Holiday Inn Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday Inn Airport -a fun place to work
Director of Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 February 2018
this hotel is a learning curve for everyone who works there.

rooms and banquet rooms were not in the best shape but its reputation sold itself.

Not a bad place to work
Pros
free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad lace
Sous chef (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 February 2018
This was a great job great people just was not a good balance of family and work and I had applied to the military and got accepted and thought it would be a good balance
Pros
Great place close to home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meetings and party set up
Banquet Porter, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 February 2018
i learned to go the extra mile at the Holiday Inn, loved working there but 2 years without a raise made it tough to stay, hours where up and down, but i did enjoy working there and helping customers and the team i worked with
Pros
free dinner
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, simple job
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON5 February 2018
long hours but the job is simple. The days are very much the same day after day. management was great while I worked there. The hardest part was the hours
Pros
Good management
Cons
over night hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun, good team building, good with school schedules
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB5 February 2018
I really enjoyed working here. The staff were friendly, the management team was good and they were good with being flexible around school schedules. This was the perfect student job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace great opportunity good attitude
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 February 2018
Productive fun workplace great opportunity, good attitude, welcoming others communication skills, organization skills, team player, great environment.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
25 maybe half hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like other holiday inn
Enginneer (Current Employee) –  montreal qc4 February 2018
good place to work for. budgets always an issue for them. that' becoming hard to get supplies for repair and maintenance of the place.seems like a greed is in the way.
Pros
Ok work place
Cons
There is Better..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
House Keeping (Former Employee) –  Toronto,on30 January 2018
nice work place,good team work and excellent management. i learn team work and work discipline, also work under pressure.i definitely recommend this hotel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hotel clean up
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON24 January 2018
this job was based on how many rooms each girl can do and how fast we can get them done. no weekends off and the management has favourtizum to certain girls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress - great secure part-time job
Waitress & room service attendant (Current Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC18 January 2018
-Management is easily approachable
-Great position training provided by IHG online
-Easy to ask for time off as a part-time employee
-Great benefits to travel and stay at IHG hotels worldwide
Pros
Staff lunch, IHG discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t stay in staff accommodation
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB16 January 2018
Worked as room attendant/houseman Housekeeping Manager isn’t professional. They make you install crew app on your phone the housekeeping manager constantly messages on the app. I had to put my phone on do not disturb.
Staff accommodation is the worst I’ve stayed in, a house shared between 15 people. No privacy feels like your constantly watched. 3 to a room.
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
Staff accommodation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive & a fun place to work
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2018
The culture is amazing is the environment breeds success & hence is infectious in a positive way for new comers- A lot of Autonomy hence making you take decisions & also hold accountability for the same-
A lot of training & development needs were addressed-
Sabbatical were also made available for those willing-
All in all great management & a culture which breeds lead by example set the tone for success-
Amazing portfolio of brands to carry to the market place-
Dominant player with 70% Market share-
Pros
Corporate entertainment
Cons
long work hours combined with late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday Day Inn Express and Suites Review
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ON14 January 2018
Was a great place to work, I loved how we were taught and how we we treated our team and our guests. I had a great team to work for and we were always busy being in Muskoka.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 January 2018
co-workers are nice, management is great. Very enjoyable place to work. Work load is reasonable. Every other Tuesday we get free dinner. Another great thing is it is close to my house.
Pros
free dinner
Cons
work hour timings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & very satisfying dealing with many different cultures
Guest Services/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2018
Working in a hotel is a very satisfying experience, since you get to meet so many people from all over the world, and you get to learn about many different cultures. The days can vary,depending on how busy the hotel is, and can be quite stressful & demanding, whereby one has to be able to multitask, and do a lot of different tasks, such as answer phones, make reservations, check in and out guests, etc. all in the same time frame.
Pros
meeting, interacting, & providing great service to guests
Cons
shiftwork-weekdays, weekends, overnights, holidays (365 days a year)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON31 December 2017
its fun and meeting lots of guests is enjoybale and being of service by providing good clean service is very rewarding and working with other housekeepers and the management is every uplifting feels like working as a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work !
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NB18 December 2017
holiday inn was a very great place to work friendly staff! i learned alot of new things while i was there .. i was there till i went to college , and i will not regret working there ever :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Reservation Agent / Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2017
Morning check out shift started at 6:30 until 3:30pm. Evening shift for check in started at 3:30pm until 11:30pm. I worked with all departments such as food & beverage, housekeeping, reservations, sales and accounting. Learned to work in team environment and built strong communication skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Hotel Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON4 December 2017
A typical day at work consisted of signing customers in and out. It was a great job experience, with a great management team. Hardest part of the job was to check every customer in to the hotel in a very timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 November 2017
Staff was excellent to work with and management were great to work for and they welcomed new ideas and learned a lot from this origination. would love to go back and work in a customer service role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holiday Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,543 reviews
53.7K
43.1K
32.3K
2726
1699

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture