JV Driver Employee Reviews

Found 130 reviews matching the search See all 148 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company very generous and friendly.
Labor Electrician/Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB13 September 2018
This company is awesome. They recognized employees that worked hard and did not have any safety issues by giving awards. Very family friendly and very generous.
Pros
Recognizing previous employees by hiring them back
Cons
Work is limited due to present administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB6 March 2018
Productive and fun place to work with long hours and free lunches , i got the chance to learn a lot and meet a lot of interesting people with a lot of amazing skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would work for them anytime
Fitter/Foreman/ FRP specialist (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB and many more3 February 2018
Arrive early relax and listen

Allocate time and tools to the appropriate workers

Ask the right question and I usually received good advice

Safety and house keeping were a priority

Having to tolerate some ignorant malcontents

Being appreciated and well paid to do something I enjoy
Pros
Helpful management
Cons
nothing worth mentioning
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for apprenticeship
Welding Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB23 January 2018
A fun and safety orientatded facility
great hands on team to share there specialty skills in the trade
great place for advancement , could be working as a quality inspector or in the safety department
Pros
great management
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB10 January 2018
Had a great time working for this company and would flock back to them at any point unless I was committed to another company. And the CLAC benefits are top notch.
Pros
Amazing benefits and wages
Cons
It was a bit boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make it what it is.
Journeyman Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Horizon, SK8 December 2017
I worked with a lot of great guys so I enjoyed my job. Just show up to work prepared, get the job done and go home. Don't lie cheat steal, harass or try to get away with anything you shouldn't and you're job and life in general will be much easier and stress free.
Pros
money
Cons
Clac
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 November 2017
overall good working environment. paid pretty good and always had a good time working there. i learned quite a bit working with people there. safety meetings were eventful and very informative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB30 October 2017
Typical day at work
office environment
workplace culture
management
the most enjoyable part of the job
the hardest part of the job
what you learned at the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 15Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
4th period apprentice electrician (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB3 October 2017
Job advancement opportunity offered to all. Easy to approach management with issues. Reward offered to safety oriented team and worker. Work load reasonable and planned well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, learning rich environment
Millwright Apprentice/Preservation Managment (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB12 August 2017
Hard work, and hard to be away from home for 14 days each rotation. But, there were opportunities to work independently, and build strong working relationships. I applied myself, and was able to learn both from my successes and failures.
Pros
Decent wage, lots to learn, skilled mentors
Cons
Working away from home. Food was risky
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded company
Journeyman Millwright (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 August 2017
The company was excellent to work for and the various crafts worked very well together. Fair wages, wasn't any overtime on the project I was at. 14/7 schedule is a good money making schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment and Job experience
Millwright Foreman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB23 July 2017
Some aspects are very good. Workplace culture at the Nisku site was good.. Good learning experience. I enjoyed the challenge of the scope of work. Least enjoyed the maturity of some of the workers.
Pros
Wage
Cons
Job retention
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great safety culture
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 July 2017
Good company to work for. Great safety culture. Advancement is all in who you know. Need to be part of the "club". Overall great group of workers on most projects.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Brain dead supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best company i ever worked for
PIPEFITTER (Former Employee) –  Logan Lake, BC29 June 2017
these guy are committed to safety 100% they care about there staff even though your more or less a number cause of the massive projects they take on fun work great pay
Pros
great money
Cons
travel for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety first based family environment
Pipefitter Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB2 May 2017
Great place to work, treated well with lots of positive experiences. Safety is number one, quality and then production. Great leadership team who enforces positivity and growth.
Pros
Clean and safe
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Skilled Labourer foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 April 2017
Such a great place with good wage and nice benefits. Was really looking forward to getting dentured as a millwright or a pipefitter. Nice rooms at the camp and a good gym
Pros
Free food
Cons
Took a whole day to get home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people & culture
Payroll Administrator/Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB25 April 2017
Learned a lot and met a great bunch of people. Is a site with a semi-relaxed work environment. With current economic situation there have been a lot of layoffs recently.
Pros
Great group of people & culture
Cons
long hours, little recognition, elusive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Project Controls Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB31 March 2017
Worked in the fabricators office and enjoyed it. Company promotes a strong, positive workplace culture. Most companies I have worked for have their version of 'core values', but Drivers was the first place that I felt really believed in them, and their employees.

Take Care of Eachother
Be Innovative
Build Great Things
Have Fun
Pros
Fun place to work, positive attitudes of colleagues and management
Cons
40 hour weeks can quickly turn into 50-60 hour weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
remorable experience
Journeyman Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  suncor main plant MNU project21 March 2017
A typical work day long hours physically demanding and rewarding at the end of the day.Learned to work hard and efficiently with different people, look out for one another and work safe.Management kept everything running smoothly and efficiently.Work culture look out for on another take your time an work safe.Hardest part of the job traveling flying back and forth to home, and most enjoyable making new friends and getting to see the end result.
Pros
free room and bord no expenses
Cons
Leaving family and friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crew
Steamfitter (Former Employee) –  JACOS19 March 2017
We had a good crew at JVD JACOS and very productive night shift. Always good craic with decent leadership on nights in all trades. I only spent one shift on days before I quit after being separated from my crew. I didn't care for the leadership on days, too inexperienced.
Pros
Good crew and foremen
Cons
Inexperienced upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JV Driver. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 148 reviews
548
454
323
210
113

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture