In Sales Dept. at LA Fitness it is a revolving door as a minimum shift is 9 hours (1 unpaid hour for lunch included in there - obligatory) to 11 - hours. 5 days/ week for Sales Councils which is ok; however 6 days/ week for managers. You may feel micromanaged, if you look at it that way however I always liked the accountability aspect of that! I wish to be known as a professional that is productive 90% of the time, therefore, having management look at how I spend my time there worked for me. If you are a sleeper (the military term, not having to do with slumber) but if you like to hide and just warm a chair then you may not like it.
Pros
Independence and GREAT training. Top!
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Master Trainer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 April 2018
LA Fitness gives you the opportunity to pursue and engage your passion for fitness. As a trainer it is an extremely rewarding experience. Being able to see your clients achieve there goals makes the job worth it.
Pros
Seeing clients excel
Cons
long hors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LA Fitness. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 3,780 reviews
5838
4981
31K
2476
1450

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture