King's University College Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a certain degree of independence
Teaching Assistant Fellowship- Math & Economics (Current Employee) –  Epworth Avenue22 July 2019
Encourages students to act as peer leaders throughout the year. Responsibility is on the students to take initiative and grow as leaders in this environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work with Guidance
Research Data Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON26 February 2018
In the work study positions students can learn various skills to bring into their professional life. For me 8 hours a day in a basement doing research with breaks at my own disposal when I needed/wanted them was the dream job. Once I left the doors at 5pm I was free to do my own social life with no "calls from the office".
Pros
Interdisciplinary Work
Cons
Long hours of screen time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Kitchen Helper/Cook (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 September 2017
I had come to this job as a first time employed worker. The experience was great. I got along well with my boss. I liked this job. It was a great standing point and I built a lot of fundamentals for future employment. I worked in a kitchen settings, and majority of the time I worked independently.
Pros
Great start up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for any student!
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 June 2017
I worked as a security guard at King's University while maintaining my scheduled courses and required school work. It was a great place to work when seeking balance in being committed to one's education and workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  London, ON21 January 2017
Great place to learn and grow. King's was like a home away from home and I enjoyed coming to work each morning. Each day you have the chance to interact with bright people who will make your day better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Team
Kings Academic Mentor (Current Employee) –  London, ON4 December 2016
Great team work. Very team oriented, work with friends. Its nice working with the first years, and providing them with the best student experience. Its good to living on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Kings Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 November 2016
Productive because I was able to study while working and helping student residents out. A typical day at work would be sitting at the front desk and signing out keys to student who lost theirs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerk/Administration (Current Employee) –  Human Resources8 June 2016
Management offers flexibility and excellent work/life balance. My current position is unique and dependent on projects (as needed basis). This affords me scheduling flexibility.

Aside from the department where I work, King's has an inclusive culture and is a beautiful campus to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kings University is an exceptional place to work.
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta1 June 2016
Kings University is a very well run institution, with a faculty and staff who genuinely care about students. The library is a state of the art facility which is continually changing and improving in order to meet the needs of students. My favorite part of the work is helping students decide which type of material they would be best off using for their assignments/research papers and occasionally helping them find a topic which will pique their interest.
Pros
Wonderful work environment
Cons
There is currently a morarotium on full time hiring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 April 2016
Very great environment
Researched and wrote essays on technology
Great co-workers
Hardest part was finding more than one topic about technology
Most enjoyable was the energy from my co-workers and boss, great energy
Pros
Great Energy
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supplementary income opportunity
Ice Rink Staff (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 February 2016
Was an excellent source of supplementary income while attending university and working towards a bachelor's degree. This was part time employment and can be viewed as an example of how hard working I am and shows my time management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace
Residence Assistant (Former Employee) –  Townhouse13 June 2015
pretty good job security, job culture, balanced between work and school

overall pretty pretty pretty good good good good good good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
King's University College Residence President (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 May 2015
Volunteering position to maintain a positive balance between residents and management. I learned a lot about conflict resolution and keeping everyone happy. This was the hardest part of the job but also the most rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with people on Campus all the time
Security/ Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 March 2015
Learned to deal with people's issues
Job was only for summer (4-months)
Patrolling inside the campus to check everything
Pros
Sitting all day in front of the computer screen
Cons
Never allowed to leave the university area for any reason unless emergency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Help Desk Employee (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 July 2014
I worked at a work study student and throughly enjoyed my experience in the ITS Department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience working on the guidance and well being of University students
Student Leader International Students Department (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 January 2014
- Support the Department on activities (retreats, lunches, dinners, etc)
- Support in the organization of significant multicultural events such as Globe Aware
Pros
Free meals, free retreats
Cons
Short-term contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are not bad but they should be shut down
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 April 2013
they knowingly serve expired food, wait as long as possible to fix problems, do not listen to suggestions from employees, and they schedual all their meetings on weekends early mornings. manditory.

apart from that the pay isnt bad as long as they rememver to pay you, or remember to pay you in full. if you are 1 minute late they dock you 15 minutes (illegal) you also do not get the legaly required amount of breaks for the amount of work you do, espically if you are in the kitchen.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
terible managment, knowingly serves expired food, breaking labour laws.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun job
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2013
A typical day at worked involved me doing patrols around the campus looking for suspicious behaviour and making sure doors were locked. When I was at the front-desk I would answer calls and accept assignments from students to hand into a professor.
Pros
flexible shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at King's University College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 19 reviews
512
46
30
21
10

Ratings by category

4.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.4Management
4.3Culture

King's University College Reviews by Location