Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning environment.
All Rounder (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2017
Humber Room is a restaurant that is practicing find dining cuisine. It has different kinds of customers from local business people, school faculties, and students. Every day we will have a different position (server, busser, food runner, host, dishwasher, assistant manager, manager).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, really enjoyed my time over there
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON28 April 2017
Excellent employer. Learned a lot from my managers and supervisors. Everyone is respected for their work. I would do anything to work over there again. Really miss working at Humber College
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good practice
The Humber Room (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
its a fine dining demonstrated restaurant on campus, so its good oppotunity to learn the system of high end dinner. customers are mostly students and faculities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time contract worker
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2017
Seasonal activity was expected at this role, during the Winter & Fall times of the year with the Summer being a lull period as students are off and word load isn't too much.
Learned a lot about event coordination and refined a few skills like content writing, photography, Photoshop, and began using Illustrator.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Seasonal acitivity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace
Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2016
I enjoy dealing with customers and providing them excellent customer service. For me, customers are the most important thing for me and I do the every bit to make them feel satisfied before they leave the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided me with good summer time employment
Tour guide and student services (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 May 2016
In this job, I was mainly offering tours to new and prospective students all around campus, and while in the office, I was talking to them over the phone to assist them through their concerns. The tours helped me develop my skills in public speaking, as well as be able to professionally deal with issues that arise without warning.

This job forced me to learn everything there is to know about the school, in terms of financial assistance, medical & dental benefits/coverage, other perks etc., which then beneficially served me, as I was a full time student at the time. There was teamwork involved, as well independent responsibilities. Overall, it was pleasant experience, everyone was treated well, and the work never became repetitive and routine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for students
Orientation Co-chair (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 March 2016
Humber College is a great workplace for students which allows to balance academic commitments and build and improve professional skills. In addition, work at Humber gives students an opportunity to expand their network, communicate with various types of stakeholders, and have fun!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Various positions (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 December 2015
A typical day would be playing various roles in the restaurant. I learned busing, bar-tending, customer service, serving and food running. Management was awesome. Co-workers were great.
Pros
Great learning
Cons
Closed on Sat and Sun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and help
Enterprise Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 November 2015
Good place to learn and get experience.Best part of the place is to help people in order to reach their objectives.The environment is great full of friendly co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with learning opportunities
Learning Community Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2015
I learned to prepare and facilitate sessions for first year students. I worked collaboratively with another leader to plan and organize the sessions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
International Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2014
- Great people to work with!
- Good learning opportunity
- Very approachable
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON29 May 2013
I was studying as well as working for Humber College and I have a very good experience at Humber College for learning all about heating, ventilation and air conditioning field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work as a peer tutor.
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2013
Working with students from within the Tourism and Hospitality Management (Event Management) Program
I am qualified to assist students in the following areas:
• Hospitality Accounting Management
• Hospitality Budgeting
• Food and Beverage Operations for Event
• Marketing and Sales for Tourism and Hospitality
• Service Excellence
• Effective Leadership and Management
• ESL Business Writing Skills
• Software Applications
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker, I like to work wih a team
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2013
I'm looking for weekend shif and overnight shift, because I'm sudent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 15 reviews
56
49
30
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.5Culture

Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning Reviews by Job Title

Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning Reviews by Location