Kelseys Original Roadhouse Management reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, horrible management,
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON16 July 2018
The location I worked at was horrible, management sucked and the people I worked with sucked. Was not a very good place to work at all. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
give us your opinion about
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON13 July 2018
-a typical day at work
-what you learned
-management
workplace culture
-the hardest part of the job
-the most enjoyable part of the job

your company review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,cool and awesome
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 July 2018
on of the best place to get a job. good pay as well as good tip system. friendly workers and flexible timings. understandable and good management as well as managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A blast
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON20 June 2018
Loved working for Kelseys. The one I worked at had just opened and starting off with whole team of new people the management really excelled. Overall found it to be a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work structure Overall a good job
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 May 2018
Not a bad work environment just questionable management at times. I would suggest working for it because it offers good starting experience and allows for you to get a foot in the door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kelseys
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON9 May 2018
managers were usually treating individuals with respect and politeness but all of the coworkers at this place seemed to be at each others throats while working.. maybe just a bad bunch of employees working at same time but not the best environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Comfortable Work Environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON19 April 2018
My time spent working at kelsey's was a very influential one. It was an amazing workplace that took my needs into consideration and had a wonderful management team!
Pros
flexible hours, discount on food, happy environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Dishwasher/Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON11 April 2018
I'd sign in, change, and go to work. Didn't learn too much, management was okay, didn't interfere much. The workplace culture was a mix of humorous and serious. The hardest part of the job was the stacks of dishes left there from the shift before, since the shift before left an hour before I showed up to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the hour before I left, when the clean up started.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long hours, fast paced work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical chain food resturant
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON9 April 2018
I learned all the basics of cooking and meal preparation from fellow employees who are helpful for the most part. The mentality and work ethic of some employees was sub par and could definitely use some improvement. As any other typical chain restaurant there is not a lot of room to progress further up in the restaurant as well as very little wage increases. The final issue is the employees are not valued as some of them should be, instead they are put to the same standered as every other employee when doing more for the restaurant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON19 February 2018
Once upon a time it was a great place to work. Since new management the place is a joke. Head manager said his best kitchen line went in the bathroom to do drugs mid shift. They recently lost 4 bartenders, a supervisor and 3 servers since they took over. A very disappointing turn in management. For 3 years they had very little turnover until now. If you are looking to work for people who disrespect you and do not value their employees then you have found your ideal job.
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly Enviorment
Server & Hostess (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON7 January 2018
Kelsey's is a great place to work. Everyone is super friendly and the management is great. It is a great job to learn excellent customer service. People are very helpful and everyone is treated like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and Friendly Work Environment
Head Hostess (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON6 January 2018
I have had many developmental opportunities working in this establishment and was able to learn a lot about the customer service industry as well as build on my interpersonal skills.

Hardest part of the job: having to pick up the slack of certain coworkers, especially on busier nights.

Most enjoyable part of the job: developing strong relationships with all levels of staff as well as guests.

Management was always friendly and willing to accommodate employees where necessary. Managers were always available and approachable if needed. Fellow employees were also just as friendly and easy to socialize with.

Kelsey's offers a laid-back and comfortable environment for both customers and employers while still presenting a strong level of professionalism. Overall a pleasurable and fun learning experience.
Pros
Friendly managers and employees, simple job tasks on a day-to-day basis
Cons
Problems with scheduled shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and management
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Lakeshore, ON27 November 2017
Great people and workers good management good food aswell but hours were hard to do with school also going. Alot of new people so had to train them at times
Pros
Staff
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 November 2017
Fantastic place to work, it gets extremely busy on the weekends. Great people and great environment, Appreciative and knowledgable staff and great management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
now closed
Line Supervisor/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 November 2017
The location is closed. As with most restaurants, there is no way to guarantee hours. It was enjoyable and fast paced. Management was ok but did change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON30 October 2017
This was a fantastic place to work. The management team was the best i have ever worked for. They were caring, understanding, and always willing to help you out and make things happen for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to bad to work there
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON18 October 2017
hours were scarce and management was on you all the time.. mostly a good work environment . owner was a pain in the bum at times. but over all people were good to work with
Pros
staff
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Hostess (Former Employee) –  London, ON5 July 2017
not all Kelsey's are this way, probably just the one i was at. some of the people were nice however the management was terrible. i would not recommend this particular one.
Pros
food
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB PoloPark5 July 2017
For summer work the job fulfilled it's desired purpose and gave me some spending cash. Hours were very flexible. My partner in the dish station tried to oft abandon their duties in favor of leaving me to do dish which usually left me there from 5 till about 2 in the morning on good days.

Staff from other positions had to come to my aid on more than one occasion, they really stack up fast and a personal failing of mine was the inability to adapt to this pace.

Work days were also very sporadic based around a schedule for a week that I often didn't see until the week of those shifts. Management was also 50/50. You had managers that were very positive to be around and made the work place a heck of a lot better and then you had those that were overall terrible.

All in all it was an okay temporary job but not something I'd wish on anyone.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Worked well beyond close
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunity to advance
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 June 2017
If you are the type of person to get bored easily, Kelsey's restaurants is a place for you because you are always busy and on your feet. There is almost no time to even think about being bored. There is always an opportunity to advance within the workplace (ex. hostess to server position) and the management provides you with effective training to easily transition into alternate roles in the restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kelseys Original Roadhouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 261 reviews
593
480
365
217
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture