Holiday Inn Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like enjoy working in holiday inn clark
Sr. Housekeeping Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  PH12 October 2017
we are unique.we are all like brothers and sisters.everybody working well in each department. we are like a very very big family.i really love working in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the alone time i had when working
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON12 October 2017
very physical work....but kept me in great shape, i loved the time alone as i was doing the rooms, tips were pretty decent, some rooms were trashed which is sad that people can be that disrespectful.
Pros
good hours
Cons
long hours and worked every weekend which was hard because weekends are for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Employee (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB8 October 2017
Management not systematic..not a good place to work for improvement specially for the employees.With the new owner,I doubt people will stay and work longer.Some are nice and some are not,but overall evaluation poor management system.Hopefully they improve that,the place is quite good to stay, security wise,people are so friendly.
Employees were working so hard but they don't deserve of they were receiving. They don't have a good benefit offered,considering there regular employees is just working less that 25 hours per week..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
glad to get the job so easily
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB3 October 2017
Hours were not consistent and management was not organized training wasn't sufficient and the expectations sometimes seemed impossible. none the less it was a job for the time i had it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC2 October 2017
toxic workplace culture, front desk to housekeeping badmouths senior management, management is not considerate of salary and tries to squeeze the lemon out of you in terms of salary, nothing much enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great line level staff but ownership can improve
Meeting Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON29 September 2017
New ownership has not been a good support to staff and needs of hotel. Promises not kept and management does not respond to employee needs.
Major improvements needed but still not started for this hotel.
Pros
free lunches & dry cleaning
Cons
no increases or all the needed supplies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall best place I worked
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 September 2017
This was probably the best place I have ever been employed at. Great benefits. Very positive work people. Awesome co workers, and I very quick fast paced work environment, which is the type of setting I love working in.
Pros
Everything was awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB27 September 2017
Was a very relaxed place to work awesome management and overall great team to work with....loved their policies and the hours as well.....................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Front Desk Agent/ Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB24 September 2017
Pretty easy going job great people personally i think we are understaffed for front desk i think hiring another person will improve the work quality here
Pros
Cheap hotel rates
Cons
work and social balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
BARTENDER/ MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2017
My experience working there was very good.
Friendly atmosphere among employees.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with great people who were hard working, loyal, trustworthy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB22 September 2017
I'm not here to bash anyone from applying. if its something you like, do it.
they are friendly people, but you have to like housekeeping.
a job is what you like not what people say about it.
do a job because you want to be there
Pros
friendly people
Cons
non paid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning a hotel.
Hotel Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON20 September 2017
A typical day included stripping down a room after guests leave, clean and sanitize the room, make the bed with clean linens. Scrub the bathroom and sanitize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Hotel
Reservation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 September 2017
Doesnt treat their employees well, would not recomend this hotel to anyone, very unprofessional, they dont take pride in their jobs, they dont respect their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Hotel
Food and Beverage Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ontario, canada9 September 2017
Close to 100% occupancy on a daily basis.

Very busy hotel, which works close to the community. We are lucky to have lots of big companies in our area which provides business all year round
Pros
Good staff and management team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Truro, NS7 September 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is being independent, everyone is so nice there, and if you really need help you can just go ask the management and they will assist in helping with whatever you need help with
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
No set shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, great team, happy customers
Food & Beverage Director (Current Employee) –  winnipeg airport1 September 2017
IHG (holiday inn) is a great company to work for great staff and management incentives. i strive to provide top of the line customer servive. every guest should have a smile on their face when they walk in and a bigger smile when they walk out knowing that they had an amazing stay and an amazing hotel with staff members that produce outstanding service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Holiday Inn is bad to its employees
House Keeping (Part time) (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON26 August 2017
Before i got to the Holiday in it was said to be a relaxed and friendly environment but management in many departments didn't care about the employees.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with excellent people that make it hard to leave.
Room Service Server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 August 2017
Enjoyed my 3 years working with this company. Kind managers, reliable co-workers who are eager to take a chance on people and give them training. You never know what will come through that door.
Pros
$3/day off your cheque and basically eat whatever you want off the menu!
Cons
Never know what will come through the doors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Hinton, AB20 August 2017
Little issue with the management but overall, the company is great. All staffs are great. My manager at front desk is very open with request offs. Little issues with the manager but that is normal at a workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interaction with clientelle
Night Auditor & Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON19 August 2017
you learn a great deal on the term "customer service" and what that entails. You learn to adapt to situations that happen instantly with guests' (good/bad). You also get well at problem solving on your feet, and learn how to react in emergency situations where you are the safety net for the hotel.

Working with the other staff is always great, but it can be difficult as well. With a 24/hr business and a lot of shift changes, communication can get lost. That is always an ongoing process.
Pros
Discounts on other location
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holiday Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,566 reviews
53.7K
43.1K
32.3K
2727
1700

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture