Kiewit Employee Reviews

Found 434 reviews matching the search See all 1,183 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working conditions
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 November 2018
Great to work for the supervision took the time to make sure you were aware of any danger associated with the job being preformed coworkers were treated you as family and looked after one another
Pros
Good money benefits
Cons
Away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Lead - Site Document Control (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL15 October 2018
Great place to work, close to home. The jobs were only short contracts that was bid on by the company. Kiewit paid well and work environment was good.
Pros
Good pay with good benefits
Cons
ONly short contracts available to the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kiewit is the same as other big companies
Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL4 October 2018
Kiewit is the same as other big companies. they want the work done in a timely manner and good quality work in as little time as possible..the same as other companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Multiple25 September 2018
Kiewit are fantastic to work for. Professional and care about your safety as well as rewarding hard work. One of the best in the business to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours and exciting job
Heavy Equipment Operator/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  BC25 September 2018
I worked for Kiewit Western Infrastructure of Canada for 7 years and miss working for Kiewit . I was their top articulate rock truck operate in BC. Also operated loaders and excavtors. Great company, excellent pay, and I was given respect.
Pros
rewards
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent safety culture
Heavy Equipment Operator/Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 September 2018
Good safety culture. No security unless your staff. Lots of work opportunities, but are trying to cut cost by hiring local. Cutting out flights. All new equipment
Pros
Big company with lots of projects
Cons
Trying to hire only locally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 August 2018
Kiewit was a fair paying employer. Lots of fun safety meeting, prizes, awards for excellent safety.
Kiewit would be my go too company. Whenever there was an issue they pin pointed and everyone learned.
Pros
Pay was fair
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC1 August 2018
Awesome team, exciting projects, I recommend it to anyone who wants a real challenge and a lot of opportunities for promotions. The culture is one of camaraderie, team work and safety.
Pros
Team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joke
Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 July 2018
Managment has no idea what there doing more equipment sits than works have there plans arnt correct. Hire a bunch of operators and stick them in equipment they ither wernt hired to run or equipment labouors normally run. Have nice new equipment and gps equipment but cant use it cuz that requires prep and actual plans calgary ring road project is a joke seen more ppl quit than stay. Been on one crew with 5 different formans in the last 3 weeks. They should wake up before they lose tgis whole project at this rate they wount make it for 2020
Pros
Nice new gear
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No complaints
Concrete Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 July 2018
They took good care of me while working for them. Camp job but the hours were reasonable with a fly in fly out rotation. Learned a lot and was given chances to expand my skill set
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Kiewit?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always been on challenging projects
Gerant de Bureau Senior (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC3 June 2018
I worked at Kiewit for over 36 years all across Canada and in New York City. The hardest part of the job was to be away from the family most of the time as most projects were remote job site with a rotation schedule (ex: 3 weeks on site and 1 week off).
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Long hours and working at remote job sites for most of my career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nights and Cold
Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 June 2018
We were on the night shift for most of the schedule although we did work days a few times. The gang was pretty amiable and someone was always cracking jokes. Kiewit is a large world wide conglomerate and has projects around the world. It was winter in Canada at the time so the nights were especially cold. Met some nice guys while there. I thought the management could have been better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work space.
Painter/Sandblaster (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL25 May 2018
This was one of my first Painting experience. Enjoyed working here. Safe and clean work space with experienced and friendly co-workers. Travel distance to and from was short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of guys, good work enviorment
Electrical QC (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 May 2018
Good safe work culture, nice work/life balance. They have all the tolls that are required to complete a task. Kiewit offers their employees opportunity's to grow within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, paid flights good camps superior safety culture
Senior Labourer, (Former Employee) –  Bethune, SK22 May 2018
Best safety culture I have ever worked in
emphasis on ability and on the job certifications for equipment
preventative maintenance schedules
good camps
paid flights
job security based on availability of work
Pros
paid flights
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil field life
Heavy Equipment Operator Lead hand (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB7 May 2018
Remote locations in camp away from home. Pay is great but a huge disconnect between field workers and management. Uncertainty of how long your job will be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Again no complaints
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Bull Arm, NL2 May 2018
I have no complaints about this company either. I loved all the jobs I had here in Newfoundland, I wish I had more opportunities to work in my province.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Electrical Foreman (Former Employee) –  Alberta24 April 2018
great company to work for had many years with them in northern alberta they treat everyone the same which allowed for a great morale among the workers and the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Chargehand/Scaffolder.inspector (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL20 April 2018
The hours and shifts were good. Could get overtime. Wages were good. Had good employee medical program. Could go home every evening. People were good to work with.
Pros
I was in Newfoundland
Cons
shut down now for 3 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work/life balance
Field Engineer/ Estimator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 April 2018
Expected to always put work first and involves working long hours for low compensation when out on projects away from home. When working locally in the office the pay is fair and hours are acceptable. Good RRSP matching and benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Working away
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kiewit. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,183 reviews
5402
4407
3236
267
171

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture