Investors Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good location
PROJECT MANAGER ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 December 2017
Worked here for 3 years. It's a good company to be in.
There is an office cafeteria that offers good food. The people in management are very approachable and down to earth. We have benefits like pension and health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are only people who care about themselves
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON19 December 2017
No vision with inadequate technology. More concerned about gathering assets than equipping consultants with the proper technology to better assist clients in their planning needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Management
Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 December 2017
Investors Group has been graced with an ability to select the right individuals as managers. These managers build strong foundations with their work force, which in turn builds productivity. They are not just using cookie cutter ideas, they actually merge their management styles with the needs of their subordinates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full commission and massive pressure to sell to family
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON14 December 2017
the pressure to push mutual funds upon your family is unreal, additionally I was hired with the pretence that I could start the business at my pace. When I lagged a month in performance due to my wife and son both being hospitalised, I was threatened to be let go. This I found unacceptable and it changed my perspective of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all was okay
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 December 2017
The company is very well known and big. It has so many workers and managers. I loved worked for that company. The benefits and security was incomparable. Very good. It was self managed job. And it was customer service job mostly which has to be communicated with clients.


Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All that glitters is not gold
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 December 2017
This is a position that requires a great deal of commitment and family support, particularly in the beginning ; you have to build your business from the ground, up. If you can succeed at doing it, then you and your family, will enjoy a good life.
Pros
Set your own hours
Cons
Time away from the family is considerable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive environment.
Financial Security Advisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 November 2017
A must have experience for active, smart and people oriented individuals. I had the opportunity to work in different aspects of business like marketing, sales, customer service, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Financial Planning company
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 November 2017
Wider service offer allows complete management of the client's financial planning. The tools are sophisticated and generate clear and concise views of the future and help in assessing events in our client's life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and dynamic workplace
Financial Security Advisor (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC16 November 2017
A must have Experience in an entrepreneurial knowledge oriented industry. One becomes capable of managing all aspects of a big business from the service, to marketing and sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB15 November 2017
This company offers competitive careers. It also provides ongoing education in the insurance and investment fields. Relaxed and comfortable place to work. Flexible schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For those who want more control over their work
Financial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2017
Very flexible place to work, the daily routine consists of meeting clients, organizing portfolios and scheduling future meetings. You can work from home even. Commissions based salaries mean you have to work for your pay cheque, seeking new clients and expanding your network constantly.
Pros
Free coffee, good people
Cons
The way salary is determined, highly commissioned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administarter
ADMINISTRATOR, ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 November 2017
Nice job where I found my interest
Good environment
Nice friendly people around
Get knowledgeable things to learn
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
joined in 2015
Financial Consultant (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON4 November 2017
good company to work for offering a balance for work/life.
The pay is fully commission - 100 percent of your pay is determined by the amount of business you bring in,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC1 November 2017
Great place to work for individuals that are self driven and able to connect and influence people. Expect long work hours and late nights. You must be comfortable with sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice nor an honest place.
Financial Planning Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 November 2017
Commission only. Lacks a team work culture. lacks a clear region strategy.

I do not recommend it to anyone, and I believe their business model should be outlawed.
Pros
Licensing
Cons
No salary. Lack of any career growth. No marketing strategy by corporate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is very obvious that I am truly dedicated to working with IG as I am approaching my 20 year next year
Client Service Associate II (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 November 2017
Great place to work! It's extremely fast-paced environment to work with. They are very involved in community service as well. They treat everyone with respect. It is a very respectful workplace!
Pros
Great collegues!
Cons
Fast-paced!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 October 2017
Must prospect all your own clients to build your book of business. Seasoned and Senior consultants help newer consultants by answering questions to complex financial plans or insurance quotes.
Pros
Make your own hours, choose your clients
Cons
Commission only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Lots of fun company activities
Security supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 October 2017
Very good place to work and exceptional employees. The executive are superb. The visitors are really interesting. Got along with everyone from the kitchen staff to the executive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for self starters
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON16 October 2017
Investors Group has great training and support systems in place and gives a self motivated individual the tools to succeed. What you put in is what you will get out of the work you do there.
Pros
great work/life balance
Cons
limited managerial support
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 October 2017
I worked at IG for a short period of time, the one thing I can say is that I obtained my licenses and learned a lot about the stock market and investments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Investors Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 295 reviews
590
4103
369
219
114

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture