HomeSense Employee Reviews

Found 179 reviews matching the search See all 242 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Warehouse associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC11 July 2019
recieve truck every morning then work in teams and individually. Fun place to work really enjoyed my time there and made awesome friends. The pay for the amount of work I was doing was not enough.
Pros
people
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier at Homesense (it was ok)
Part-time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON6 July 2019
Management doesn’t really value their employees, nice co-workers but not really a nice atmosphere as a whole. With this job I would recommend getting another job because the hours are very sparse, especially after Christmas when they don’t “need” part- time workers anymore.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
No hours/no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products and fun working space.
Frontline sales associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC2 July 2019
Homesence is great place to work if your a student or semi retired as most hours are part-time. There sre some opportunity for fulltime. Customer service skills a asset and or supervisor skills. Handling of money's is a asset. But they do have full training as well.
Pros
Flexible scheduled.
Cons
You need to be fulltime for benifits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
few hours
Cashier/Customer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 June 2019
working at homesense is alright however not enough hours are being given and the updated availability is not being met. Management is rude and do not listen when being spoken to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and fun place to work
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2019
Enjoyable fellow employees
Management really cares
early mornings are pretty tough with shipment
A lot of good finds while your working and a pretty good selection
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work but horrible staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON27 May 2019
I worked here for about 2 months before I had enough and quit. I started working right away without any training, yet I was expected to know everything. I enjoyed stocking the shelves and making the store look neat, but the other employees were very rude and would mock how I was doing things wrong, and still wouldn't help/train me.
Pros
Getting first dibs on items and a discount
Cons
Rude employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive workforce
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 May 2019
Tight knit employees with fun oriented activities. Was a perfect first job after highschool, good interpersonal and professional practice for future jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Temporary opportunites
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON18 April 2019
While the work environment and the store employees are pleasant and fun to work with, the company expects a lot from you with little to no reward.

While you may be hired as a cashier, you will be expected to work the floor merchandise, unload daily stock, perform warehouse duties, move customers furniture from the floor to the registers and to the cars, and many other positions for the same hourly rate.

There is no such thing as being hired to do one specific role.
Which would be fine except the company prefers to push you to perform three jobs at once rather than bring in some extra staff.

Raises are done by the cents and the employee discount is very very low.

Longtime employees (5-10 years) are consistently looked over for advancement opportunities.

All in all, I did actually enjoy working here, however, I was disheartened that in order to make more money and obtain a higher position, I had to leave the company to do so.

Recommend for students who can handle extreme multitasking and are physically fit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Seasonal Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON17 April 2019
I was mostly a cashier there. The training was ok, not very in depth but that may have been because I was seasonal. After 2 of the months on the contract they stopped calling me. The culture is nice, it's mostly women and they're friendly enough. The customers are nice too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC2 April 2019
As my first job, everyone was so welcoming and kind and helped with letting me know what had to be done around the store. Management was caring and very understanding of my schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB23 March 2019
selling things to people and helping them with their needs. management was great, and the culture was great. shelves were always stocked. unloading trucks is hectic but fun and interesting due to things you see.
Cons
early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun place to be
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON21 March 2019
working here it is never a dull moment, with the right management working, you're sure to have a good time. Only downfall I can speak on is, the rules are very strict and very tight, not to say rules aren't important, however, sometimes it clouded judgement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, welcoming and energizing work environment
Part- Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON5 March 2019
Each shift is a reminder of the amazing work environment. kind staff, management is timely respectful and willing. workplace culture is healthy, appropriate and encouraging.
Pros
The workplace environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stittsville, ON27 February 2019
Good work environment, loved working with everyone. Learned very valuable costumer service skills. There was always work to be done, never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 February 2019
Lots to do always. Need to be able to work well with a team. Must be capable of heavy lifting. Must work in different departments. Lots of nice things to look at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you are a newcomer to Canada
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2019
The management is very friendly and flexible when it comes to scheduling the shift. The most enjoyable part is as an employee you are eligible for 10% discount at any of the TJX stores.
Pros
good place to shop around for a variety of clothing and homegoods.
Cons
standing for long hours at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Cashier, merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 January 2019
Being at HomeSense was so fun and the staff was great when I worked there. Management was iffy but its been a while since I worked there so its probably changed, honestly a really great job overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 December 2018
very flexible hours
nice friendly people
give extra time for breaks
mix of age groups
good entry level
good company to move up in
lame discounts(only 10% off)
discount applies to winners and Marshalls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Representative/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 December 2018
Good experience and friendly environment where you can learn helping customers, workmates and work in professional environment, also multitasking and solve any situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very hard worker.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON23 October 2018
I would stock the shelves, or help customers.
I learned that not everyone needed help.
It wasn't the greatest.
Wasn't very friendly.
Just walking around and doing nothing since i already did everything.
Knowing that i was the fastest worker.
Pros
I was the fastest worker.
Cons
The management wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HomeSense. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 242 reviews
579
490
345
219
19

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture