House of Friendship Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back volunteering work
Volunteer ESL Teacher, Adults (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 March 2019
I was glad to help new immigrants and people who are interested in learning English as a second language at the House of Friendship. It provided me with the opportunity to be connected and get needed experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Emergency Shelter Worker (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON20 December 2018
A great variety of duties
Active and high energy environment
Room for growth
Ample opportunity to work one on one with clients
Janitorial work required on some shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Hamper Packer
Hamper Packer at the House of Friendship (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON3 November 2018
So far I have really grown to like volunteering at the House of Friendship (Food Bank) as it has not only given me some experience in work here in Canada but has also given me a chance to stay productive, meet new people, and learn something new.
Pros
Volunteer work hours, meeting new people, experience in different areas, allows me to stay productive, good timing
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any place in prince geroge
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC9 January 2018
I have a great experience of cleaning and i do cleaning work in many area, if you will give a chance i will give my best towards my duty, and I am puntual and hardworking also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's hard but I got it
Housekeeper/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 June 2017
It's hard cleaning the house,doing dishes,laundry and swiping the floor without the map,but I'm with my mom so it's okay than seeing her doing it by herself
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive day
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC9 June 2017
i started at the house of friendship center back in 2002 , i was doing a program at this time and they needed a front desk receptionist and i loved computers and work well on phones as well as the team stated i was a great communicator on phone as well as in person with clients and asked if i was able to answer phones as well as direct clients for the day , at the end of the day they stated i done a great job and asked if i could work on call, so i have been ever since for friendship center as well as cowichan tribes
Pros
beautiful place hot lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love singing,dancing and i love children also
walking (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 June 2017
i love sing and dancing and i also love children and i like seeing them happy and i also love babysitting also and one more thing i hate seeing then sad.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC14 February 2016
It was always fun because we went camping, and swimming, and my co-workers were respectful, knowledge, good role models, a typical day at wok was always interesting, and the activities of the day. the most enjoyable was working with kids and gaining knowledge, the hardest was getting them to listen if the kids weren't cooperating
Pros
Snacks and lunches were provided
Cons
nine o'clock to three o'clock
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 April 2015
Wash up and pack 8-10 lunches for residents, eat dinner, do dishes and sanitize stationary and clean up after I was done!
Pros
Free Dinner
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive atmosphere and safe work place that deals with people in need
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  kitchener, On1 July 2013
a typical work day looks like:
-I start off making lunches for the men in the hostel consisting with four sandwiches, cookies, and an apple. usually make 6 lunches
-then I make juice and tea for their meals
-I also prepare for the next day by making juice
-I set the tables for roughly 27 men with knife and fork, fill up the napkin dispenser and fill up the salt and pepper shakers
-then I assist the cook by helping them plate the food
-then I was the dishes used and help clean the working area
-the hardest part of the job is finding more to help out with
-I enjoy see the men of the facility enjoy eating a hot meal
-my co-workers are easy to get along with and help answer questions I may have
- what I learned from this job was being able to work under pressure; being able to wash massive amount of dishes in a short period of time. I'm now able to multi-task

Pros
reasonable break
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 15Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ,community-oriented , and organized
Intake Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 June 2013
Set up people for emergency food hampers
supervised volunteers and BSW interns
cleaned the warehouse
Organized flyers
Pros
People-oriented
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 9Report

See more House of Friendship reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at House of Friendship. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 14 reviews
57
44
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.3Culture