IGA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't great.
Commis (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 August 2018
Typical day consist of baking and re-stocking. They do not teach you anything about safety measures. Management was okay but didn't take much into consideration my work hours; example: put me on the schedule when they knew I had school and didn't give me enough hours. Couldn't speak English at all in the work place. Little to no diversity in employees. Hardest part: staying in the freezer for too long. Enjoyable part: baking and speaking to customers. But I think its different for every store.
Pros
freezer
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avis
Commis et Caissière au Prêt à manger et Bistro (Former Employee) –  Sainte-Thérèse, QC30 July 2018
ambiance de travail agréable, plusieurs tâches différentes, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at for a student
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 July 2018
I liked my experience as a staff member at iga, but i found that the pret a manger departement lacked of management skills and leadership. But it is a very flexible job if you are a student.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Lack of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect for starters
Customer Service Assistant/ Counter Hand (Former Employee) –  Bexley NSW22 July 2018
Good for those starting a career in the customer services field. Job rotation where you were able to handle different job positions like stock filler, cashier, delivery receiver, and admin duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students
Supervisor/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 July 2018
This is an absolutely great job for a individual that is in school but is looking for a nice part time job. Job isn't super demanding, teaches great life skills and has flexible hours.
Pros
Life Skills
Cons
Tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail pour étudiants
Commis cuisine (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 July 2018
Horaire flexible pour les étudiants
On peut avoir facilement le nombres d'heures qu'on veut
Heure de travail entre 7h et/ou 8h
Assurance après 2 ans
2 semaines de vacances après la première année
Pros
Embiance de travail agréable
Cons
Salaire et difficile davoir un meilleur poste
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC7 July 2018
Managed poorly, no raises. People called in sick all the time because they disliked working for the company. As a part-time employee I was working 40 hours a week for years and still getting no benefits.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail stressant
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Chambly, QC6 July 2018
Les journées de travail sont très longue et les clients sont très peu souvent agréable. Les pauses sont courtes et pas beaucoup d'avantage sociaux.
Pros
employés gentil
Cons
courte pauses, longue journée
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Emerald Park, SK3 July 2018
Great company and environment to work in with plenty of young faces and people who are happy to serve and help customers each and everyday. Product quality is 10/10
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quand même une belle endroit pour travailler
Commis-emballeur (Former Employee) –  Trois-Pistoles, QC3 July 2018
j'ai quand même aimée la jobs. je le referais si J'ai besoin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about IGA?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Shelves stocker (Former Employee) –  Ponoka, AB21 June 2018
All the managers are rude and expect you to do everything to absolute perfection and were often threatening employees with being fired. The only good side was being able to ocattionally socialize with other workers until they told us wed be fired if found talking to other coworkers often.
Pros
not many
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 June 2018
Horrible work environment, completely unorganized, awful management from the top down. The worst work experience I have ever had, Don't work there if you can avoid it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iga
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Coboconk, ON14 June 2018
I very much enjoyed my years with IGA. They offered much in the way of continuous learning and it was an excellent experience. The one downside was that it was a family owned business so there wasn't a lot of opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exellent
fecigne (Former Employee) –  Repentigny, QC12 June 2018
personnelle gentil sociable lol jai rien d'autre a dire pk reajouter de lavis? inutile
Pros
rien
Cons
je suis stagiere mes aucun rapas gratuit un minimum pour un grosse compagnie comme celle la
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travaille stimulant et très agréable
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Terrebonne, QC12 June 2018
Service a la clientèle rapide, bonne relation avec la clientèle,
Pros
Activité à faire entre employés
Cons
Courte pause
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Provost, AB11 June 2018
It was okay, but not what I was expecting. the head lady in my department was basically like a switch; One moment she was happy, and the next, she was angry. I got fed up with it, and the fact I wasn't put in the position I wanted was also a big let down.
Pros
1 hour lunch breaks
Cons
not really any breaks....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok , definitely wouldn't stay forever good first job
head chef, sandwich maker (Former Employee) –  Sutton, QC5 June 2018
Management was poor , communication with manager was a struggle cause of how rude she was , it's an okay job not the best but not the worst , no benefits
Miss match hours even though I requested 40hrs a week
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
la relation entre les collègues
Caissière, service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Bromptonville, QC30 May 2018
J'ai appris à bien communiquer avec les clients et gérer les mécontant. Le plus difficile était de rester pendant des longues heures debout sans bouger. Le plus agréable était le sourir des collègues de travaille.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Hours Good Management
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC27 May 2018
The hours were long and hard but the management was very understanding and helpful while managing a work life balance. I was able to request one shift a week because of school and was granted that with a smile. Yet that one shift a week was a 2-10:30pm shift which takes up most of my day.
Pros
Good Management
Cons
Bad Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productif et agréable
Commis (Former Employee) –  St.-Rémi, QC23 May 2018
rien a dire outre le fait que d'avoir seulment 5h par semaine des fois moin des fois plus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IGA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,597 reviews
5472
4518
3402
2129
176

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture