Horizon North Manufacturing Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very different and an enjoyable work enviroment
General Helper (Former Employee) –  Jansen, SK13 September 2018
I've learned a lot about safety working with Horizon North Logistics. I really enjoyed the management and my fellow co workers .. i believe in safe and comfortable work enviroment
Pros
I enjoyed the free lunches
Cons
long hours yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was interesting
Field Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops BC9 July 2018
Workday 7 am to 5 pm
I learned a bit about Safety and about construction
Management was fair
Most people were good to work with
Hardest part was not enough work sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I absolutely love it here!
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB, (camp job)25 May 2018
I've worked here for about a year and i would be sad to leave, but unfortunately i need to take my next step. This has been the best place so far that i have worked at
Pros
Great environment
Cons
away from home 3 weeks at a time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, management is hard to deal with
Project Manager/Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 April 2018
People were always great to deal with on a daily. The upper management could be difficult to deal with at times, when it would come to changing process and systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations
Operations Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 April 2018
The company can be unorganized, but overall not bad management is good pay isn't bad work/life balanced isn't considered by the company in any respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly rated the safest company
Billing Administrator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2018
Exceptional human relation. Cooperative staff. Fun filled and friendly environment with the right attitude to work.
Everyone's idea is respected.
Clients always applaud excellent services received.
Pros
Social gathering
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HNL was challenging in a positive minded setting.
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB15 November 2017
I learned day to day operations, systems and procedures coupled with managing staff to perform well and remain productive with an assurance of self worth. I also learned HR and Safety related matters to an extensive degree.
I learned you are only as good as the people surrounding you and the importance of maintaining a productive safe environment coupled with support for staff.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
I had to work on New Year's Day with the auditor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company requires overall restructuring to improve Building Quality
Consultant Hotel Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC26 July 2017
Venturing into Hotels from OIL & Gas Camps construction and needs to modify all processes to be competitive.. Time scheduling of construction of 9 months is to tight, can not be met with a quality product.
Pros
Very well compensated.
Cons
No structure or experience in Building construction and its processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB8 June 2017
I worked there for three and half years and it was one of the best times of my life. My co workers are what made it so great. They were nice and funny and just great people to be around. I didn't get along with everyone but that's to be expected with working so many people. I'd definitely would work there again if I had a chance.
Pros
Free lunches, freezies on hot days, good people, good pay
Cons
Not enough overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place full of Knowledge
Apprentice Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB14 May 2017
At this company i gained most of my experience as a carpenter working with all types of people and trades working in a big team environment. Building floors walls sheeting drywall installing stairs and building stairs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great palce
Payroll Administrator/Accounts Receivables (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB28 April 2017
Loved working there and the people were great. Great benefits and fair salary. Our HR lady was amazing which made a huge difference in our office. Overall great place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is good,0 management
Lead Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Alberta23 February 2017
Worked there for 4 years loved the jobband the crew....evryrhing else is horrible.

Management is so unorganized and so much wasted money,im surprised they are still in buisness or atleast been bought out by a stronger company.

On top of the daily stuff managment and above continually roll over at the cost of the workers one example is the living arrangements (if they actually remember) when you arrive at site or training.

Avoid at all costs if you can this is not a healthy work environment for anyone its cancerous and spreads from the top
Pros
Lol camp lunch/dinner
Cons
Almost everything besides the actual crew leads and lower
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to work for.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB8 January 2017
The Truck Drivers and some of the office staff were good to work with but some of the management needed more training before they were put in the position they were in.
Pros
Great work and Pay was good.
Cons
Management needed to be trained better to deal with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working indoors,good co-worker relationships,product satisfaction
Plant Foreman (Current Employee) –  Okanagan Falls, BC8 January 2017
A whole process from steel skeleton to finished high end home. Good team environment. Schedule and deadlines to meet. Sub trades to organize at various stages of the build. Management of a team
Pros
Being in control of an entire process of a build
Cons
hard to meet deadlines. Un adequate sub trade work. Keeping people motivated
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horizons building with Horizon North
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan, Canada22 September 2016
Fantastic organization with great leadership and company culture. The company is supportive and always willing to reach out to the team members and community to offer support and advancement.
Pros
Salary, Culture, Leadership
Cons
Time away in a FIFO role from the family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
service hand (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB1 September 2016
its a job. was a good place in the beginning and then a management change and now more dictated to than ask to be part of a process. hollow safety program. tons of paperwork with no follow through on major issues.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good and responsible employer.
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC21 July 2016
Working at Horizon was a good experience overall . It was a challenging environment due to the business climate, major management changes and some job culture issues .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
SERVICE TECHNICAN (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB1 June 2016
It was a good company to work for & if I didn't move I would have never quit or they had a shop in central Alberta I would have transfered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviroment
labourer full time (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB23 November 2015
Was a great to work, but lack of work caused most to be laid off. Worked 4 days of 12 hr shifts, 4 days off. learned how to work well in a team setting, also to preform tasks on my own, in a efficient mannor.
Pros
Great Benifits/staff
Cons
Laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and safe work place
superviors/forman (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB20 October 2015
it was a great place to work /good staff and met a lot of good people. learned a lot of things and had great rewards program great management that cares about how there staff feels. Very big on the safety witch is good cause the more we where safe about things we got points for are reward program which had great prizes. So lots of incentives to always follow safety procedures. Also got points for all hours worked
Pros
reward program
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horizon North Manufacturing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 31 reviews
511
411
36
22
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
4.0Culture

Horizon North Manufacturing Reviews by Location