IGA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enironment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB22 May 2018
I loved all of the staff at IGA, I had a lot of fun there. the hours were pretty flexible. I would definitely work there again. It was such a loving environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement
Commis boulangerie (Current Employee) –  saint-laaza15 May 2018
Ce n'est pas le meilleur environnement de travail et le salaire n'est pas adéquat face aux nombreuses taches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail
Emballeur (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC9 May 2018
Offre ce que l'emploie invoque sans plus . Permet d'avoir un travail pas trop exigent pour un salaire minimum ce qui est bien quand on est un jeune.
Pros
pas trop d'efforts demandé
Cons
pas d'avancement de salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gerante
Gerante (Current Employee) –  Mirabel, QC6 May 2018
un très beau défi..
sobeys a de très beau outils de travail
nous avons de très bon formateur
très belle compagnie très agréable a travailler
et offre de très beau programme pour les employés.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Cashier/File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2018
Different locations have different hours so if you're a student then it's great. If not then I would pick a store that has the hours your only want to work in because they will make you do all kinds of shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sociable workplace
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  whistler1 May 2018
I enjoyed my time at IGA. It was a very sociable and fun job and I met a lot of people working here. It was easy to work my way up in positions and gain new responsibilities. However the management of the store was the hardest part of the job. Very intimidating and stressful when asking for a raise. Quick to point out mistakes and never thanked for doing a good job.
Pros
Meeting lots of new people, dealing with locals
Cons
Felt very replaceable, never thanked for doing a good job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiance familial
Commis (Former Employee) –  Sainte-Adèle, QC29 April 2018
Un ambiance familial et chaleureux.
Une attitude amical et jovial de la part de tout le personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail tranquil
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Mirabel, QC27 April 2018
C'est un travail redondant donc ce sont toujours les mêmes choses qui se passent et souvent les journées peuvent paraitre longue justement parce qu'il n'y a rien de nouveau qui se passe.
Cons
Pas de rabais sur la nourriture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work but life consuming
Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC26 April 2018
The work isn't very hard but management does not respect your hours. You will not get paid for overtime and will most of the time have to stay and clean up other people's messes for hours.

Almost impossible to take days off and management isn't organized and lays all their unfinished work on the employees.
Pros
Looks good on CV
Cons
Terrible hours, Unorganized management, life consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each employee contributes to the success of the Company
Representative in the Customer Service Booth (Former Employee) –  Côte-Saint-Luc, QC25 April 2018
99% of customer goes out of the store with a smile. Customer service at IGA is excellent. All managers respect each and everyone inside the store thus, the employees work to their best.
Pros
Managers are very approachable
Cons
Standing long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C'est agréable
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  St.-Lambert, QC18 April 2018
Je travaille au IGA. Je monte le magasin pour que cela soit présentable aux clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ponoka, AB12 April 2018
Working for IGA was a standard high school job. Little hours, little pay, little work. Being a part-time employee is as much as you expect it to be. There is no real workload and that's what so good about it.
Pros
Little work
Cons
Not good for a real job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC11 April 2018
they do follow the law. The clientele is really weird and stressful. you will not learn anything except the code of every vegetable and every fruit because if you don't it takes a long time to find it in the booklet and clients get impatient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC8 April 2018
nice environment. Management is listening and helpful. but low chances of promotion. better place to work rather than working at food courts. pay is little more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not again
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC26 March 2018
I would never work at this iga a day in my life the customer servie manager was a total b*** we got clients complaining to us all the time she was putting us down in front of clients talking dirty anyways zero professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a long time ago
Floral Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 March 2018
I liked working in an structured environment I shop there to this day
it was good hours and a youthful work place unfortunately they did not have enough hours to justify full time for the floral department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Deli personnell (Former Employee) –  Thrre22 March 2018
Fast paced enviroment
Friendly staff
Long hours
Clranliness.
Follow guide lines, safety precautions when handling meat slicer.
Management willing to help with orders for customers.
Pros
Outgoing stafg
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly local buisness
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Claresholm, AB22 March 2018
Always a busy and happy environment to work in. Lots of nice co workers, more like a second family to me and an awesome store owner. B.B always makes sure his good workers know that if they ever leave like I did for college our jobs will always be there if we need them.
Pros
Friendly co workers and sometimes nice customers
Cons
Rude customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail paisible et relax
Cash and customer service (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC19 March 2018
Les jours passent lentement puisque les tâches sont peu nombreuses
Pros
Rien
Cons
Fausse promesse d'augmentation, tres courte pause, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mauvaise ambiance de travail.
Caissière (temps partiel) (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC17 March 2018
Je n'ai pas aimer l'ambiance de travail, car les gérants étaient très encombrant dans notre travail et surtout aucunement empathiques, ce qui veut dire qu,en quelque sorte, ils attendaient seulement qu'on fasse une erreur pour nous critiquer. Néanmoins, ce travail m'a permis de bâtir des connaissances sur la caisse et le service à la clientèle.
Pros
Connaissances acquises
Cons
Ambiance, gérants
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IGA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,515 reviews
5448
4499
3377
2119
172

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture