Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Found 135 reviews matching the search See all 137 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job gives one all aspects of the oil and gas
FIELD SAFETY TECHNICIAN / SAFETY (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB24 July 2018
enjoyed working there Especially at the SRU I have made some changes and management has agreed to them which makes me so very happy. The culture there is one of a kind but it really works. As a safety officer that is the name of the game.
Pros
different aspects of the operation that is cold lake
Cons
no cons here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly, very adaptive cross-cultural atmosphere
Driver/Operator/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 July 2018
Was a great place to work even at early development stages....the job was at an oilsands setting in northern Alberta. During winter is not the best time to work up there due to extreme cold weather, but still....a plus 10, in my books!
Pros
Great food
Cons
Just the weather during winter, but that, s understandable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but little tough for hated contractors.
Lead Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2018
10 hours minimum work time per day, 5 days a week. Good management style. Good work culture. Flexible hours as long as you meet 50 hours per week. Travel hours are restricted for hated contractors. Good place to work.
Pros
Good management style
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, amazing campus to work at
Stock Room Coordinator Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 June 2018
Imperial Oil was very good to me. I really enjoyed the people I worked with and was able to work in a few different roles. Management was great and I learned a lot. We were always very busy but best part of my job was making a difference everyday and the wonderful people I worked with.
Pros
Excellent facility, people are great to work with/for
Cons
Very busy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment with an even better team
Water Reuse Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB30 May 2018
Great company and group of people working there. Always exciting and fulfilling. Learnt a lot about the operations of a water reuse facility and got to experience shift work rotations.
Pros
Hard work, learning, the people
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work place but enjoyable
Technical Contact (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON11 May 2018
A lot of very hard working and mart people working here. Leads to a lot of good work as they are few slackers. But there are also a lot of headstrong people that make the work environment very competitive. Company encourages this mentality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a sub contractor was treated fairly
FIELD SAFETY TECHNICIAN / SAFETY (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake Operations8 May 2018
The SLPI I use on a daily basis, and it is so very true with the oil and gas industry. It is a harness that has embodied the whole scope of the work in the industry
Pros
love the permit system very detailed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short term contract
Locomotive Operator (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON8 April 2018
I loved my job at imperial oil and continue to try and apply for the position i had that was a contract job. I highly recommend working for Imperial Oil.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Place to work
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC, Fort McMurry17 March 2018
The Company was very rewarding place to work. The management team were very accommodating for giving time off when needed and acknowledging your work, Very safe work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Team
STAR BAR Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2018
Contractors treated as second-class citizens but worked with some amazing people, who taught me a lot. The work life was poor but that was a product of the department, and how finance is with respect to month end, year end, and quarter ends.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Electrical/Instrumentation and Controls Technician (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB3 March 2018
Challenging job as a maintenance electrician in the ore preparation area of the plant. Gained valuable industry knowledge on Rockwell and ABB variable frequency drives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strathcona Refinery
Process Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 February 2018
Amazing place to work at. People are friendly and very helpful. There are plenty of room for learning and improve as an intern. Hand-on experience is very valuable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Inspection Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Strathcona Park, AB5 February 2018
Top notch managers. Enjoyed contracting to this company. Learned quite a lot in regards to the client/contractor relationship. Would work for them again given the opportunity!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2018
Work in here for three years, a good place to go. Like to recommend to anyone want to join oil gas industry.
Management and training is nice, work environment is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Project Controls Lead - Kearl Expansion Project (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 January 2018
Imperial is a Productive and fun workplace to be at. At imperial, there is a team culture hat makes employee feel connected and responsible. I will work for Imperial giving an other opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work projects
Reliability Co-op (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 January 2018
8-4 kind of job with some overtime
Job is challenging and require talking to different people
Co-workers are nice and helpful, open to answer your questions
Networking events
Provide extensive technical and safety trainings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB16 January 2018
My typical day varied depending on what we were working on. I learned some valuable work experience and communication skills which were a great learning tool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most inspiring workplace one could be in.
Legal Secretary/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 January 2018
Imperial Oil promotes advancement and job security. The pension arrangement offered is phenomenal. It is a company that I would have worked for until retirement if I hadn't had to move back to Vancouver from the office location in Calgary.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
No flexibility with hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good organize company
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 December 2017
great project management
good compensation
long hours
quick pace projects
global company
very competitive environment
big projects
very good team
Pros
good project management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
CSP Propane injection Pilot Project (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB4 December 2017
Good people to work with, close to home, Good hours, excellent training. Would work there again if the opportunity presented itself. Safety culture is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Imperial Oil. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 137 reviews
562
449
321
21
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture