Jani-King Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 967 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good fun place to work
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2019
I worked there with my dad as a first job. It is hard work and you must be good at and be expecting to do labor intensive things. It was a very good first job and it taught me a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall absolutely loved working there!
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB22 November 2018
Working with Jani-King was an awesome time in my life! I very much enjoyed working there when I did it was unfortunate the contract was lost during my time. If I had the opportunity to go back I would!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on lots communication and team work
Moving boxes (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 September 2018
I was never lost very simple job.
You get there list of things to do go threw them all in order breaks are beneficial get back ur energy very basic dress code all black anything that you feel comfortable to move around.
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 August 2018
Its a great place to work. I was able to learn customer service skills along with gaining call center experience. I was able to have a flexible schedule so that I could attend meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supplies always needed
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB11 August 2018
the work place was greart but supplies were always need.
watch your hours, my hours were altered as every pay was a rounded even number. and the pay jani kings offers is not what i got paid, the fredericton area anyways.
Pros
none
Cons
too many responibilities for one person and never got a thank you once.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
franchising industry very competitive
Operations Executive (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 August 2018
Jani-king is a fast pace franchising cleaning company. Working at the regional office you got a first hand look at the struggles the franchisees faced running the their businesses. With a high commission rate and contracts that were usually under bid, it showed you what hard work really meant. The franchisees had to be well organized and able to take on multiple contracts to make their business work. As an operations executive you had to have a good relationship with management as well as the franchisees to be motivated and motivate while dealing with customers concerns and problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning
Cleaner/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS30 May 2018
It was a job that I had between Jobs. It got me by until i found something more permanent. It was a easy job but a little tiring with the lifting and bending
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time cleaning
Commercial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON29 April 2018
This job wasn't anything crazy special. Just perform cleaning duties as required by the supervisor and make sure you do the job accoridingly to them and the clients.
Pros
None honestly
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with great people
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 April 2018
It is a great place to work. Lots of kind people who were fair and good to work with. I have made many great relationships with the people here and can call them friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of free time
Franchisee Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 February 2018
It was nice working for a franchise owner. Lots of flexibility and it was perfect for me I learned many new skills. I’m satisfied with the years spent with them
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Unpredictability
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Word to the wise
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario19 January 2018
Expectations:
No training
No development
Treated like a 7 year old
Every move monitored by company Iphone
No allowance for using your own computer
No allowance for using your own internet connection
Micro Managed to an alarming degree
Expected to work weekends / holidays no additional compensation
Below standard car allowance
Pros
They know how to sell you on the position
Cons
Consistently changing the rules of the game AFTER you start playing
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large faucility, great people
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Kentville, NS15 January 2018
Jani King provided lots of hours and everything I needed to complete the tasks assigned me.

Dawn the manager was helpful and respectful in every way so the shifts and experience was great.
Pros
Paid on time, always respectfull
Cons
sometimes to many short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evening hours, great for a night owl
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 January 2018
If you don’t have a job and need one desperately then you’re in luck because this field of work has a high turn over rate. It’s the opitimy of over worked and under paid.
Pros
You can get your work done quick and slack off
Cons
You have to scrap human excrement out of toilets
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sub-Contractor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON18 December 2017
Best company for life long want to join with gdi. I know gdi have the big contracts in Toronto.and best company for life long want to join with gdi.
Janiking that's my corrunt company I like that company but I have so much account but most are small accounts only I have 2 buildings with them. I like to go for buildings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
House keeping (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 November 2017
We clean all of the buildings , we took garbages , vacuum all the place that have carpets and we are assuring that all of the place outside and inside are clean properly.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Long ours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 November 2017
I liked working there however, there were not enough hours for me. I learned to clean offices . Work environment was great and hardest is getting enough hours.friends I made.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 October 2017
No benefits, poor pay and they load you up with work (cleaned for a hotel in Oakville) They don't care if you don't take your breaks. I never took my breaks to finish cleaning all of my rooms and they would still ask you to do more. Unfair wages for the amount of work put in. They don't really care about their staff, they barely took the time to have meetings and listen to their staff about concerns.
Pros
you could leave early sometimes if you were done all your rooms.
Cons
no benefits, hard work, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
industrial cleaner
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 July 2017
Fast paced repetitive work. You accept a contract that varies in the duties it requires ,which comes with a time limit as to when it needs to be completed.
Pros
You work alone at night which makes for a peaceful shift .
Cons
Although its peaceful your still on a timer you have to manage every minute your there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 June 2017
It was a great experience working with this company
was horrible at pay on time there was always an issue.
A wonderful place to work with staff who care.
Pros
free snacks
Cons
horrible paying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible pay for work done
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ontario21 June 2017
For what you are expected to do the rate of pay is terrible for many of the contracts. Some of them were very large jobs and are expected to complete with minimal time given and when you calculate what you get as per the contract compared to an hourly rate, most times it was well below the minimum wage. The company needs to rethink their payouts per contract!

No benefits, no gas coverage to get to each of the jobs,
using your own vehicle .
Pros
nice people overall
Cons
terrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jani-King. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 967 reviews
5329
4256
3208
278
196

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture