Kenn Borek Air Ltd.

Kenn Borek Air Ltd. Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilots were great to hang with, we all got along great
pilot (Former Employee) –  Resolute Bay10 December 2019
I was a pilot for them out of Resolute Bay and Iqualiut. I was a captain there and was hired as a direct entry captain. The pilots were fun to hang out with and we did a lot together when we living up north. It was a good culture. The management though is a joke, they have no idea what they are doing, the training pilot was an idiot who could barely fly and knew nothing of ride standards. They were way beyond backwards and they try to bully you into doing dumb things, sometimes dangerous, sometimes because they don't know what they are doing. I was very happy leave there and go to a real airline and fly proper planes. One of the planes we flew was always having problems, they never did anything about it, they never took it serious and something very serious happened to it after i left for another airline. What a horrible waste.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of good work and good people
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 August 2019
Kenn Borek has a relaxed atmosphere that understands the need for balance between work life and home life. with a large amount of aircraft the company has been stable for years. One of the more exciting aspects of the job is the availability to travel with the aircraft on one of many contracts.
Pros
family company
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kenn Broken Air
AME (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 April 2019
Two things could happen. option 1 You can rotate and travel with the company, get payed terribly, be forced to do some questionable things to the aircraft because theres barley any logistics to help you and be extended up to 9 weeks because there's no one to replace you because everyone is realizing how terrible this company is and when your sending emails to ask when your coming home your emails will get screened and ignored. Option 2. You can work Monday to Friday in a hangar full of negativity and toxicity from the majority of its employees. Plus get the luxury to work under managers that micro manage and lead hands that get hard ons watching you fail.
The pay is way below industry standard. Im talking 20's an hour as an ACA. Only come to kenn borek to get your license or maybe a chance to go to Antarctica. DO NOT HOPE FOR AN END CAREER IN THIS COMPANY AND DO NOT STAY LONGER THEN YOU SHOULD. You will only find dissappointment in the end.
Pros
traveling
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Inventory Controller/Data entry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 September 2018
kenn Borek air ltd. was a great job with very happy people to welcome and show the ropes of my job very appreciate and understandable to any situations present
Pros
amazing people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Aircraft structures (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2017
Great place to work, people are great and the work is always interesting. Many modifications and repairs happen here with a great deal of knowledge and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
M1 LICENSED ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 January 2017
Good hours to work for but very bad management. intimidating people or favoring is considered is a way of management in this company which i think make for place not peaceful environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 November 2016
If you want to be degraded , humiliated daily - then go for it., Management extremely condescending, blame new hires for everything. No training , terrible environment. All staff have nothing good to say about the place. Just a job, with poor benefits, low pay.
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced enviroment, great co-workers
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2016
Very fast paced environment, long work days with a great team and support from the whole team including upper management. Working in such a fast paced environment has taught me that you need to have great commination skills and a great team working together to get the task at hand completed and within a minimal time frame.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Flight Follower (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 November 2015
fun work place with supportive management, not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics but this is expected of a big company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Repairs and Quarantine Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2015
If you work along side the right people the work place is very enjoyable but there are a lot of area's that need improvement. As long as you like your work and keep to yourself and do what your told the job can breeze by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work to be done
Avionics Tech (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2014
started with checking the aircrafts that come down from up north and fix them then continue with installing new equipment on other aircrafts. The managment at Kenn Borek Air Ltd. was very out of touch with the work being down. At Kenn Borek Air Ltd. I learned at lot more about how to troubleshoot systems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working for this company it has help me alot thru the years
AME (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2014
Got up early to to go to work I enjoy working with my co-workers.
Learned a lot every day it was a challenge and there was something different to do on a day to day including travel to other places, Float changes could be hard to do sometimes. The hardest part was probably organizing rescue missions like watching C-GSJB sink tru ice and not be able to do anything. Also lots of engine changes, hot sections wings removal/installation rigging, MLG change rigging, The most enjoyable where trips to Costa Rica and Panama looking after a float Plane from Golfito to Juares.
Pros
Pizza days, Stampede lunches, christmas partys, honest days work
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kenn Borek Air Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 13 reviews
55
40
32
23
13

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Kenn Borek Air Ltd. Reviews by Location