Hoover Mechanical Plumbing & Heating

Hoover Mechanical Plumbing & Heating Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and get good experience
Apprentice Plumber (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 October 2019
Hoover is a massive company so every site/foreman is very different. Overall it's a good company and if you show promise a lot of foreman will teach you a lot. Some foreman can be really hard to work with but I think that happens with a lot of companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working peers.
Plumber (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 July 2019
Fickle market and new owners culture. Some questionable ways of managing workers but overall a good place to work.
Pros
greet peers
Cons
Need to track the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, and goal orientated.
labour/apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2019
I spent a little over a year with Hoover Mechanical on the Commercial side. It was pretty steady hours working 7-3:15 occasionally getting the odd site that allows for ot. I have learned a lot from some good jmen, like how to properly assemble a pump together in a Mecanical room.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
can get transferred around a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend
Apprentice Plumber (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 February 2019
The employee turnover is so high, I seen 3 or 4 apprentice let go every week just at my site. Then 3 or 4 more hired to replace them. I liked the people I work with, but this company needs to invest in the people not treat them as disposable. Zero feedback from management on your performance and if you look at someone wrong your gone.
Pros
None
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to be employed
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 August 2018
Poorly run, no experienced guys. Hardly anyone has a ticket there. Even guys that are in key positions don’t have tickets. Sad. People expected to use their own vehicles for company use.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labourer
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2017
I only worked as a labourer for a couple of months during the summer.
Good guys to work with.
My two roommates at the time were my bosses- that made work that much funner.
Seemed like a good company for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for and I learned alot
Apprentice Plumber (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 January 2017
i worked for hoover mechanical plumbing and heating edmonton division for over a year and it was a great experience. the crew and supervisors are easy to get along with.
Pros
free lunch sometimes
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, with a few fun employees
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 December 2016
Work harder than the guy above you
Get your education fast
In today's economy the newest, the weakest, or the laziest on the job gets let go first
Pros
Great co-workers, lots of help with learning on the job
Cons
Don't bother applying if you are not Superman or Captain America
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend any 1st or 2nd period plumber working for them
Apprentice Plumber/Gasfitter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 November 2016
Basic day as a plumber, but most of their lead plumbers havent gone to school or have dropped out of their 1st period. no job security always being threatened to being fired. they say they are a family company, but are not understanding if you cant work late because your child has soccer. threaten to fire you if you dont work overtime, but you are constantly that it is optional
Pros
decent pay
Cons
alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for work
Helper of plumber (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 October 2016
I worked for Hoover for 2 years. Coworkers and management are helpful. Awesome team. I feel myself as part of it from a very beginning.
Pros
great environment
Cons
sometimes it was cold outside in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow your career, enjoy what your doing, and make friends at the same time.
2nd yr plumber/gasfitter B (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2016
Overall I was very impressed with my time at hoover mechanical they are a very professional company that are high on safety which makes you more safety conscious. I believe I wouldn't be where i am today without what this company did for me, so to anyone who wants to apply here if you work hard and show up you'll fit in just fine here. Good atmosphere great people and a good steady paycheck await you here.
Pros
pizza days now and then
Cons
sometimes longer days are needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and Diverse
apprentice plumber (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 January 2016
Hoover Mechanical was a very welcoming and beneficial company. I picked up on helpful portions of information almost every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hoover Mechanical Plumbing & Heating. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
53
46
31
20
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Hoover Mechanical Plumbing & Heating Reviews by Job Title

Hoover Mechanical Plumbing & Heating Reviews by Location