KMS Tools & Equipment Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run. Run far away
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC4 February 2019
Place is a joke to work at.

It is run by people that are more concerned about being your buddy and not hurting your feelings than actually disciplining people to help maintain effiency.

It's all about who you know, then you could get away with literally anything.

Wage is weak and small for a warehouse position even if you are more than qualified. They try and boast that they pay more than most warehouses which is a complete and utter lie as they are on the lower end of the spectrum.

If you do get the job and aren't happy with your wage just threaten to put your two weeks notice in and they'll give you a raise and/or a promotion as they did it with a couple people before.
Pros
Coworkers are a fun group
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bunch of goofs
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC1 February 2019
if you wanna be bossed around by supervisors who don't know a thing about leading.
if you can handle low pay while others are paid more to do nothing but stand around and talk......
Boss of warehouse is nice but always too nice. can get away with anything. Place is a joke
Pros
can text a lot, stand around talk a lot
Cons
supervisors don't do a thing
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job and awesome if in school; not a career
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam14 January 2019
Flexible schedule. Fun people. Pay is better than min wage. Need to be family connected or went to high school with managers to get a shot at opportunities.
Pros
Some fun people, bonuses (christmas)
Cons
Management, nepotism, no human resources-- can get away with bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Retail Job Out There
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  BC2 January 2019
I have worked for many retailers in my career, and their scheduling is the best, no Sundays ever, how many can say that ? Also no night shifts, having worked for the big boxes that gets really tiring year after year.
Pros
Sell What You Enjoy
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Victotia BC2 January 2019
I really enjoy working at KMS Tools. The days are never dull. There is always something that needs doing, and the customers are great for the most part.

The other staff are a good bunch too, and we all get along well.
Pros
Snacks on Fridays, stat holidays off, discount on tools, consistent schedule.
Cons
It's better now, but in the past we have been short staffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 February 2018
overall very relaxed place to work, as long as you keep your pace and don't drag your feet, over the years I have learned lots from both staff and customers almost every aspect of a majority of trades, though my specialty falls under welding and manufacturing, customer service is the best part of the job, and for the worst is probably cleaning up after other peoples mistakes. other than that it has been a fantastic workplace.
Pros
all you can drink coffee, soda, and free snacks on fridays
Cons
occasional grumpy customers and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and meet customers
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
Most of the workers are pleasant to work with and the owner of the company tries to balance work place and family life which I personally find thoughtful, but wage is low especially in the warehouse.
Pros
close to home
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work environment
IT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC2 July 2017
I liked the size of the country and people working over there. If you're working hard, they have a lot of opportunities for you. They are fast growing company in the tools industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you enjoy tools but don't need a big payday this is the spot
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2017
days consisted of stocking shelves and selling tools. if you enjoy tools and don't need big pay this is the spot. great to learn about everything out there. however it is a retail job in Edmonton so hard to make a living off of.
Pros
great people
Cons
average pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
locally owned company, family orientated
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC7 February 2017
count cash for opening tilt

greet customers

ring items through

remember codes for items

create member accounts

adjust inventory, back-orders

locate online orders

close cash / balancing
Pros
never opened on sudays
Cons
not much flexibility with hours, expect more then assigned position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and great staff
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC2 June 2016
-Reconcile or note and report discrepancies found in records
-Supervise, investigate and approve all credit applications
-Monitor account aging reports. Communicate to Account Sales Manager
-Maintain AR customer files including PST information
-Receive and process Payments on Accounts ( POAs) and EFT payments
-Ensure outstanding A/R over 60+ days are put on Credit Hold
-Generating and sending out monthly statements by mail or email
-Research and resolve customer queries regarding accounts details
-Assist customers in arranging financing for projects including leasing options
-Confirms/updates Accounts Payable supplier information as necessary in database
-Includes recording and tracking of payment terms and early pay discounts
-Purchase order confirmations and backorder follow-up using PO follow up report
-Reconciles and submits for payment Environmental Levies
-Investigates and Corresponds as necessary with KMS physical warehouses to confirm receipt of shipment where discrepancies exist between invoicing and receipts of goods
--Reviews Unvouchered PO report monthly and investigates as required
-Manage collection calls
-Reconciliation of Kamloops Account for intercompany transactions
-Audit store errors
-Audit posting errors and correct
-Audit store accounts
-Other task/projects may be assigned as necessary
Pros
Staff rates on products
Cons
Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
KMS Tools is an amazing company and business
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC27 May 2016
One of a kind Industrial, automotive and consumer best choice shopping for Tools and equipment in all industries.
Everyone has expertise in all departments and learning, amazing team work.
Purchasers are the best I have ever seen, from basic stock purchasing, marketing, pricing and always keeping up with the newest products and evaluating product sales.
Management is doing their best.
KMS Tools is growing like a monster that has left management behind. They need a professional corporate management team.
If that happens, Home Hardware, Home Depot and all the big box stores won't know what hit them
Wish I could have finished my career there!
Hope they move into Ontario and the east of Canada.
We need them here.
Pros
free cans of pop and bottled water, plus smokies once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
floor supervisor
Warehouse supervisor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB29 February 2016
I enjoyed working there and working with the people. very flexible on hours and i enjoyed going to work. I would work for this company again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but no room for advancement
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC7 May 2015
Liked working with customers and coworkers. Sometimes was overwhelmingly busy but there was usually help if I needed it. I learned a great deal about the shipping industry.
Pros
Got to work mostly unsupervised, discount on tools
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant stress .. toxic environment
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC25 June 2014
One of the most stressful workplaces I have worked in. Management believes that they can extract the most productivity from a worker by not training, discouraging lunch breaks, not allowing coffee breaks not allowing employees to sit down, encouraging constant and continual interuption of deadlined tasks, shorting vacation hours with very poor explanation, no support from management regarding difficult or abussive customers, constant suspicion and blame and accusation from head office, installing site blocking software on computers thereby reducing effective sales opportunities, not giving proper benifits in a timely manner ie 90 days after employment, leading/missleading and false promising employees about benifits. Co-workers are all fantastic people who deserve to be organized and represented as a worker group.
Pros
..
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Standards
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2014
The job tasks of customer service and stock put away was exceptional, it kept me busy enough. However, the standards in the environment were low. There was little respect or integrity within the group of people I worked with. Management was non existent due to understaffing.

Customer complaints were a daily occurrence and often not dealt with professionally.

I learned a lot about the woodworking tools needed for my goal of apprenticing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KMS Tools & Equipment. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 17 reviews
55
43
35
21
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
3.0Culture