HOTEL WESTIN Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 267 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training went well and I liked my coworkers
Dishwasher/ steward (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC2 January 2019
I typically started at 4pm and finished at 2am so I found it hard to meet people also living in staff accommodation as they were working when I wasn't and I was working when they weren't. Staff Accommodation was quite small. I found the other kitchen staff quite nice and fun to work with.
Pros
Discount of season ski pass
Cons
hours, living space
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth within the hotel is possible through time and effort
HOST (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS2 April 2018
I started off and am currently a host at the hotel restaurant. I've noticed that unless one has the highly valued skill or knows someone already from within, you will not get a "fun" job from the get go. I was told that most people start off as hosts and deal with boring grunt work that eventually integrate to different positions scattered around the hotel depending on what's available. I have found management and coworkers here enjoyable and willing to help out with whatever you need.
Pros
Staff cafe that offers free food and coffee
Cons
The staff cafe offers full course meals every so often (once a month-ish), but get used to PB&J sandwiches, fruit, and coffee as your go to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progessive and enjoyable place to work.
Kessinger & Hunter Property Mgmt (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2018
Class A hotel and convention centre , with a great location in Toronto .Exciting environment to work in with a focus on customer service and a comittment of 100 % uptime of all building systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best job you can have!
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Mont-Tremblant, QC28 February 2018
L'hôtel est incroyable avec des employés très dévouer à leurs travail. Mont-Tremblant est l'endoit où aller travailler. Dans l'un des plus beau environment que vous pouvez avoir.
Pros
passe de ski pour vous et votre conjoint gratuit
Cons
petit village
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
1st cook (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC18 January 2018
the hotel is great and is very rewarding. working in whistler at the westin hotel was one of the best places i worked, unfortunetly i had to move back to Toronto to be cloer to family. food is great and the work was rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 January 2018
I briefly worked at Westin, great management. I enjoyed working with a great team.
The hardest part of the job was completing all assignment on schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I have had!
Line cook / prep work (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 December 2017
great bosses always looking to further you and help you ! great hours and wages ! i would recommend this job to anyone who wants to learn to cook or who as lots of experience!
Pros
Great bosses and wages!
Cons
No free supper for workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woke up happy and blessed to be working at this hotel.
Esthetician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 December 2017
I enjoy working with people who were always excited to get massages, I enjoyed getting the best experience I have ever had. I am so blessed to have such a good career.
Pros
Low cost treatments and breakfast
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great values, workplace and benefits
FOOD AND BEVERAGE OUTLETS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 November 2017
provides good working atmosphere, values and culture, staff motivation, training, room for advancement and great benefits. would definitely recommend people to join the company and stay there for long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and smooth!
Site supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 October 2017
I work in a hotel setting where I constantly engage in guest of the hotel. I spend 80% of time at the main entrance of the hotel and pay attention to who's coming into the hotel and I address all the customers' inquiries and direct them accordingly. I stop the undesired individuals who're trying to come in.
Pros
close to home
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Banquettes server (Current Employee) –  whistler, BC , Canada23 October 2017
Each shift is different, On day you'll be working inside with a group of 30 and the following day you'll be serving a group of 350.. long hours but the pay is good! ( especially for living in whistler)
Great management and it's a good way to make new friends.
Pros
Casual position- choosing your own shifts
Cons
2am finishes can make days long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif
Responsable du complexe sportif (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 October 2017
environnement de travail productif et très agréable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Maintenance for a 5 star Hotel in Winnipeg
Power Engineer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 September 2017
- typical day is start the routine checks of the boilers, pumps, motors, swimming pool PH, then doing the rounds on the other public places of the hotel, such as restaurants, kitchen, laundry area, and lastly the work assigned.
- learned a lot about building maintenance which I can apply to caring for my own home.
- management is an equal opportunity employer.
- good place for advancement if I desire. The management considers internal staff first before looking for external positions to fill.
- hardest part of the job is to place chemicals to the boiler, which is dangerous, in some sense, if one is not conscious or careful of the work procedures.
- the most enjoyable part of the job is to reach level where I just maintain equipment in good working order. Also learning on the job skills.
Pros
generous company benefits, graduated paid breaks and day offs, pension.
Cons
politics within the ranks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Houseman (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 December 2016
The best company I ever worked. The management and colleagues are very friendly,job security as well .

The most attraction is the biggest hotels group in the world. So we will have opportunity to work every where if we have enough experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy hotel
Meeting and Event Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, on3 October 2013
Learning lots and even enjoy how this job enhances my multi-task skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful Place to work ever
Room Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2013
It was my pleasure to work with Westin Edmonton. Would like to work again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more HOTEL WESTIN reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HOTEL WESTIN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 267 reviews
5124
487
336
214
16

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture