Home Hardware Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitve
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Picton, ON9 August 2018
CEO Cheerful, Managers not so Enthusiastic, and a good pair of Glasses would be a commodity! Weekly repetition of Duties, and some Knowledge of Building And Construction would be An Asset, or there is room to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and management.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nelson, BC1 August 2018
People were good. Management was good. Always a consistent schedule. I overall enjoyed my time with Home Hardware. Only thing that could have improved was the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative, Stressful Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Battleford No. 437, SK31 July 2018
The parasitic investment firm that acquired this place several years ago has completely destroyed it. There is nothing pleasant about the job. The managers are all paranoid freaks, spending more of their precious time worrying whether you are discussing them (we were!) than doing anything to help pull this place out of the hole its owners have dropped it into!
The only culture in this place is attempting to avoid the pathetic excuse for a manger and her purposeless, little green Memo Binder. Oh, and then there was the needless radios. You could not take a break without the head cheese interrupting it with her radio. All so you could come to show someone what a screw was!
This place is pathetic, and the HH corporation needs to reacquire it from its current owners before their reputation is completely destroyed!
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work for a great company and a very family oriented workplace
Front Cashier and Service desk (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON28 July 2018
- cashier, helping customers with products and advice
-learn about house maintenance, mechanics, plumbing,paint, electrical and how to effectively communicate with satisfied and unsatisfied customers.
-The management is fair,flexible and friendly yet stern when needed.
- the workplace atmosphere feels like a family.
-the most enjoyable part is helping customers and making them happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC25 July 2018
It was a great learning experience. I learned a lot about home remodeling, plumbing and electrical. I answered phones and dealt mostly with he public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 July 2018
Family buisness, we had lots of regular customers to always come in a brighten up the day. The enviornent as a whole was always friendly and warm and i really enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NB12 July 2018
wake up pickup wood scraps from the pallets
stack wood sweep floors
load customer vehicles
very warm in the summer
bring sunscreen at work
dont lift with your back lift with your legs.
never forget your steel toes
ball hockey net in the back during lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace, friendly staff
customer service, completed store inventory (Former Employee) –  Gravenhurst, ON11 July 2018
Working at the Home Hardware in Gravenhurst was a good summer job, the customers were very nice and the staff is very helpful and polite. It is a positive atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Casselman, ON11 July 2018
Really good job for students. Get an immersive experience into the sales world + getting a valuable network.

Should respect/treat employees better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Leaf Rapids, MB11 July 2018
Typical small town business. Friendly outgoing staff that knew you by name and was sure to great you with a smile when you walked in. Treated everyone entering with respect..
Pros
Worked with my family
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful place to work and good management
Cashier and Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  1841 Wilson avenue.10 July 2018
Working at Home Hardware a typical day at work would be going in the store and everyone is very greeting and willing to help you.The management is very efficient and always standing next to you helping you with everything.It is a positive working environment although one of the hard parts of our job is that employees have to lift very heavy equipment.Lastly the most enjoyable part of the job is that the people that work there are always so friendly and that makes the day goes by pleasantly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bel environnement de travail
Caissier, Commis (Current Employee) –  Saint-donat, QC8 July 2018
Bel environnement de travail, plaisir, professionalisme
Pros
Rabais sur tout
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant staff
Sales Associate and Yard Worker (Current Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB5 July 2018
While working here I experienced some of the best times of my young life. The years I worked here I grew close enough to some people that I'd dare call them family. A day of work consists of being greeted by nearly everyone and given some direction on what needs to be done. The hardest part can be dealing with one of the owners. He can get a little over the top.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Tough leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Receiving and Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Hinton, AB27 June 2018
Fun productive environment to work in. being and good management. from what I can remember it was a good place to work at for a starting job as a kid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Warehouse Receiver (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC14 June 2018
ok place to work. good starting place if you are looking to get into the workforce, employees are really friendly and helpful

boss is pretty good as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Customer Service Representative (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Bridlewood, ON13 June 2018
What can I say. Customers always seem to make the shifts a little more enjoyable. A typical day would be stock shelves, help customers with items or use the cash. I liked helping customers, management was alright. I learned that I am more of an introvert. The hardest part was usually the customer as they usually don't understand certain thing and no matter the way it's explained, they never seem to understand
Pros
Assisting in a Canadian Company
Cons
Long days, moody customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Minden, ON13 June 2018
not a very friendly place to work they go right by the rules. to strict
very unprofessional
couldn't even use Lysol wipes to clean . TOO EXPENSIVE . gross germs
Pros
one hour lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is hard work
Courier Driver (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB12 June 2018
Enjoy haul 14000kg wood on truck
Work with good supervisor
Drive over Edmonton and out of town communicate with customer mostly
Work only mon to fri
No weekend
Work with owner too
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work enviorment.
Sales Associate/Repairs / Home Hardware (Former Employee) –  Westport, ON6 June 2018
If you enjoy dealing with the public this is the perfect job for you. Dealing with all different kinds of people all day and problem solving for them.
Pros
regular work hours
Cons
average wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 June 2018
i didnt work there for very long but the short time i spent there was an enjoyable one and the only reason i even wrote this is becaus this dumb website made me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Hardware. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 449 reviews
5160
4156
393
225
115

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture