Horseshoe Resort Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never go back
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON1 November 2018
The front desk manager was very rude from day one, assuming people are "unfit" for the job ( even when I proved her wrong) Very disorganized with shift and always blamed me for leaving early when I finished my work early and she had nothing else to give me. I voiced my concerns but that didn't seem to be enough. Other staff were great but management was defiantly lacking.
Pros
Great perks
Cons
Have to pay for uniform.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a typical day at work
Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Hillsdale, ON22 October 2018
seated people on and off lifts
reported injuries
got to snowboard and ski after work anytime
management was always helpful when needed
got to go tubing
Pros
ski and snowboard anytime
Cons
working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere poor management
Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Leader, SK8 July 2018
love working with the other staff member I made a lot of friends. the management is very poor. the place is very unorganized and you never get rewarded for your work. i have worked there for 6 years and have never gotten a pay raise. the place is very unprofessional and does not care about its staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff
Rental Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON10 May 2018
Polite, kind, and hard working staff. Always servicing customers with a smile. Always lots of work to do. Free staff pass to the slope if you work there which was a bonus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great seasonal work
Waitress/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Horseshoe Valley, ON4 May 2018
Great place to work in a fast paced environment, great staff and great customers. Horseshoe Resort has many things going for it and an exciting future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, Friendly Staff
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 March 2018
Friendly Staff
Fun Training
Productive days, on feet for hours
very easy schedules
great benefits
fun and organized environment
learned basic cleaning and customer service skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON15 January 2018
It was a great first job, however the management was questionable and so were the working conditions at several points throughout my years there. Break were far and few inbetween as well as shifts were not great! Great people to work with tho!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees, bad management
Receptionist/ Esthetician (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON16 May 2017
working in the spa, the management doesn't treat the employees well. Horseshoe itself, will only employ part-time to avoid paying benefits. lots of hour cuts. not reliable. the drive is very dangerous in the winter and its just not worth the work.
Pros
free skiing etc.
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Ski Instructor (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON8 April 2017
A typical day at work is pretty busy we normally get a 30 minute break between classes sometimes more all depends on booking. i like working there all the staff are nice.
Pros
discounts on everything, free ski pass
Cons
schedule is never really set, things can change at anytime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Auditor
Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON25 January 2017
A typical day at work is processing all the receipts from the different outlets of the resort and closing out the day. I have learned a lot about time management. The hardest part of the job is that it is an 8 hour shift from 11pm-7am which is hard on the body and internal clock.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for people who love outside
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 January 2017
lots of time outside cleaning and maintaing the resort, cutting grass, wattering flowers, and fixing irregation. great to work for.
Pros
outside
Cons
early start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
guests are enjoyable
QUALITY CHECKER ROOM ATTENDANT (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON17 November 2016
Busy days, fast paced, great co-workers. guests are enjoyable to interact with and ensure their vacation is memorable . up grades around resort are great for guests
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping is horrible here
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON1 June 2016
Rooms were a total pain to clean. The only incentive is getting tips, however the front desk or other staff that went in and stripped your beds before you would rob you of any tips. Once this happened, you'd lose all motivation and just drag your feet all day since it was totally unfair. If you do housekeeping here, my suggestion is to get your room list in the morning and then check all your vacant rooms right away to get any tips that were left.

Oh and forget about advancing here. It's well known that every year they let everyone go and start with a fresh group of employees next year. Not just housekeepers either. Everyone. Managers and all.

And its minimum wage and parttime hours.
Pros
Freedom to take breaks whenever
Cons
Horrible pay for lots of work. Tip theifs
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Adventure Park Staff (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON22 May 2016
Workdays are exciting. Staff are very friendly and fun to work with. supervisors are kind and attentive. Overall a very welcoming environment.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Working outdoors in bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Resort Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 May 2016
They use you so full time employees can take their vacations. If you ask for a day off forget about it. Co workers blame you for stuff. They will set you up to fail! Too many bosses not enough workers!
Pros
It's a pay cheque
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, nice place to work
Head Baker /Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oro medonte3 April 2016
Enjoyable place to work, but... for steady employment not the best place. If this was a more all year resort without months of slow period would stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I've ever worked.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 February 2016
Zero room for advancement. Tips left in the rooms for house keeping we're divided for maintenance and desk staff. Only received tips when considered full time and management kept most of the staff's hours just under full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Ski Coach (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON17 April 2015
horseshoe resort is my home. I have been skiing there since I was 2, racing since I was 7 and have now worked 4 years as a coach and instructor. Everyone is happy to see you and always a fun and relaxed environment. Although lifting up children all day can be tiring, it is worth it when you see a child skiing for their first time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Supervisor /Senior Attendant (Former Employee) –  Barrie5 April 2015
I loved my job! Great People to work with! Fun environment to work in. Very friendly! Good management! Decent pay and benefits!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high volume, fast paced, managers were more than fair, diplomatic
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oro-Medonte, ON17 March 2015
High Volume accounts payables.
Had to email co-workers for packing slips more than once, however other co-workers knew how much their co-operation helped me in my job.
Their was an abrupt change in GM.
Contacts were helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horseshoe Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 29 reviews
56
410
36
21
16

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.3Culture

Horseshoe Resort Reviews by Location