IKEA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, good quality
Efficient Goods Flow Co-worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2018
My time working at IKEA has been a great one for sure. The team I work with is great, and the management is friendly. It is a family to be sure. The team is just the same, funny and enjoyable, hard working and dependable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anorexic staffing
Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC12 April 2018
Brilliant company culture, however Productivity goals made it very difficult to adhere to company values and culture.
Very good place to work if you have a strong work ethic and are singleminded.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Receiver/Shipper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 April 2018
Real sense of community. Great benefits and perks. The staff are all so friendly. It really feels like a family instead of a job. Very accommodating with hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esprit d'équipe et entreprise de valeur
Planificateur cuisine (Former Employee) –  Saint Laurent1 April 2018
L'entreprise Ikea m'a beaucoup aidée à développer mes connaissances et compétences au milieu professionnel.
Pros
Transport gratuit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier Coworker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2018
I had an excellent time in IKEA, the coworkers were great and supervisors good too. The only downside is that it got busy and overwhelming sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great learning experience
Reciever (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 March 2018
Working at IKEA was a great experience, Although I worked the night shift, I was able to still retain a normal lifestyle. The managers had a high turnover rate while I was there
Pros
free snacks, discount
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON26 March 2018
Good place to work, Learn new things. I worked with a few of my friends so it was always a good day at the office. cleaning all around the big ikea...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace.
Warehouse and Fulfillment Coworker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 March 2018
Ikea takes care of their coworkers, plain and simple. With competitive pay and benefits, as well as opportunities to grow, it is a top notch employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice work environment and company culture
Goods flow Co-Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 March 2018
Good place to work, ok salaries, food is great, hours can be hard, store can get really busy, very light work environment overall, company offers training and it is possible to climb the ladder if you want.
Pros
Free lunches, nice events, easy to communicate, competitive salaries
Cons
hours can be hard, sometimes schedule leaves no room for life surprises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good values
Customer Service representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 March 2018
I decided to work for Ikea during my studies for a particular reason; its involvement with the UN. Other than its remarkable eco friendly policies as well as its sustainable goals, its contribution and partnership with the UNHCR to provide shelter, care, education, and energy to refugees in Asia, Africa and the Middle East made me feel comfortable working for a company that shared the same values as I did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company on retail
Customer Success Ninja (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 March 2018
Ikea is a retail company with its pros and cons.

I believe it is probably the best company to work for in the retails industry, no drama and they pay is more than average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work at
Business navigator (Former Employee) –  gwangmyeong17 March 2018
great culture
great people to work with
a lot to learn
new organization, lots of opportunities to grow
great mentors
work and life balance
fun to work at
Pros
work and life balance
Cons
work hand over process weak
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Gwangmyeong17 March 2018
work and life balance promoted/great people to work with
great company culture
fun to work in
autonomy in your role and but come with more reponsibilty
Pros
work and life balance promoted/great people to work with
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love who i worked with but struggled with how the system there works
Food Service Team Member (Former Employee) –  North York, ON8 March 2018
I worked in the food service department. Was very difficult to have any time to myself. I felt as if I wasn't even part of IKEA in store meetings because food service people always looked down on there. Was difficult but the people i worked with made it bearable for 3 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to shop, not so great to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary5 March 2018
By far the ugliest uniform that I have been subjected too. I cried the first time I put it on. The staff have high expectations, and no compassion for workplace harassment. Good luck!
Pros
Great product
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well rounded company
Goods Flow Co-worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 March 2018
Work was always consistent and busy in the distribution centres. good benefits well paying job management and crew are very easy to get along with as well which in that environment is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever-changing environment that allows for great diversity of work
Business Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 March 2018
IKEA has an ever changing environment and ever changing customers that allows for a lot of training opportunities within the company! It is interesting to see how the products the company sells work in the customers' homes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable, diverse and welcoming environment
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON28 February 2018
I don't really have anything particular to point out as negative. It has just been my growth has been stunted and if in the right position you can grow, and if not, it is a bit more challenging. I have learned a great deal working here such as everyday values, becoming more sustainable as an individual and team oriented as a worker.
Pros
benefits
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Receiver/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 February 2018
Good place to work very flexible when working part time. Good benefits for part time employees. Lots of opportunity to move up within the company, you can go far
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job overview
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC23 February 2018
The day jobs are great!

Ikea is a great place to work. Depending on the position, each department have their own training methods. In my area as a customer service greeter, I have support from my fellow co-workers. I have had the opportunity to work in other areas like self serve check out, order picking, furniture pick up, carts, and Smaland. As long as one is willing to expand, time and resource will be used to help you get there. With my knowledge with the store since March 28,2017, I am also awarded as a Buddy who helps new co-worker with the new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IKEA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,622 reviews
51.8K
41.6K
3833
2220
1155

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture