Hudson's Bay Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 April 2018
The managers as well as the store manager have been extremely hard on their employees to meet job tasks. Micro-managed everything that was indeed a bit frustrating. When asking for days off given in 2 months advance was still not accepted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peu de place à la vie de famille
Chef comptoir Lancôme Capitale (Former Employee) –  La Baie, QC22 April 2018
Début 8:00 à 18:30
Différent rapport
Cela m'a permis de voir différente façon de gérer une équipe de travail
Belle philosophie
travaillé avec des personnes qui n'ont pas à cœur le succès de la compagnie
La réussite
Pros
belle équipe d'employés
Cons
horaire de travail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have a wonderful time working with my staff members.I look forward to seeing my regular customers and new customers in the store .
Central cash lead (Current Employee) –  Hudson Bay Vernon20 April 2018
I have worked for the company for five years now and ,I feel that I need a change in a different direction hoping to join your team and give great Quality customer service with a positive friendly attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place of work
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2018
hudsonbay was really cool working. You saw a lot of great merchandise. it was very tiring though. your on your feet all day going up and down shelves to pick up online orders for customers. I one time found merchandise someone was stashing to try and steal and I brought it to the manager and they gave me gift cards in return. So there are some great perks to working there.
Pros
close to ttc
Cons
long hours and far from food places
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 April 2018
Maintain highest customer service.
Listening to customer needs and complains.
Reach and exceed daily selling target.
Build a strong friendly relation with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 April 2018
ensure that the store is clean, make sure maniquins are up to date. with the newest outfits. excellent company culture, good coworkers. music was also great so it helped the shifts pass fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Manitou, MB15 April 2018
it was a good experience to work with different people and to be able to help in different departments. although my personal schedule has conflicts with job schedule and due to that issue I could not handle both situations and have to leave work to focus on my studies, ministry and family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the location
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 April 2018
the location was super close to my house i liked working there but they always deplaced me other departments and it was confusing i wanted to better opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet relaxed place to work
Hudson's Bay Lockerstock, Stock Processor (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON11 April 2018
Often busy with work, yet easily get work done by timeline with help of team members. Here I have learned how to use Motorolla Scanner equipment, ticket making, processing, inventory preparation.
Pros
Do not work weekends
Cons
Have hours cut a few times a year when work is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized & toxic environment
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 April 2018
Atrocious management & toxic culture. Project management doesn't exist & yet timelines are somehow set with awkward high pressure placed on people. Management doesn't understand project specifications themselves or where to even find essential working files, & deflects any responsibility at all times. High turnover rate of good professional people that somehow find themselves in this company — only people that are ok with literally being walked all over stay.
Pros
Cafeteria with good food options
Cons
Unorganized & toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not apply!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC4 April 2018
horrible place to work, lots of favoritism, management doesnt care about their employees only if you sign 10 instant credits a day .management doesn't follow protocols when it comes to conflict or resolution or encourage their staff to follow the dress code. the work atmosphere seems to be "everybody for themselves"
Pros
experience
Cons
low pay, low benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Security
Accounting Clerk - Fixed Assets (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 April 2018
The company has good management and it is a great place to work. The company is located close to home.
They offer great benefits and incentives to staff members.
The hours are flexible and good job security.
Overall it is a great place to work !
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Équipe agréable, beaucoup de pression pour rendement
Conseillère en vente (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC28 March 2018
J'ai bien aimé travailler pour la compagnie La Baie d'Hudson particulièrement grâce a l'équipe d'enfer que nous avions dans notre département. Si vous êtes quelqu'un qui ne gère pas bien la pression je vous déconseille car les rendements sont la base de tout. Si vous n'apporter pas de bons rendements ( ouverture de carte de crédit, émail, etc) vous serez renvoyé très rapidement.
Pros
Équipe, 25% de rabais sur presque tout, relax
Cons
Pression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Import Analyst (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 March 2018
Great work place and excellent working environment!
Everyday fun at work.
Lots area to gather knowledge.
HBC always sale quality products to the store.
Pros
Great people and work environment
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Rexdale, ON26 March 2018
Great incentive for signing customers up for MasterCards, very flexible work hours. Kind and understanding management and associates. Not a busy location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part of a Heritage
Various Roles (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 March 2018
Prepared reports for the management team. Reviewed inventory for various departments throughout the store. Reviewed markdowns with a specific department and processed. Workplace culture was not always consistent with accountability of ALL associates. Hardest part of the job was leaving. Most enjoyable part of the job was meeting some great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Spa Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2018
well maintain customer service. friendly people to work with and flexible hours. Head office are great people and they understand when we need time off.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment. Inclusive culture!
RBO(Retail Business Operations)Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON21 March 2018
Daily review of prior days' report first thing in the morning in order to understand how to apply the available resources for optimum, effective, and efficient goals and objectives
Pros
25% off purchases
Cons
Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
GIFT REGISTRY CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 March 2018
customer service and product knowlege is key. Dealing and learning customer relations becomes a part of you and helps you grow. You have the poitential to grow within but it would take a long time because the managment and organization don't really appriciate the work you put in for them. Personally I have done a lot and started new ways to keep client information but was never really recorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC21 March 2018
-Horrible management, HR management is probably the only one doing their job properly.
-Lots of favoritism
-If you were to get injured, they wouldnt help much at all (management)
-Not enough staff, most of the staff is overworked and underpaid
-A typical day would be you by yourself in one department or on a rare occasion 2. To get 3 people in one department is usually impossible or only happens during big sales. Still not enough workers
-Scheduling is very random and usually very late.
-Lots of drama between the managers and employee's or just employee's vs employee's.
-Not much professionalism
Pros
Experience
Cons
Management, work/life, employee's, low pay/high amount of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hudson's Bay Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,340 reviews
5391
4439
3331
2106
173

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture