J.R. Simplot Company Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 419 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotating shift work in a potato processing plant.
Shift Engineer (Former Employee) –  PowerHouse18 October 2019
Ammonia, boiler, water, and air systems to operate and maintain with an excellent computer to watch all phases of plant production. Good communication between departments meant that changes/problems were dealt with quickly. I would state that it was a good place to work based on my experiences but I haven't worked there for quite a few years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sub par management
Maintenance electrician (Current Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB5 September 2019
interesting job but upper management issues the head office in boise will not address.no opportunity for advancement.Co workers are a bright spot.12 hr shifts 8 till 8,nights are tough .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean environment
Shift Engineer (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB15 August 2019
Working at Simplot was very positive place to work during the years I was there. It is clean place because it is a food plant. During my employment there I met lots of good people and very friendly.
Pros
Clean Environment
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, management is professional and fair.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB12 August 2019
Great place to work good wages and it's easy to change positions and cross train for different jobs. Benefits are adequate and the profit sharing program is very good for retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of standing in one place
potato inspector (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB25 January 2019
arrive at work and change into proper work attire.
i worked with potatoes all of my childhood so there wasn't much to learn
the manager is nice and upfront.
good people and stories to tell during break.
hardest part of all of this would be the constant standing.
most enjoyable part was the challenge of how many potatos i could inspect in 15 mins. my record was 217.
Pros
gret work and hours
Cons
standing in one spot for 4 hours at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Product Inspector (Current Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB27 December 2017
great pay, decent managers, however shift work does suck, as going from 2 weeks of nights to 2 weeks of days on 12 hr shifts is very hard on a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Packaging Operator (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB11 February 2016
I would definitely work here again. There was a Great work environment. All coworkers got along. rarely any issues with any of my coworkers. work pay is adequate for the jobs difficulty.
Pros
Usually fast paced and all floor Personnel get along well
Cons
upper management likes to pint fingerws at lesser employees, employeese are not trained approproately, lack of supervision or management when it is needed the most.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
ADR operator / Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB14 November 2015
Operated a forklift to move potatoes in the tote room, cold environment, good work, excellent staff, management was fair
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong culture
Packaging Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB24 October 2015
Driven environment with a great deal of personalities. Always wanting to improve and stabilize the environment. Can be looked at as a front runner for the company base
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
Raw receiving attendant (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB18 March 2015
worked at simplot for 10 yrs and I liked it alot.There were alot of emplyees you work with and get to meet.There is never a dull day with alot of responibilities and very phyical work.The pay is good and benefits are great.You have a chance to change to different positions and get alot of work exsperience.They have union which can benefit some times for job security
Pros
you get to meet alot of really good friends there
Cons
the 12 hr nite shifts are hard no matter how many yrs you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Safe & Great Team Atmosphere
Packaging (Current Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB15 November 2012
Very Good Place To Work with opportunity to try different jobs.
Pros
lots of ot available
Cons
12 hour shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more J.R. Simplot Company reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J.R. Simplot Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 419 reviews
5140
4146
381
220
132

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

J.R. Simplot Company Reviews by Location