KMC Mining Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty dusty wildlife black bears
Shop Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 April 2019
long boring days, everyone for themselves, work hard as you want and get little to no praise for your efforts, management will make some workers look bad to make themselves look good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Welder (Former Employee) –  Suncor17 April 2019
Most disorganized place I've ever worked. Management likes to micromanage everything. The quality of work was complete garbage. They would let trucks go out the door that had massive frame crack damage ect...but for sake of having the trucks running they tell you to not worry about it
Pros
2 weeks off
Cons
Management is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed
Haul truck operator (Former Employee) –  Sparwood B.C.25 March 2019
Management heavy operation, micro-managed from start to finish every single shift. Confusing directions, unsure who to listen to, was never a shift that the foreman's orders weren't changed by someone above him.
Pros
wages and benefits
Cons
mocromanaged from the top levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy hauler operator
Heavy Hauler Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 April 2018
A horrible toxic environment to work. Supervisor had terrible people skills. Very rude and ignorant. Equipment was junk never really fixed only only band aid. 14/7 schedule the first weekend you worked was straight time. Sent home if truck went down.
Pros
Making ok money
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 April 2018
Team leaders are great, very competent in there job which make it easy for us workers. The job sometimes became very stressful at times but everyone was very understanding and helped you get through it all.
Pros
Great money
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bonne expérience
Chauffeur classe 1 (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 April 2018
Pas le choix dernier entré,premier sorti quand le travail ralenti...très content de mon expérience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Suncor24 March 2018
Absolutely terrible. Management very unorganized. Next to no tooling. Equipment very sketchy. Drugs found on site from time to time. Hard to tell whos not on drugs. Not a nice place to spend two weeks.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Lies, tooling, drugs and alcohol
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 March 2018
KMC mining was always good to me and gave me opportunity to excel and move up with the company when it came to operating equipment. The management was always there to help me if i need it and in a professional manner.
I learned a lot from other operators which made me a better operator myself. The most enjoyable part of my job was when i got sent to do small projects in different towns. It challenged my abilities in a lot of different ways. The hardest part of the job that i had to get used to was working night shifts. I grew up logging for most of my life so night shift wasnt an issue but all i needed was time to get used to it.All in all i would recommend KMC to anyone wanting to start a career in mining.
Pros
Operating some of the nicest excavators built
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with, poorly organized management, poor tooling, poor communication between shifts
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Suncor7 February 2018
A typical work day is your on your own, sink or swim, its up to you to ask the right questions, find what you need to do the job, and don't depend on to much floor level supervision for solutions. You will learn more from the tradespeople on the floor then your leadership. I leaned how to do lots with nothing to work with, that's all I can say. KMC lower management very shady, different answers from all of them on all subjects, very poor communication between shifts. Workplace culture has improved from fearful to reasonable. Now they give you time for a sandwich at least. Hardest part of job is lack of tooling, very slow, un-prioritized training program, most supervision is less qualified then most mechanics on the floor. Best part of the job is 2 weeks off, and the employees there are great, but usually move on just like good management does.
Pros
2 weeks off every 2 weeks, quite night shift, new investments in tooling
Cons
Lack of organized, experianced leadership and poor communication at all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front line supervision helps ease the pain of the terrible upper management
Serviceman/HET Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 December 2017
Despite the complete mismanagement of the corporate team, the front line supervision keep moral high, keep people motivated and treat everyone the same.
Pros
Fair treatment, ok wages, decent schedule
Cons
Poor upper management resulting in massive contracts being lost, sub par maintenence program
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees to work with...
Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 November 2017
On a typical day, you will find employees helping one another in order to complete task. The managers and supervisors are also very helpful. Overall the employees and management merge well together.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Bus Driver-Custodian (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB9 November 2017
It was a wonderful experience to work on different sites. Enjoyed working with employees and staff. Safe and clean area to work around. Good working atmosphere and positive people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive Company
Senior Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BC Fort Mcmurray Ab6 September 2017
One of the best Companies I have worked for .Supportive getting the tools you need to do your job. Very professional .Fair wage compares to industry standard.
Pros
Good wage -Supportive
Cons
Limited work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was like a second family
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Suncor basemine4 August 2017
Worked for KMC for a very long time and gained many many friends. All of my experience is bades from this company pretty much and I have a lot of respect for KMC mining.
Pros
experience
Cons
lay off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Group of guys
Journeyman Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 July 2017
-Good group of Guys
-Good hours
-Learning lots and getting to do tough jobs
-Company provided camp, camp was awesome for having to do nothing, but not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shovel op
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 May 2017
shift is from 8 to 8 days an nights. busy an productive setting . lots of different jobs to do. people are easy to get along with an usally do lots of steady work
Pros
good experiance in a fast pace productive setting.
Cons
sent home on weather days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay clear
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB Suncor7 April 2017
Work conditions - Very bad working conditions. If you are luckey to work in the shop (tent) you will have to work in high level of smoke and fumes from welding, gauging, and running equipment. There is no ventilation. But most times we work out doors next to the shop in the yard changing large components is rainy and extreme muddy conditions. With all of the graders around not one is avaiable to clear mud and snow from yard. Most water pools under the equipment, good rubber boots a must.

Tools and equiment - The tool cribe is deplorable and does not have the proper speciality tooling to complete the work. The tools that are remaining are in poorshape and dangerous. Service trucks are also in poor repair with the service bodies falling off. No heat in the winter no A/C in the summer.

Saftey- Tool box meeting preaches safety as the should, but once the coveralls are on you are expected to break all the rules. If your caught your fired. If you speak up your fired. If you get on any bodies bad side your fired.

Union- Union members voted down the same agreement 3 times. After arbertration the agreement was forced upon us with no option to strike and fight for a fare deal. The union is in the companies pocket. Do not expect any real repersentaion they will only do whats best suits their own interests.




NO JOB IS BETTER THAN ANY JOB AT KMC
Pros
14 on 14 off
Cons
Every Thing Else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great crew
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB29 March 2017
great crew we were all very close worked hard at a fast pace helped each other out as needed anyone had an questions i was glad to help them whee i was there for 7 years i fell free to ask anythingalways said no question is a stupid question
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of guys
HD Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 March 2017
good guys to work with
very limited shop tooling
worn out tools, they don't like to buy/replace
not very much technical training
lay off who they don;t like
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
mid management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get experience
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB9 March 2017
Good place to start your equipment experience. Work place a had a good atmosphere, training was acceptable. Typical day of work, was like any other days work. You check in you do your job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KMC Mining. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 60 reviews
524
414
313
22
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

KMC Mining Reviews by Location