Interior Health Employee Reviews

Found 100 reviews matching the search See all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic
Housekeeping Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC13 January 2019
Great work environment, friendly supportive staff and management. Training and educational material very accessible. Best part of job knowing that your hard work helps patients daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic Workplace With Enormous Stress and Responsiblilty
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC7 January 2019
Be prepared to work really hard, miss your breaks and when you are broken down from overwork, your needs will not be accommodated. There is rampant harassment of staff by management and blatant favouritism. Very little opportunity for advancement unless you are a butt kisser.
Pros
No
Cons
Stressful, long hours, no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful workplace
HOUSEKEEPING/ FOOD SERVICES (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC21 November 2018
very high stress work place
management sets you up to fail
most enjoyable part would be the patients and co workers and the actual job itself
the hardest part was short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Ashcroft, BC13 November 2018
I am always learning new things and the team is great always willing to jump in and help. it is a great place to work and to get lots of new skills. love this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not horrible
Infection Control/ Dietary (Current Employee) –  Nelson, BC23 October 2018
I really have nothing negative to say about this company other than the fact its a great company to work for, filled with plenty of work and really great people.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Registered Medical Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee) –  Revelstoke, BC10 October 2018
Worked with Interior Health for my entire 40 year career. No regrets and no complaints. Shift work is rough on a person but you adapt.
Working in a Lab environment can be extremely stressful. Since a patients diagnosis or ongoing treatments are based on quick turn around times for Lab results. The time crunch can be overwhelming sometimes and is more often then not.
Pros
Warm clean workplace, good job security
Cons
Shift work, weekends and holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
Medical Laboratory Assistant/Technician (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC20 September 2018
As a union job, you are stuck at a certain level to remain there regardless of job performance. The morale within the department is very low. The job is good, but mentally draining.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Healthcare Worker
Community Healthcare Worker (Former Employee) –  Golden, BC19 September 2018
Poor workplace culture, not particularly responsive or supportive of feedback. Mission statements do not translate to actual service provided. Enjoyed the actual work itself, in home personal care with clients. Scheduling issues, ei enough time to get from home to home an ongoing issue.
Pros
worked with excellent HCW's
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying rampant, backstabbing managers, HR support pathetic
Excluded Position (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC25 August 2018
extremely toxic environment
bullying & undermining management
environment lacks integrity
friends promote friends qualified or not,
'every person matters' is simply not true
hard work is not appreciated
burn out is rampant
Pros
not many
Cons
very toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows and expects professional growth.
Audiometric Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BC13 August 2018
I felt empowered to do my job, even to stretch my abilities, without being micromanaged, and at the same time had access to assistance if the need arose.
Pros
Wages and benefits, culture, management style
Cons
I had move and couldn't transfer due to different union, even though same exact position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Interior Health?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC9 August 2018
Friendly staff. Professional yet relaxed work environment.
Supportive administration and management team. Lots of opportunities for advancement and career growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent public health program
Public Health Nurse (Former Employee) –  Osoyoos, BC2 August 2018
I was employed as a casual nurse but was always included in all continuing education opportunities.
A very welcoming place to work with excellent nurses and support staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK depending on what you want
advisor (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC20 June 2018
Supervisors seem more concerned about how they look to their bosses then actually doing the right thing. Some sites are really great, but the corporate office is a disaster.
Pros
nice new building
Cons
Some bosses really couldnt give a toss about their people
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Food service worker (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC21 May 2018
Through Interior Health I worked for Royal Inland Hospital, and Overlander Care Facility. Both taught me a lot about working with a team and ensuring a time schedule was kept. Labor Intensive job, with busy hours, with good team building work assignments.
Pros
Working with people
Cons
Difficult hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Staffing Services Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC30 April 2018
Toxic work environment, solid pay. Doesn't go up due to being part of a union. Not a lot of room for growth without post secondary education. Would not work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly toxic work environment
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC23 April 2018
Management belittles employees. workplace morale is terrible. no respect is given to employees. Chronic short staffing contributes to overworked employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC17 April 2018
I loved my job very much, I enjoyed interacting with so many unique people. It is a job that has become more and more physically demanding with less and less help. You are to move quickly as you have many residents to help out. I do not think they have adequate staffing, this in the end creates a difficult environment for all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competent
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Oliver, BC30 March 2018
Really enjoyed all the challenges and opportunities that my work provided.Ithink that i was appreciated.And again i am looking forward to be working again as a casual.I live in the community and i am willing to travel to OSoyoos and Penticton.Ialways kept my skills up to date and never stopped learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job, Great Co Workers
Cook/Food Service Worker (On Call) (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC27 March 2018
Would begin day preparing meals for residents, depending on the shift, and working with the other staff to accommodate Diets and meals for residents who were unable to make it to the dining room for meals, would also work with staff to accomidate the many different diet requiremnts for the residents in need. The staff was great and always tried to work together to help accomplish the tasks at hand.
Pros
Co-workers and
Cons
Short notice call ins
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best employer I've ever had.
LPN (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC6 February 2018
Great company to work for. I work in LTC at a facility. I am never expected to do more than is reasonable. Every day here is an easy day compared to an alternate job I have at a private care facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Interior Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 102 reviews
529
429
319
28
117

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture