King of Donair Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture-Great Management
Donair Master (Current Employee) –  Whyte Ave,Edmonton1 March 2019
I just started to work at King of Donair as a Donair Master & loving it .
I have a great Manager & excellent Co-workers who helps me in every step so that I get the proper training.

The expectation is high but I'm loving it. This is a new concept in Alberta but they are the first donair restaurant in Canada. So I feel
proud to work here & I am sure you will feel the same.

''COME & WORK FOR US''
Pros
Great food
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful staff bad managment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2019
ive spent a month at this company and let me tell you as the work place wonderful and the staff amazing... but management not one bit, he likes yell at his workers in front of customers embarrass them, specially when it comes to his female employee's. He likes to belittle the women employee's, talk down to them like they are stupid or do not understand. The way he approaches his employee's and treats them is terrible. the place is a wonderful place but the manager is a joke and very rude also unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job at kod ,edmonton
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Whyte Ave,Edmonton8 February 2019
Its been 2 weeks at KOD Edmonton & I am loving it every moment.
I have a great Manager, who is very hands-on on everything & of course
his expectation is High but I like challenge.He taught me
everything from scratch.

King of Donair is a 43 years concept from Halifax & this is the first
Donair restaurant in Canada. I feel proud to work for King of Donair
and I am here to stay & grow with them.
Pros
Excellent garlic fingers & Egg Rolls
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  King of Donair ,whyte Ave26 January 2019
I have been here at King of Donair, Whyte Ave for almost 7 months since they open, I have seen already few Managers
come & go but I have an excellent manager now, who has 25 years of experience.

He is tough but kind & understandable. He is very hands on. The restaurant of much better & clean now. Of course, the food quality went up 100%. He terminated all the bad employees. Now we have
excellent team & I got promoted as a supervisor with a raise.

Again, I love my job & you will love it too. Come & work for us.
Pros
Excellent Donair, Garlic Fingers, Donair Egg Rolls
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont even bother
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 January 2019
Worked there for a day and the manager was rude. Boss seemed too young and like he was busy with other things. Unhappy staff and ridiculous rules. Made me feel bad but at least I got a free t shirt
Cons
Donairs suck, poor management and unhappy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is great but the management is unprofessional.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2019
-My position there is a cashier and the job is pretty easy, a lot of cleaning and serving customers.

-It gets busy sometimes however, the manager there calls in the store checking then, if you put the cutomers first by saying "can u pls hold on for a moment, im serving a customer?" He will say he's more important.

-Management gets mad if you start questioning why you don't get paid for overtime and for the right amount of hours you worked.

-I got fired from complaining and asking why I didn't got paid with the hours I worked from the last two weeks. Manager embarasses employees infront of customers too.

-I don't really recommend working in here if the management is very unprofessional.

I hope this company will take in action on this poor management.
Pros
50% food if you're working and 25% if not.
Cons
Standing all day and no fan in the bathroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Manager, Rob (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS5 May 2016
My position was ok the experience was great but the management and unprofessionalism of the business was too much to handle therefore I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  NS26 March 2014
I liked the team atmosphere and the customers. Lots of new things to learn
Pros
Time flys
Cons
odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat very fast pased
manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS30 April 2013
Great place to work, I got to met travailers from all over the world that came in to find out why KOD for so many years has had great reviews and captured everyones hearts and taste buds!!! I worked seven days a week bar rush on the weekends (line ups out the door) eventually got offered the position to manage.
Pros
Free food.
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
pizza cook/cashier/prep cook (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth Nova Scotia2 October 2012
A typical day at work is busy and constantly on the move. I learned management skills and how to work as a team member. I am an easy going person and got along with everyone. The hardest part of the job was the long extended hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing the customers were happy with the quality of their order. gratui
Pros
gratuities
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun and customer interactive work place
server / cook (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB23 July 2012
was a fast paced work place and very social full of positive high energy team to work with, the worst part of the job was how busy it got at times but my co workers were very good to work with
Pros
great work team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at King of Donair. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 12 reviews
53
41
35
20
13

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture

King of Donair Reviews by Location