Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Place to work
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC, Fort McMurry17 March 2018
The Company was very rewarding place to work. The management team were very accommodating for giving time off when needed and acknowledging your work, Very safe work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Team
STAR BAR Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2018
Contractors treated as second-class citizens but worked with some amazing people, who taught me a lot. The work life was poor but that was a product of the department, and how finance is with respect to month end, year end, and quarter ends.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Electrical/Instrumentation and Controls Technician (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB3 March 2018
Challenging job as a maintenance electrician in the ore preparation area of the plant. Gained valuable industry knowledge on Rockwell and ABB variable frequency drives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strathcona Refinery
Process Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 February 2018
Amazing place to work at. People are friendly and very helpful. There are plenty of room for learning and improve as an intern. Hand-on experience is very valuable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Inspection Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Strathcona Park, AB5 February 2018
Top notch managers. Enjoyed contracting to this company. Learned quite a lot in regards to the client/contractor relationship. Would work for them again given the opportunity!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2018
Work in here for three years, a good place to go. Like to recommend to anyone want to join oil gas industry.
Management and training is nice, work environment is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Project Controls Lead - Kearl Expansion Project (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 January 2018
Imperial is a Productive and fun workplace to be at. At imperial, there is a team culture hat makes employee feel connected and responsible. I will work for Imperial giving an other opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work projects
Reliability Co-op (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 January 2018
8-4 kind of job with some overtime
Job is challenging and require talking to different people
Co-workers are nice and helpful, open to answer your questions
Networking events
Provide extensive technical and safety trainings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB16 January 2018
My typical day varied depending on what we were working on. I learned some valuable work experience and communication skills which were a great learning tool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most inspiring workplace one could be in.
Legal Secretary/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 January 2018
Imperial Oil promotes advancement and job security. The pension arrangement offered is phenomenal. It is a company that I would have worked for until retirement if I hadn't had to move back to Vancouver from the office location in Calgary.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
No flexibility with hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good organize company
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 December 2017
great project management
good compensation
long hours
quick pace projects
global company
very competitive environment
big projects
very good team
Pros
good project management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
CSP Propane injection Pilot Project (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB4 December 2017
Good people to work with, close to home, Good hours, excellent training. Would work there again if the opportunity presented itself. Safety culture is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract employee
Accounts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB22 November 2017
I was hired through a job placement agency. My department was moved to Moncton so I was no longer needed. Enjoyed my job and coworkers. Great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed constant tasks
ACCESS CARD ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB31 October 2017
I liked it because I was constantly busy and I enjoyed learning how the company functioned from within.

It was my first job after I came home from College so I was super excited to apply my knowlege of what I learned in Business Management.
Pros
Sense of Accomplishment everyday
Cons
The office was out in the bush and had to keep an eye out for bears.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Operations Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 October 2017
great place to work, friendly people and atmosphere although sometimes stressful, the life at work was enjoyable and I was often excited to be on my way to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good soccer player
Maintenance & Equipment Rotation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB25 October 2017
review my daily work , , analyse the data, give a feed back and feed the reports , make an assessment ,add value ,provide solution and close the reports
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experiene
Retail Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2017
It was good learning experience to work with the organization. The organization is well established but need to work more towards betterment of their employees benefit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inviting and Productive Work Enviornment
Project Superintendent, Fort McMurray (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 October 2017
I came to work for Imperial Oil as a stranger, not knowing anyone here. It just a short time I felt like part of the family and part of the team. It was a pleasure to work with such a professional organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was one of my favourite contracts I ever had
Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 October 2017
I loved this contract, was very disappointed when it ended. I loved the Kearl Lake site and imperial, they stand for a true safety culture, they don't just talk the talk they walk the walk. would go back there today!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work here again
Administrative Assistant in Well Servicing (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2017
The workplace culture was phenomenal. Right from day 1 I was made to feel part of the team, and this continues right until my leave. The most difficult part was the early start hours, as I had to juggle children leaving for the school bus and transportation to downtown to arrive on time.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Downtown location was difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Imperial Oil. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 129 reviews
559
444
321
21
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture