Home Hardware Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serving customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON17 April 2018
A typical day would be serving customers and putting stock back in its place. It was a great place to work because you could test out multiple departments and learn at least the basis from each area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Parry Sound, ON17 April 2018
great place for a student who is looking for part time jobs. nice and quiet and never to much commotion. always feel like apart of a family working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short lived, seasonal
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Osoyoos, BC17 April 2018
Met lots of interesting people the summer I worked there. Had a good time with the other people I worked with. Wasn't a difficult job, but was laid off due the store closing at 5:00 and me having school.
Pros
Cool people
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment that requires limited.............
Associate (Former Employee) –  Ontario14 April 2018
Stale corporate work environment that requires limited innovation, creativity or personal drive. Perfect fit for those who do not wish to apply themselves physically or mentally, enjoy performing repetitive thoughtless task at hand and thrive within a poorly managed head office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and busy workplace.
Dept Head plumb/heating/electrical (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON11 April 2018
Love working with the public and helping them purchase the items they require.

Have established a proven return customer traffic. Almost every item a customer requests, can be purchased immediately or ordered in for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC10 April 2018
As per any job you have to prove yourself, once you do great atmosphere to work in, great health benefits, willing to teach and support. I believe advancement is possible and creativity welcomed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Materials handler, picker and cleanup (Former Employee) –  St. Jacobs, ON10 April 2018
Home hardware is an exceptional place to work. Their is much to learn and a wide variety of jobs to do. The people who work their are for the most part friendly.
Pros
Cheep lunches, good hours, enjoyable work, positive work envrionment
Cons
Can have strange hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the most part a good work environment.
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON7 April 2018
Home hardware is a good company that has a good work environment. Being good with working with and helping people is key to working there. Working there really helped me learn about construction and hardware.
Pros
Good hours, flexible
Cons
Heavy labour, minimum wage, low job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a very likable boss and supervisors and employees
Co-op (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON6 April 2018
The work as a warehouse worker is not very complicated but if you ever need help it is always safe to ask and working with the customers is always a fun experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the job, management was fighting amongst them selves.
elabourermployee (Former Employee) –  fort st john4 April 2018
Management was weird. Other staff said they like to cause friction among staff. H.R. lady would spy on workers while they worked.
It seemed that the management lacked people skills.
Pros
Staff was pretty good. always tried their best.
Cons
Management was shifty. Seemed to try to turn staff against one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great spot to work if you like being out side and meeting people
Lumber Yard Labourer (Former Employee) –  Sussex, NB4 April 2018
I liked working here I stayed over 3 years, hard work but nice being outside! I learned how to deal with customers and count lumber at the same time while dealing with stressful deadlines.
Pros
Great being outside!
Cons
Schedule not consistant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, courteous staff and customers
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Bobcaygeon, ON27 March 2018
fun and enjoyable place to work. Lots to learn and ever changing. Each customer comes with a different request, so you find the best possible solutions for them.
Pros
flexible lunch time, 1 hr or less, depending on workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job as a first time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wabamun, AB27 March 2018
Enjoyed my bosses and learning customer service through this. I got this job when I was 16 so it was a nice way to learn about job expectations. would probably have stayed if I didnt go to college XD
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Osoyoos, BC23 March 2018
i really enjoyed working here, the staff was like a family, the job was a good learning experience and the hours were there.

i never had to worry about being able to pay rent and always had something to do.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un-managable
Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Fernie, BC14 March 2018
No communication
No opportunities
No decent wages
No trust
No direction

Camera used for staff production - not for theft

Employment standards Act not followed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was productive and safe envoirnment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Delta bc12 March 2018
I learned how to handle various amounts of money. I got along well with staff and enjoyed how flexible and easy they are to communicate with. Overall was a safe happy working envoirment with great staff
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place now
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 March 2018
Back when i worked here my manager was absolutely terrible and treated me like sort of a slave, not treating me like the higher up employees, but now it is way better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moyennement
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Mont laurier8 March 2018
Exploitation employé fonctionnement de entreposé inadéquat au sein des employé
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kemptville, ON7 March 2018
- Welcoming and inclusive
- Safe work environment
- Fair working conditions
- Superiors were very approachable
- Straightforward job training
- Flexible with scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first full-time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 March 2018
Working at Home Hardware was a great job to get into the work force or retail. It taught me how to work the store on my own, deal with customers on a daily basis, how to deal with stock and shipment, and allowed some creative visualizing for the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Hardware. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 412 reviews
5148
4145
383
224
112

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture