Killam Apartment REIT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work i injuyed working there
Resident manager (Current Employee) –  St.john's NEwfoudland canada15 July 2018
I found that steve loader and the others was the best to work for could not ask for more i would work for them again if they let me.if it do not work out with this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career to build on.
Res Mangr (Former Employee) –  NS12 September 2017
What other job is there that will give you a free apartment, may be amazing or not so great depending on the area, while paying you a decent amount? Staff is nice, no place is close to perfect, but find the lazy ones don't bug you while the nice ones help out a lot, so works out well.
Pros
Live where you work, help provided and easy to reach and fast to respond.
Cons
Work where you live, some crazy tenants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Manager - Great Life
Resident Manager (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB20 December 2016
I have a great job with Killam Properties. I am a resident manager of one their apartment buildings. The management and staff are great as well as the tenants in my building.

My basic duties are to keep current tenants happy and to maintain full vacancy. I maintain the property inside and out, provide communication to tenants and management.
Pros
Free rent, utilities and cable/internet
Cons
Have to have the phone on me 4/7 to answer tenants needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for
Resident Manager Nova Scotia (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS4 September 2016
Not a good place to work. Glad to be away from there. No chance for transfer after 4 years of working there or advancement. Would never work there again. We even bought our own supplies to clean buildings sometimes as property manager is more concerned for there bonus than providing supplies to clean buildings.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work, sell you a story to take a job
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  N.S3 April 2016
Management have no regard for employees. They are just tools to make the company money. There is a lot of mistreatment of staff and lack of concern for their health and safety.

The work never ends and you are expected to be available at all times whether you're ill or on holidays. They will praise you if things go well but make it very clear to all staff who are the under performers. They are very quick to throw you under the bus if there is a problem. There is no support and honesty between management and staff. HR and management are corrupt and unethical. If you want to throw away your personal life and your health, this is the place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!
Lean Resident Manager (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 February 2016
A typical day at Killam Properties is answering calls, filing paperwork, meeting new tenants and showing units. The management is amazing to work for, my co-workers are fantastic. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult people, trying your best to accommodate. The best part is being able to provide a home for people!
Pros
Working from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of pressure, little help
Employee (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick29 September 2015
Constant pressure from management to work more even when your tasks are completed. Loosely designed contracts that require you to do whatever additional duties they add without compensation. Very hard to maintain a balance of home and work as you are required to do whatever is needed whenever you are asked. 24/7. Benefit package is good but salary barely covers the amounts they charge you for rent and you are required to live where you work. Most resident managers are considered part time employees even though they are required to perform many tasks daily and be on call 24/7. So salary reflects this part time employee status and then they take your rent off your salary and you get whatever is left. Management is constantly changing so any good relationship you have built up over time is back to square one almost every year. Hard to get upgrades to units done, contractors sometimes go a long time before receiving payment. Very high turn over rate in all positions of employment. No loyalty to hard working contractors if it means saving a few dollars.
Pros
Benefits package
Cons
salary, management, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not given enough authority to complete day to day tasks
PROPERTY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  sydney nova scotia canada11 June 2014
slow to pay contractors,causing the hiring of contractor a challenge
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to live and work
Resident Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 May 2014
It is always a great and interesting day. It starts with cleaning the building taking care of contractors, doing inspections and dealing with the residents. It;s very enjoyable, I work alone which is fine and the office is easy to deal with.
Pros
Location and the people
Cons
None that I can mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
employee (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB24 December 2013
This corporation is interested only in making money. They need to focus more on their front line staff Resident Managers and communicate with their Property Managers and put some money into the buildings. Top management seems to be most interested in their own salaries and have lost site of the little people who work for them . Confidentiality is a joke. Long hours, low pay,no thanks or appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't work for everyone.
Resident Manager (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick11 March 2013
Since in most positions you are on call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, it can be hard to schedule personal/family time that isn't interrupted. Not for everyone. Good for those who can make sure they get things done without constant supervision.
Pros
benefits
Cons
always on call, pay not so great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30NoReport

See more Killam Apartment REIT reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Killam Apartment REIT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 13 reviews
52
42
33
22
14

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture