Independent city market Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and incredible opportunities.
Multi Department Clerk, Full-Time (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2018
Worked regularly as a full time employee, was given incredible chance to travel with the company (Loblaw) and open new locations all throughout Western Canada.

An amazing opportunity builder of a location, the management was incredibly open to developing talent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 October 2018
i started this job in 2016 as a freshman in university. I am still working here. It is a great place to work and a very healthy work environment. Management is good and it provides good balance between school and work for me. A great place for students to earn some extra money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work, job was super fun, employees were the same
Produce Department Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 August 2018
Best job i had, had the opportunity of meeting some great people. Got on the good side of my manager a lot which gave me benefits, would hangout with employees after work and have fun
Pros
half price lunch
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to be
Merchandise associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 June 2018
A typical day at the store would consist of many different tasks including stocking, facing, receiving etc. Managment there is great and its a pretty fun place to be
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean store, with hardworking employees
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2018
Decent place, employees are hardworking and energetic that cater to customers needs but the management can't run a business. The company is union based!
Pros
no pros
Cons
management, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away From College St location
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2018
Poorly run. Breaks are not paid. The owner likes to gossip about all the employees. Breaks are unpaid even on a 6 hour shift. Owner plays favorites and no job perks.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meat and Seafood
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  111 peter street17 April 2017
Somethings I learned at Independent City Market was how to slice meat and seafood into portions, open and close the department and work in cold weathers for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!!
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2017
The fist day was great was shown how the company was runned and was given a tour of the place. although was not given a uniform for the whole time i been working there, there as been times were i done all there is to do and that include organizing the cooler and still was given slack for it. The workplace was the most part laid back but for some odd reason i was given once again slack for not having a good work habits when i had shifts where i never took my break and still worked, aswell i come in early mind you 30 mins early and leave without having a break.

for the most part say away form this place my experinced was not great and i know i will never come back. and i hope others take my word.
Pros
Free Lunches, Close to TTC
Cons
Poor Understanding, Non Fun Environment, Bad Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

See more Independent city market reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Independent city market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 10 reviews
51
43
32
23
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.7Culture

Independent city market Reviews by Location