Jani-King Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with great people
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 April 2018
It is a great place to work. Lots of kind people who were fair and good to work with. I have made many great relationships with the people here and can call them friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Word to the wise
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario19 January 2018
Expectations:
No training
No development
Treated like a 7 year old
Every move monitored by company Iphone
No allowance for using your own computer
No allowance for using your own internet connection
Micro Managed to an alarming degree
Expected to work weekends / holidays no additional compensation
Below standard car allowance
Pros
They know how to sell you on the position
Cons
Consistently changing the rules of the game AFTER you start playing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large faucility, great people
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Kentville, NS15 January 2018
Jani King provided lots of hours and everything I needed to complete the tasks assigned me.

Dawn the manager was helpful and respectful in every way so the shifts and experience was great.
Pros
Paid on time, always respectfull
Cons
sometimes to many short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evening hours, great for a night owl
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 January 2018
If you don’t have a job and need one desperately then you’re in luck because this field of work has a high turn over rate. It’s the opitimy of over worked and under paid.
Pros
You can get your work done quick and slack off
Cons
You have to scrap human excrement out of toilets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sub-Contractor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON18 December 2017
Best company for life long want to join with gdi. I know gdi have the big contracts in Toronto.and best company for life long want to join with gdi.
Janiking that's my corrunt company I like that company but I have so much account but most are small accounts only I have 2 buildings with them. I like to go for buildings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
House keeping (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 November 2017
We clean all of the buildings , we took garbages , vacuum all the place that have carpets and we are assuring that all of the place outside and inside are clean properly.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Long ours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 November 2017
I liked working there however, there were not enough hours for me. I learned to clean offices . Work environment was great and hardest is getting enough hours.friends I made.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 October 2017
No benefits, poor pay and they load you up with work (cleaned for a hotel in Oakville) They don't care if you don't take your breaks. I never took my breaks to finish cleaning all of my rooms and they would still ask you to do more. Unfair wages for the amount of work put in. They don't really care about their staff, they barely took the time to have meetings and listen to their staff about concerns.
Pros
you could leave early sometimes if you were done all your rooms.
Cons
no benefits, hard work, poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
industrial cleaner
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 July 2017
Fast paced repetitive work. You accept a contract that varies in the duties it requires ,which comes with a time limit as to when it needs to be completed.
Pros
You work alone at night which makes for a peaceful shift .
Cons
Although its peaceful your still on a timer you have to manage every minute your there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 June 2017
It was a great experience working with this company
was horrible at pay on time there was always an issue.
A wonderful place to work with staff who care.
Pros
free snacks
Cons
horrible paying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible pay for work done
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ontario21 June 2017
For what you are expected to do the rate of pay is terrible for many of the contracts. Some of them were very large jobs and are expected to complete with minimal time given and when you calculate what you get as per the contract compared to an hourly rate, most times it was well below the minimum wage. The company needs to rethink their payouts per contract!

No benefits, no gas coverage to get to each of the jobs,
using your own vehicle .
Pros
nice people overall
Cons
terrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning is a calming experience
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NS15 May 2017
I loved cleaning, especially being a day porter for admiral insurance. I got to see new faces everyday and I was truly appreciated for the work that I did. A typical day at work included cleaning all washrooms three times a day. Cleaning the lunchroom. Cleaning kitchenettes and collecting garbage and taking the garbage out. The most enjoyable part about the job was getting to know people because I am a very friendly person and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was keeping an eye on the small detailed things. Management was great and I never had a problem with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reading
mohamed (Current Employee) –  2212 Gladwin crescent Ottawa8 March 2017
working at jani king was always in the middle of night and the whole world is sleeping , i started different types of job but i like because i was with my bodies and i were fun
Pros
cheaps
Cons
kindness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janiking Review
Worker (Former Employee) –  North York, ON19 December 2016
This Job and Company is actually really good. It keeps things clean, it respects everyone's privacy and things, and it projects no complaints towards people who create a big mess, because after all, they're job is to clean. They are organized, they manage time nicely, and overall, a 4-5 star rating.
Pros
Free Snacks/drinks
Cons
Takes forever to clean the mirrors (6 floors, about 10 large mirrors per floor)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Company with professional work
Sanitary Engineer, Stockclerk ,Security (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NL4 November 2016
It was a great experience working with this company , work hours were from 4pm -2am government buildings were t closed til 4 pm. Working for the managers /owners Eric & Giselle Borden was great they worked alongside when the workload got heavy .
Pros
great manager / owner, everyone was a team player
Cons
late long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job cleaning office buildings
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 October 2016
Am supported by a great manager that always helps and follows up with me on how I clean in the business independently. Set up my hours hours to come in during the night to complete various tasks. Always feel privileged because its an easy clean up job where I don't feel like the labour is too intensive.
Pros
Work independently. Allowed higher responsibilities to what I do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job with low income
Cleaning (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 October 2016
Cleaning in midnight wasn't interesting but I still had to do it. The wage was very low according to the type of job as I had to clean large stinky place and I got paid minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2016
My co-workers at Jani king are very helpful and nice. we used to have meal together in break time and assist one another in need. Cleaning job is not easy but with a good team we will make it a enjoyable.
Cons
hard work, long distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience
Volunteer Jobs (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 August 2016
It was mostly solo work. Every team member had an assigned area to clean with a certain amount of time. This opportunity taught me how to manage my team accordingly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 August 2016
A wonderful place to work with staff who care. They are very helpful and most would be lucky to have this kind of employer, would recommend this job to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jani-King. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 764 reviews
5269
4192
3165
266
172

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture