HOME TRUST COMPANY Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Deposit Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2018
I do not know where to start. The orientation was the only positive thing. Firstly, I received little to no adequate training for the role whatsoever and found it difficult to work due to a lack of guidance or training. Secondly, the work was very unrelated to what I expected to do. It was just data entry and involved no interaction with brokers and no AML related tasks that I thought I would be doing. Thirdly, all of my co workers were rude, noisy, talked about no work related things, and were very critical . There was one particular person who was supposed to help me out but was very rude and reluctant. I am glad I left as early as I could
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Annoying coworkers, unprofessional staff, terrible management, lack of training, constant criticism, false job advertising
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Call Centre Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 August 2018
Atmosphere is relaxed even though it is a fast-paced customer service environment. Leaders are supportive. There are lots of opportunities for growth and many entry-level opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2018
I have learned a lot at Home. I really enjoy working with the people in this business as well as the challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job was working as a team to meet the IFRS9 deadline.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed with the work atmosphere!
AML Investigator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2018
Not impressed with the work atmosphere!
Highly unmotivated upper management, my Direct manager is always complaining about the upper management!
No work life balance!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment but company is overall behind the times
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2018
- Friendly work environment
- Trending upwards with new management in place
- Promotion opportunities available
- Balance of dull work with average salary not rewarding
Pros
Games room recently opened
Cons
VERY repetitive work day to day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unfair and unhealthy culture
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2018
My review is based on my experience, basically the VP I work for. She is highly incompetent for the role, very biased and racist. My predecessors have left the position and moved to other team. The HR and CIO is aware of this, there have been complains in past, and HR recommends to not waste time on trying to fix the situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good work/life balance, amazing management
Residential Mortgage Lending, Mortgage Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 April 2018
Home trust has a great work/life balance. Management is phenomenal with coaching and helping staff.

Great peers who are always willing to help and train in areas of need.
Pros
amazing work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Mortgage Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 March 2018
The co overall was great place. The business is excellent and the company would continue to be a great one back again. I think in due course would be back to the top
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well and good benifits
MORTGAGE ORIGINATOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
Company provided a good rate of pay and benefits which kicked in right off the bat. Management was mediocre. Company was going through a lot of changes but I hear things have improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunch rooms available to be able to get away and enjoy your lunch/break.
Mortgage Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2018
It was a busy place to be. Dealt with numerous emails, called clients, brokers and solicitors. Enjoyed being with the other staff members, created a comaraderie while work was being done. Sometimes it involved late evenings. Depending on which department, you may have been paid or not for working extra.
Pros
Some beverages provided, such as coffee, juice and some soda.
Cons
long hours, training and advancement wasn't readily available
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst/ Sr. Operations Analyst
Merchant Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2018
primary facilitator between the business and IT team, with the objective to identify and deliver optimized solutions that satisfy business needs and provide value to stakeholders
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with some poor management choices
Manager (Former Employee) –  King Street West, Toronto22 January 2018
The company has had some recent hard times and unfair prejudice but i still believe it is a good sold company. Past management choices have been based on nepotism but the company was looking to correct this and hopefully has made the required changes to bring it back to a good working atmosphere.
Pros
35 hour work week, decent benefits, good people to work with
Cons
Nepotism in promotions given
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative place
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2018
people are constantly bullied, threatened, over worked, under paid, and there is no support from the horrible management and or HR.....................
Pros
good location
Cons
no support, no job security, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Senior Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 January 2018
culture is good here, the company has changed around and is more stable, good CEO, management has turned around and is much better. Training is much more assessable.
Pros
pizza lunches
Cons
need flex time initiated and more work at home opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Mortgage Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2017
Productive and fun place to work, good managers always willing to listen and help. The hardest part of the job was when the system was slow but when it was up it was fast. Enjoyed working with a good team.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
slow system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive environment
Business Intelligence Developer (Former Employee) –  145 King Street West9 August 2017
Interactive environment, everyone is there to help you. People are fun and approachable

Not much room to take career to next level. Work can get a little repetitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Legal Specialist, Default Recovery (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2017
HTC is a pleasure to work for because the atmosphere is very laid back, yet professional. I really enjoy working with my colleagues because they were like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Mortgage Originator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2017
Fast paced environment, excellent culture of hard work and determination. Management could provide better training.
Informal work environment, systems are slightly antiquated but are improving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic environment with industry leading software implementations
Senior QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
Its a great environment and opportunity to enhance skills on latest software, Business rules and implementation challenges. Amazing team who are always there to support anyday anytime.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Soft on slackers too
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Workplace
Mortgage Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 May 2017
Great Place to work at- great individuals with creative way of looking at different mortgage scenarios and helpful teams that support you at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HOME TRUST COMPANY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 40 reviews
58
414
312
22
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

HOME TRUST COMPANY Reviews by Location