KP Building Products Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current packer at Kp
Packer (Current Employee) –  Acton Ontario2 May 2018
I’ve worked at Kp building products for three months as a packer now, my time here has been great, I have a great shift, with good coworkers. My Forman is a great guy and looks out for his employees. The job itself was sort of overwhelming at first, but you get the hang of it really quick. It’s definitely not the worst job you can have, I don’t dread going to work, and I can say I’m content doing what I do. I %100 recommend Kp to people when they are looking for work, it pays very well, and it’s pretty easy.
Pros
Lots of breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and well paid
employee (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, ON28 April 2018
seasonal of course but well paid position. Fast paced work but 8 hrs per day. Good shift work. Unionized enviroment limtis shift movement to benefit employees,
Pros
well paid, fast pace
Cons
some people just don't want to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Are these reviews for real?
Administrative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 April 2018
Although the KP division in Acton was top notch, Plastmo is not somewhere I’d be lining up to work. Poor, poor management in Quality and upper level management; they’re unqualified for their positions. The Production Supervisors try their absolute best but they’re spinning their wheels. Morale of employees is extremely low.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Lack of employee morale, poor management, unqualified individuals in positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if this is Plastmo it is a place you do not want to work
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON31 March 2018
Ok KP building products may be a good place to work but if it is the Plastmo division this is a place you do not not to be an employee of.
The machine shop is pathetic at best .The machine shop manager is not easy to get along with and likes to play god.
I'm really surprised that this division has not folded the way it is going.
Pros
none
Cons
A bad work enviroment, home of the bandaid fix
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON30 January 2018
Worked at KP Building Products for just over a year. I was a packer, which meant I packed the products in boxes and got them prepared for shipping. The product was vinyl siding for construction. Often times, the line would jam up, which required me to have to call for an operator and fix the damages in the meantime. being a 12 hour rotating shift, your worst hour on the job could be at 3am on a Wednesday.
The workplace culture was a little depressing, but there was some good moments.
Pros
paid well, had benefits and a pension.
Cons
Long Hours, High intensity environment which physical strain. No Social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job security with room to grow. Welcoming people
Manager (Current Employee) –  Acton, ON23 October 2017
Decent benefit & pension programs.
A lot of experienced employees who are very welcoming.
Manager is patient and easy to talk to.
This company promotes within, great for employees on the floor
Pros
Good people
Cons
Normal manufacturing challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance, a lot of seasoned workers who are there to help.
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Acton, ON21 October 2017
Good place to work, work load is steady but very manageable. Many employees with over 20 years of experience to help train and mentor. Culture on the floor is positive. Work/life balance is good. Freindly, team environment. Company believes in promoting from within. Apprenticeship programs. Manager is very approachable.
Pros
Friendly staff, promote from within at all levels in all departments.
Cons
Older facility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a steady job, paid well.
Packer (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON26 September 2017
I enjoyed the time that I spent at KP Building Products, the people/coworkers made the experience enjoyable. All just there to make a pretty penny and have a laugh doing it. The factory needs some new management and maintence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt recommend this place to anybody
former maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON27 June 2017
worked for this place for over 20 years,they don't respect the employees,plant manager has no clue and tries to pass the blame on to everyone else for his screw ups and has no idea whats going on complete idiot,people are good but get treated badly
Pros
good people
Cons
management is very poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a job. There are WAY WORSE jobs out there
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON1 May 2017
Go to work, do your job, head down *** up . . . easy work for what its worth. The shifts don't get along and the workers pay of no mind or help the other shifts out. leaving things properly set up or ready for the next shift to come. Coffee on night shifts was awesome, just wish it was a daily thing instead of circumstantial. It's a job, there are WAY worse out there.
Pros
easy work
Cons
continental shift work, no social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying Job
Packing Operator (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON29 December 2016
A well paying position with good benefits and lots of opportunities to advance. Everyday is different with new orders which makes the monotony of packing product everyday very vague.
Pros
Lots of breaks
Cons
12 hour shifts, Heavy labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON14 August 2016
I really loved working for this company. the workers were always welcoming and friendly i loved the fast paced work and being independent i would recommend this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun, poor management
Warehouse laborer (Former Employee) –  Milton, Ontario10 March 2015
Wouldn't bother working hard here since everyone else likes to do nothing. don't enjoy working here, at least breaks are paid for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
union
packager (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON2 April 2013
good job. A bit challenging and its continental shifts but pays well. lay off every fall till seniority builds
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KP Building Products. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 15 reviews
51
47
32
21
14

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.1Culture

KP Building Products Reviews by Location