IOOF Seniors Homes Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful employees
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON28 August 2019
Worked as a PSW for less than a year . Pay was very good however the atmosphere was tense and uncomfortable. Employees were rude and unapproachable ..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first experience.
Personal Support Worker (Student) (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON12 August 2019
IOOF was a great first experience. The nurses and other personal support workers were very informative and helpful. I left IOOF very confident and willing to excel in my PSW career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON10 February 2018
Straight shifts; days 0600-1400, evenings 1400-2200 and nights 2200-0600
Very slow advancement.
Union/sonority based
No educational opportunities
Great team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON28 October 2017
Good place to work. Great fellow employees. Seniors are all very nice and welcoming new staff. Great employer that listens to the staff members when there is a concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 July 2017
Did my LTC placement for my course at IOOF. Enjoyed my time there the staff and residents are great. |They offer many great opportunities for the residents there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome place for a co-op
Food service worker (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 May 2017
the ioof is a pretty relaxed work enviorment and very fast paced and is very coroporative team players and the hardest part of the job was the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
team member and independently (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON1 May 2017
The staff and residents were very lovely. I had a wonderful time working there. would love to have continued my stay there while i was finishing school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Staff and Environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 August 2016
This is an incredible place to work with a great atmosphere, great staff and very friendly residents. Highly Recommended, I worked in the administrative field.
Pros
amazing staff
Cons
limited parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a secure pay cheque.
REGISTERED PRACTICAL NURSE (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON6 May 2016
If you're looking to work your shift and get paid in a secure environment the IOOF will reward you with fair-good pay compensation. If you're looking to better your career and develop as a professional then be ready for spending years grinding it out in a unionised environment where seniority rules all.

Management have always been fair and have taken the time to develop relationships with their staff. Generally are willing to ensure that you are heard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON2 December 2015
A very busy establishment. I have really good co-workers, and enjoy working with the seniors.

The hardest part of my job, would be loosing a resident.

The most enjoyable part of my job is listening to my residents talk about their younger days. I really enjoy hearing all about their lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
team member and independently (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON9 March 2015
It was always busy and many things to do. I love the connection you would make with the residents as well as the employees. Everyone there was well looked after. I would love to have another opportunity to work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Place
Support Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Barrie21 July 2014
A typical day at work would be in the Call Center and working with Management. I learned how to become a Manager. Management was very helpful. The hardest part of the job was the rejection. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning different skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers great to help you, lots of learning opportunities, Management very helpful.
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 June 2012
Co-workers great to help you, lots of learning opportunities (hard when you work night shifts though) as its all 12 hour shifts for RPN's. Very rewarding if you like working with seniors. Its a very fast paced environment.
Pros
excellent pay, good benefits
Cons
long hours, expect you to take call-ins while already full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IOOF Seniors Homes Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 14 reviews
55
45
32
21
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.5Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

IOOF Seniors Homes Inc. Reviews by Location